Pirate 4x4 banner

59 Willys, circle the wagons!

61K views 155 replies 37 participants last post by  73FJ 
#1 · (Edited)
Howdy, this is the intro to my 59 Willys wagon thread. I will be doing a complete body off resto/refresh on this truck. I have never done a frame off before so this should be an adventure, I have however rebuilt my 73 FJ40 from almost the ground up in the last 3 yrs. I also have a 56 wagon that may or may not provide some parts for the 59. My plans are wide open right now as I tend to plan as I work, but I'm thinkin fuel injected SBC, maybe an NV 4500, x case, dunno yet, axles, not decided, SOA, maybe coil front, tube front fenders along the same lines as Firewiz has done on his truck, new Autometers, blah blah blah...well there you go. I should also say that this will probably take me the better part of the next 2 years as I aquire parts and such, unless I win the lottery :shaking:., so patience will be useful. Now I gotta find some pics

#31 ·
73FJ, Welcome & thanks, Good photo's. Owee, you got yourself a project. How come you got out of FJ's? Plenty of cheap rust buckets up there I'm thinking. I was a FJ guy long before delving into Willys. Got rid of my last FJ when I needed a cheap firewood hauler. I found a Willys PU with a Chev 283 for $500.

That was 1978 and I've never gone back to FJ's. Something about these old Willys. :smokin:
Anyway, I'm subscribed. Sounds like you got a solid plan. And a stout one too! To bad about the body rust. I'd rather gut & dress a dozen moose. And that's coming from a 37 year career sheet metal worker(retired). Looking forward to your reports. Some of your weather blew down last night, teens out. Keep a fire burning and us entertained.

#33 · (Edited)