400 turbo to a 205 transfer case. - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Member # 234568
Posts: 10
400 turbo to a 205 transfer case.

I have a 400 turbo with a short shaft, I also have a 205 transfer case with the 8 bolt pattern I cant find an adaptor. Is there a way to mate them up.
wesley24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35786
Location: Carbondale, CO
Posts: 897
"Short shaft" doesn't mean anything, there are a bunch of different TH400 output shafts. How far does the shaft stick out from the end of the case? If you don't know that, what transfer case was on it?

How many splines on the input on your 205 or what transmission was it attached to?
__________________
We specialize in full size Chevy parts but if you need steering, transfer case gearing, suspension etc. for just about anything give us a call!

chrish@offroaddesign.com
offroaddesign.com
970-945-7777
77k5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 12-30-2012, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Member # 234568
Posts: 10
it was a 2wd trans and the case was to a 4 speed
wesley24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Rock God
 
nvrenuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10903
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,677
You still need to measure how much tailshaft sticks out of the case (with the tail cone removed).

The transfer case will have the wrong input (it's 10 spline, you need a short 32 spline input).

You'll have to keep searching for the 400/205 adapter, they're rare but not impossible to find. Look in the For Sale section here.
__________________
John

'91 K5 454, 4spd, Doubler, J76/70HD, 5.86's & 43's
Build Pics & Build Thread


happy..happy..happy....
nvrenuf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Mr Cornbread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Member # 182156
Location: Stillwater OK
Posts: 58
As long as it is the "short tail" with the solid bolt on yoke, it will be a direct fit for the "figure 8" adapter. All you need then is the mentioned 32spl female tcase.
__________________
Go BIG or go home!!!
Mr Cornbread is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 09:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Mr Cornbread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Member # 182156
Location: Stillwater OK
Posts: 58
Toyota_King387 did have one. I was looking for one for my Lomax and ended up finding the round 6 fit it. I think he was asking $160 shipped iirc
__________________
Go BIG or go home!!!
Mr Cornbread is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 09:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 195097
Location: Fort St John B.C.
Posts: 166
400 turbo to a 205 transfer case.

Theres a figure 8 style adapter on ebay for $250. A little steep because advance adapters only wants $220. They also will have the input shaft that you need.
flashdog is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 05:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Buckshot33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 31228
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 737
I understand there are two inputs for gm 205's. one long 32 spl and one short 32 spl. can you go either way, long th400 output to short 32 spl input and vice versa? I'm in the same boat. I have a 205 with the short input and a th400 with a short output. they don't reach. which do I need to look into changing strength/durability wise? or does it even matter?

*edit* (there are other inputs, but two that work for th400's..)
__________________
'68 scout 800, TPI 383/700r4 D44's '66 K20 383/400/205 60/14
'62 nova 406/th350. 11.40's @ 118

Last edited by Buckshot33; 12-31-2012 at 05:44 PM.
Buckshot33 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 05:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 147836
Location: lebanon, oregon
Posts: 594
I got an a 400/205 adapter sitting here
blown xj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 06:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Buckshot33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 31228
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 737
From what I can tell, all the 400/205 adapters are the same depth. a 400/203 adapter is about half the depth. The th400's I have came off of a 203 so I would either have to run a long output on the trans or a long output on the tcase to get them to mate. Question is which one? or either one works?
__________________
'68 scout 800, TPI 383/700r4 D44's '66 K20 383/400/205 60/14
'62 nova 406/th350. 11.40's @ 118
Buckshot33 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 07:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Member # 234568
Posts: 10
what bolt pattern brown xj
wesley24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 07:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Member # 234568
Posts: 10
sorry blown xj
wesley24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2013, 12:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Member # 147836
Location: lebanon, oregon
Posts: 594
400 to long input 205.. got it from a 91 Chevy one ton..
blown xj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 05:12 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
justscoutin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member # 32053
Location: Chattanooga
Posts: 548
that wont work with a figure 8 case, not to mention, its a 4l80 one that has a different register size.
__________________
88 chevy crewcab 6bt nv4500
72 scout 4bt on tons

Last edited by justscoutin; 01-02-2013 at 05:12 AM.
justscoutin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 11:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Member # 234568
Posts: 10
my trans has a 4 inch shaft and its a 32 spline, I have to transfer cases, ones out of a 4 speed with the 10 spline, and the other is out of a ford it has the 32 spline input for the trans.
wesley24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 11:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
Rock God
 
nvrenuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10903
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,677
The Ford case is 31 spline.

Using the 10 spline tcase, you need a short 32 spline input (with bearing) and a figure 8 (400/205) adapter from a pre '85 truck. Machine the tcase input hole to fit the larger bearing. Done.
__________________
John

'91 K5 454, 4spd, Doubler, J76/70HD, 5.86's & 43's
Build Pics & Build Thread


happy..happy..happy....
nvrenuf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 11:47 AM   #17 (permalink)
Rock God
 
nvrenuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10903
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,677
Btw, if you'll SEARCH, somewhere buried in this forum there's a 205 tech thread with all your answers.
__________________
John

'91 K5 454, 4spd, Doubler, J76/70HD, 5.86's & 43's
Build Pics & Build Thread


happy..happy..happy....
nvrenuf is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.