More cam help - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2005, 12:01 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 46072
More cam help

The cam I have now has 228 degrees on the intake. I got a new cam with 222 degrees, how much of an improvement in vacuum should I see with 6 degrees difference?
Leslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 9991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie
The cam I have now has 228 degrees on the intake. I got a new cam with 222 degrees, how much of an improvement in vacuum should I see with 6 degrees difference?
Is there a difference in LSA and exhuast? How much advance is ground into the cam and is it a roller or flat tappet. What's the number?
Old 09-26-2005, 12:31 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 46072
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWillys
Is there a difference in LSA and exhuast? How much advance is ground into the cam and is it a roller or flat tappet. What's the number?

Both have a 112 LSA, Im moving from a hydraulic flat tappet 228/230 to a roller 222/230.

The number is 119831

http://www.cranecams.com/pdf/Page258-265.pdf

This page tells all about it.
Old 09-26-2005, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 9991
OK, I looked it up. I think you'll see 14 lbs. of vacuum with that cam. I really think it's about the same as the one you took out.... Sorry if I'm bursting your bubble here. Did someone tell you that you would see a difference? I think your trying for 15 inches if I'm not mistaken. You might get it by playing with 26 to 28 degrees at idle and staying to lean side right at 14.7..... What type of fuel intake are you running?
Old 09-27-2005, 05:50 AM   #5 (permalink)

Member # 46072
Quote: