What t-case do I have? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2002, 07:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10994
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 2,926
Question What t-case do I have?

What's the best way to ID my T-case? It's either a 203 (My 1st guess) or a 205. It came with a truck I bought, but isn't installed. I have the tranny/tcase sitting on the garage floor. I haven't been able to find any numbers on it that made sense to me. FYI it was a 76 Chevy 1/2 ton pickup with a TH350. That's why I am guessing it's a 203.

Thanks
Erich In AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2002, 07:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
brector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 192
Location: Knoxvegas, TN
Posts: 5,355
Send a message via AIM to brector Send a message via Yahoo to brector
Take a pic for us. I can tell you what it is then
__________________
-Brian

1 ton yoda

I make nerd sexy
brector is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-05-2002, 07:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
nice roach.
 
jhama78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3377
Location: Eastern Shore, Va
Posts: 4,051
Send a message via AIM to jhama78
Arrow

If there is a circular cover about the diameter of a coors light can on the back of the t-case that has 3 bolts in it then it is probably an np205. Have a good one.


-j-rOd
__________________
-j-rOd


85 Roach Build Thread



84 Toy Farm Beater
85 Toy Trail Roach
85 Toy SR5 xcab DD
88 4Runner Fambly Beach Ride
11 Tundra Double Cab Rock Warrior
jhama78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2002, 12:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
A fucking killer
 
zakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Member # 7334
Location: Infernal Region
Posts: 2,187
Re: What t-case do I have?

Quote:
Originally posted by erich_in_AZ
What's the best way to ID my T-case? It's either a 203 (My 1st guess) or a 205. It came with a truck I bought, but isn't installed. I have the tranny/tcase sitting on the garage floor. I haven't been able to find any numbers on it that made sense to me. FYI it was a 76 Chevy 1/2 ton pickup with a TH350. That's why I am guessing it's a 203.

Thanks
if it came out of a 76 1/2 ton with a AT, it is a NP203 if it is factory. Do you have lockable hubs? are they factory or aftermarket? this too can give clues. If you have no locakble hubs, it is FOR SURE a 203. Unless they put a P/T kit in it...

damn it, just get us some pics
__________________
Fuck you Love, -zakk
zakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2002, 01:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10994
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 2,926
Alright! Pics are coming! I gotta get home from work 1st! Damn!

It has locking hubs that appear to be factory. They look just like the ones I had in my 72 K5. I was under the impression that the 205's for a th350 were kind of hard to come by. Is that true?
Erich In AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2002, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
A fucking killer
 
zakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Member # 7334
Location: Infernal Region
Posts: 2,187
usually the 205's when behind the manual tranny's and 203's behind the auto's. or atleast that is true on the K5's but i don't thik this would be different on other 1/2 tons.
__________________
Fuck you Love, -zakk
zakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2002, 08:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10994
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 2,926
I have some pics up. It has locking hubs, so if it's a 203 (which I think it is), how can I tell if it's got a part time kit. Not really sure how the shift pattern is...

http://home.earthlink.net/~ekronspri..._Rig/Tcase.htm

Thanks for the help.
Erich In AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2002, 02:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4197
Location: tennessee
Posts: 1,374
it is a 203.
onetonwillysands10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2002, 06:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 8216
Location: Virgilina, Va
Posts: 240
203
61_chevy_4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2002, 07:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10994
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 2,926
Thanks guys! I thought that's what it was. Now all I need is a 205 so I can go with a doubler....



Erich In AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2002, 09:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Member # 1282
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 4,820
Definetly a NP203. If you look at the retangular tag mounted to the case, you can see it in you picture to the left of the shifter housing, it will tell you what it is.
Those are some heavy Mo fo's, and a real treat to rebuild...Needle bearings from hell!
ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2002, 10:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
A fucking killer
 
zakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Member # 7334
Location: Infernal Region
Posts: 2,187
Quote:
Originally posted by erich_in_AZ
Thanks guys! I thought that's what it was. Now all I need is a 205 so I can go with a doubler....



its a 203.

remember you need a 205 off a TH400 to run the Gen II doubler. I am sure you have seen it, but for those that haven't:

www.offroaddesign.com

If you can't find a TH400 Np205, Steven makes the kit to change it over, all parts included.
__________________
Fuck you Love, -zakk
zakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.