TH-350C question - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2005, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 64299
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 18
TH-350C question

I have a TH-350C tranny in my '82 K10. I don't know what it is out of originally. It has a two pronged electrical connector coming out of the passenger side of the case just behind where the TV cable goes in. Does anyone know what this is? Thanks.
sapperfitz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2005, 08:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 61997
Posts: 64
You positive it isnt a 700r4?
echos is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 12-29-2005, 08:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13786
Location: moved 7 miles to colfax, ca.
Posts: 4,313
700s had the connector on the drivers side. Is the connector internal to the case or is it like an oil pressure switch?
KWTMECH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2005, 08:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 64299
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 18
The connector is like an oil pressure switch. The TH350C has a locking converter like the 700r4, and has the same connector on the drivers side. On some older, non-locking TH350's there was a solenoid for the TCS in the same spot, but I thought the TCS was discontinued in '75 and the TH350C didn't come out until around 1980.
sapperfitz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2005, 09:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KILLER"B"3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54970
Location: Nashville Tn.
Posts: 418
It is a lockup 350, the inards are the same. The pump and valvebody are different as well as the case. It can be made to be a non lockup trans but you will have to use some regular t-350 parts. There is nothing wrong woth that trans, I do alot of these for the fact that normal t-350 are getting harder to find. To use the lockup all you need is a brake/lockup switch from an 85 and newer s-10. One wire is the 12v sorce from the switch, and the other is a ground.
__________________
stuck in the garage
KILLER"B"3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2005, 10:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 64299
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 18
Sorry, let me try to clarify my question. I am using the lock-up. I know all about the transmission except what the connector on the passenger side was for. The reason I need to know is because I have a leak originating there and it is in a very cramped space. I need to know what it is so I can go to autozone, see if they have one, ask if I can look at it, and then figure out what size socket fits it. It will require a deep socket bigger than 1". I don't have any bigger than 1" and only want to buy 1 socket.

Last edited by sapperfitz; 12-29-2005 at 10:13 AM.
sapperfitz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2005, 11:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Member # 50553
Location: Billings, Mt
Posts: 106
some of those trannys had a reverse light switch in that location.
chevychevrolet is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2005, 05:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 64299
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 18
Thumbs up

I figured out what it was. It is a pressure sending unit. I don't know what it was for, though. Anyone familiar with GM Transmission Controlled Spark? I suspect that is what it was for. Thanks for all the help.
sapperfitz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2005, 07:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13786
Location: moved 7 miles to colfax, ca.
Posts: 4,313
You're right, TCS. That is why I asked if it looked like an op switch. Just plug it off. TCS was GMs way of controlling Nox in the earlier vehicles, it would not allow vac advance until the trans shifted into 3rd.
KWTMECH is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.