Pirate 4x4 banner

Extreme Explorer - Need Pics and Build Specs Please?

6K views 91 replies 34 participants last post by  Racerx70 
#1 ·
Anyone out there running an Explorer that is built up enough to keep up with some Jeeps?

Got pics? Specs?

Thanks In Advance...

#3 ·
Pretty much a Jeep on 33s doing light trail work. I got a dumbass buddy who thinks his Jeep is the shiznit and no Explorer could keep up with it. Of course, he's replacing his stock Jeep parts with EB axles and wants a 5.0L V8 to replace his crappy 4 popper. Will probably run an NV tranny and who knows what for a T-case. I just want to show him some nice Explorer setups that would not only "keep up" but annialiate his pansy Jeep.

#10 ·
a rig like rino351's is gonna be hard pressed to show up a tj on 33's. the dumbass d35 hangs in ruts with 35 inch tires where a d30 tj just romps through with 33's.. and that fact bugs the shit out of me too.

ricks rig is a hellraiser though. i definatly think it can go toe to toe with any other easily street driven rig.

#11 ·
bobbywalter said:
a rig like rino351's is gonna be hard pressed to show up a tj on 33's. the dumbass d35 hangs in ruts with 35 inch tires where a d30 tj just romps through with 33's.. and that fact bugs the shit out of me too.
It all depends on what kinda trails we're talkin. Az stuff in the 3-4 range is easily conquered with a decently built sploder. Rino351 does need a set of lockers & some 35s tho.

#16 ·
D60 said:
I was thinking the same thing. That's not just Ackerman
You guys only see things that "bend in the middle" when you're trying to make mama happy and your stuff isn't behavin'... :D

The TTB that bends in the middle makes for some interesting steering, but it doesn't seem to bother much on the trail. I've got my stuff up to some fair amount of travel (like 17" or so on the Ex and almost 20 on the Ranger I wheel) and when you "bend" an axle in the middle that much, it is going to mess with steering somewhat.