: Help...TLCA e-mail problem
Since last night at around 6:00 PM I keep getting
" Landcruisers digest, Vol 1 #2851 - 19 msgs"
I have recieved it several hundred times and it keeps getting worse. . I use outlook and iit picks up 5 of the same messages at a time but only recieves 3 and show's an error message.
This is driving me nuts. Is the problem on my end or LCML?
and...
I just paid my dues again for TLCA and also got this e-mail shortly before the e-mail mess.
helen@tlca.org..... Test
I have not opened it because norton listed it as possible harmful content. I assumed it may be some zipped LC info.
Help.. what to do??
Berg
tornadoalleycruiser 02-13-2004, 08:38 AM there should not be anyone with "Helen@tlca.org"
to my knowledge.. and that's after almost 3 years on the BOD.
If it was from the Admin@tlca.org then yes. that's jacki.. I"d recommend you call Jacki the TLCA admin and check on your tlca status. Morgan might know more about what happend regarding "Helen@tlca.org".. That's not a TLCA address.
For example my TLCA address is Secretary@tlca.org which send to my work email address.
I'd delete the Helen@tlca.org email as it is not from the TLCA .
I have no idea on the LCML tho! I couldn't get those from work and finally had to bail on it.
anyone got a phone number?
I can't recieve any other e-mails as this has overtaken my out look and I'll never get a current e-mail
thanks
berg
tornadoalleycruiser 02-13-2004, 08:50 AM Sorry should have put that in the prior email! My bad
Jacki Miller, Administrator
Toyota Land Cruiser Association
P. O. Box 1357
Rapid City, SD 57709
(605)-388-TLCA (8522)
membership@tlca.org
Kaderabek 02-13-2004, 08:52 AM There's no Helen.
Sounds like either you or Jacki has a virus of some sort.
TJK
woody 02-13-2004, 08:52 AM The LCML and TLCA are unrelated....calling Jacki will not solve any LCML digest issues.
The helen@tlca.org email is junk and should be deleted.
http://www.birfield.com/mailman/listinfo/landcruisers should allow you to unsubscribe from the list if it's causing problems. I no longer subscribe either.
LCMLadmin@d-web.com is the list admin email to resolve any other questions.
Contacting the Membership Office
E-mail: Membership@tlca.org
Telephone: 605-388-TLCA (8522)
Thanks for the help... one major problem is I can't get a reply even if one of the administrators were to reply. It's just hung and no e-mails from anyone since last night.
I tried to unsub but say's both address I have used are not members.. so no unsub..:confused:
they are still coming hot and heavy from
landcruisers@birfield.com <landcruisers@birfield.com>
could it be my outlook is repeating or is birfield.com sending each one?
I decided to *block sender* in outlook and we will see for now.
Ya, sounds ugly. Its spoofing the Helen addy... delete it.
then run your anti virus program.
Jacki will not be able to help at all on this, guarantee it.
Originally posted by TRT2
Ya, sounds ugly. Its spoofing the Helen addy... delete it.
Yep.. that's got to be the problem
then run your anti virus program.
I ran Norton
Jacki will not be able to help at all on this, guarantee it. .. I did not call.. I figured I was hijacked.
Yeah the e-mail is spoofed and I'm fooked!
What virus should I be looking for that does this.
I ran spybot
adaware
adwatch
Norton and they all say clean.
Would it be the mydoom or sobig virus? anyone got a suggestion as to where to go from here?
I really need my e-mail back.
:confused:
tornadoalleycruiser 02-13-2004, 10:21 AM HOw often do you update your norton antivirus?
Also the only reason I had included Jacki's info was so he could call and check on TLCA Status as Berg just renewed. Not to fix the computer problem. :)
Can you try a boot from the Norton disk to scan it?
I'm no computer genius and I don't even get to play one on TV!
PJohnson 02-13-2004, 10:33 AM It may be your ISP is having issues with a virus. Might want to check withthem.
Phil
woody 02-13-2004, 10:56 AM emails don't cause a virus...attachments do. There are rare exceptions, but this doesn't sound like one of them.
If you didn't open the attachment, delete the email and don't sweat it.
Is anyone on the LCML list that can comment on current status?
(BTW: I got 948 emails while I was in Cancun last week to my ih8mud.com address....probably 300 of those had a virus attached. I've NEVER been infected.)
morgan 02-13-2004, 02:46 PM Sounds like a virus. Look in the header of the email. You can usually tell from where it really came, by looking at the headers. The return address is nearly always spoofed with virus and spam email. The latest mydoom virus seems to be randomly assemblying (firstname) plus found domains. I've been seeing a lot of bounces for email addresses like:
steve@hahaha.org
robert@hahaha.org
etc.
Hahaha.org is my family "silly" domain name. Only myself and my wife use it.
The emails probably aren't coming from someone associated with tlca.org. Chances are, the computer infected with the virus had that domain somewhere in the local outlook inbox and the virus is making fake addresses with it.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=spoof+virus+return+address&btnG=Google+Search
Morgan
|