Pirate 4x4 banner

Project: Trouble

6K views 21 replies 16 participants last post by  Monster67 
#1 ·
I found this truck in the summer of 2010, pretty stock, needing tlc. It was in decent shape, got it for a grand.

Specs as it came:
1973 Chevy K10 Stepside
350ci
d44/12bolt
no a/c or heater(busted core)
sm465
np205
33s
stupid add-a-leaf in front

After hours of figuring out how to get this wide heavy b**ch home on a tow dolly and a long sketchy drive home with her swaying on the freeway (not the best way to transport a fullsize) I decided it was appropriate to name her trouble. It suits her well.

I put on a new set of wheel and tires shortly after and gave her a rattle can face lift.

I also bent my front bumper at hollister.
Thats my buddies ranger in the back.

Poser flex shot, and frame twister!

The Plan:

Turn her into a dirtbike transport, expedition wheeler, play-around thingy. Im a working college student, so this will be a low budget (relatively), slow build.

Planned mods:
-Bobbed rear
-arb rear
-front locker (or welded)
-52s/63s
-custom bumpers
-6 point cage
-dana 60/14 bolt
-trail worthy fab h1 beadlocks w/ surplus 37s
-6.0l lq4
-nv4500?
-doubler?
-winch
-belt drive air compressor (york)
-narrow the front end?

See less See more
#17 ·
I'll offer a counter to that thought. I used to be of the same opinion, but after talking to some of the guys and checking out a lot of the comp rigs, this is the exact path a lot of them are taking...one thing being key: full hydro, or at minimum, hydro assist. Reason being, you can unlock the rear, use a cutter brake, and pivot easily with the front locked. If you weld the rear and run a selectable up front, you're always dragging the inside rear tire, thus increasing your turning radius.

That said, a welded rear with selectable up front can still work really well with a selectable rear brake. Either way can be made to work on a trail truck, which it sounds like that is exactly the direction this build is going.