Pirate 4x4 banner

59 Willys, circle the wagons!

61K views 155 replies 37 participants last post by  73FJ 
#1 · (Edited)
Howdy, this is the intro to my 59 Willys wagon thread. I will be doing a complete body off resto/refresh on this truck. I have never done a frame off before so this should be an adventure, I have however rebuilt my 73 FJ40 from almost the ground up in the last 3 yrs. I also have a 56 wagon that may or may not provide some parts for the 59. My plans are wide open right now as I tend to plan as I work, but I'm thinkin fuel injected SBC, maybe an NV 4500, x case, dunno yet, axles, not decided, SOA, maybe coil front, tube front fenders along the same lines as Firewiz has done on his truck, new Autometers, blah blah blah...well there you go. I should also say that this will probably take me the better part of the next 2 years as I aquire parts and such, unless I win the lottery :shaking:., so patience will be useful. Now I gotta find some pics

#2 ·
These are pics from last summer, did I mention my wife bought me this for xmas? Truck had not moved in 7 years

Attachments

#3 ·
So the day we went to get it the farmer asked me if I wanted him to load it with the tractor, I said sure :D

Attachments

#4 ·
Now up to this point I have completely gutted the interior, pulled and sold the motor-tranny-x case, it still ran believe it or not, pulled all the glass and saved what I could for templates. The body will be a challenge, both rear panels will be cut out and replaced, most of the body mounts are completely shot and will be replaced, a new gas tank will be fabbed by yours truly, possibly from aluminium, and I will be building a rotisserie to put the body on this winter. The frame will be set aside until the spring and will be at the least boxed in, but probably starightened too. I have a complete set of interior panels, some with the original ashtray, these will be remade out of aluminum.

#5 · (Edited)