Pirate 4x4 banner

rcfatcat's 78 chevy k5 build

14K views 37 replies 12 participants last post by  SMC 
#1 · (Edited)
well figured id add my up and coming (atleast i consider it that way) k5 build. main goal is to build a decent rock crawler that can still hit the streets now and then. first put the truck together back in my junior year in highschool. started with a 4inch rancho lift and 35's. 350 4spd 205 10 bolt and a 12bolt 4.10 gears. not to bad for not really knowing much back then and trust me im still learning. truck has since been daily driven for two years and then turned into a wheeler since i picked up my 96 f-350 psd. some will say its a sin what the truck looks like now but its been nothing but fun for me. now into the fun stuff. it currently sits on 4in and 38.5 tsl sx's. swapped in 14bbolt for the rear still looking for a 60 for the front. this is a severe budget build as i am a fulltime student in the university of northwestern ohio. i am also the current offroad club president. the truck has been used and abused alot and seen many many jeep trails. plans for the truck are hybrid interior/exo cage, 52/56 spring swap(for now eventually linking it), rear shackle flip, dana 60, shock hoops and relocated shocks, doubler, boatsides, redo half doors, get rid of dovetail in front(not legal back home if this thing ever wants to see the road), will bob the bed down a bit probably between 4 to 6 inches, stretch wheelbase. more ideas to come especially if i keep watching other builds on this site :stirthepot: so here are the pics just so u guys get an idea of the different stages this thing has been through.

the begining(had an 80's front clip)

and thats it so far this build will be starting this weekend by stripping her down and am planning on starting with the boatsides. and feedback would be great!

See less See more
#5 ·