Code Reader for 1995 S10 Blazer? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2006, 09:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 55884
Location: seven zero seven
Posts: 1,082
Send a message via AIM to Blazer707
Code Reader for 1995 S10 Blazer?

Does anyone in norcal have a code reader that would work on a 1995 s10 blazer? i would pay and all that good stuff i just wanna hook it up and see what i have to replace right now.

-Thomas
__________________
2012 Mustang 5.0
AED Tuned
Blazer707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 09:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46267
Location: Olympia, Washington
Posts: 151
Send a message via AIM to nathan_454 Send a message via MSN to nathan_454
autozone scans for free
__________________
[QUOTE=trampas]...we just need to tear down the walls, open the gates, and let them walk in, in groves.

But not before we spend sufficient time inventing a car that runs on Mexican people. :D[/QUOTE]
nathan_454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-01-2006, 10:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54558
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 78
95 is OBD I, just use a paperclip
ReadyMix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 10:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54558
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 78
95 is OBD I, just use a paperclip
ReadyMix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 10:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46267
Location: Olympia, Washington
Posts: 151
Send a message via AIM to nathan_454 Send a message via MSN to nathan_454
oh, i guess it is, your right. some were some werent. damn transition year.
__________________
[QUOTE=trampas]...we just need to tear down the walls, open the gates, and let them walk in, in groves.

But not before we spend sufficient time inventing a car that runs on Mexican people. :D[/QUOTE]
nathan_454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 11:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 55884
Location: seven zero seven
Posts: 1,082
Send a message via AIM to Blazer707
so get an obd 1?

-Thomas
__________________
2012 Mustang 5.0
AED Tuned
Blazer707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 11:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46267
Location: Olympia, Washington
Posts: 151
Send a message via AIM to nathan_454 Send a message via MSN to nathan_454
get a paperclip
__________________
[QUOTE=trampas]...we just need to tear down the walls, open the gates, and let them walk in, in groves.

But not before we spend sufficient time inventing a car that runs on Mexican people. :D[/QUOTE]
nathan_454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 12:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 55884
Location: seven zero seven
Posts: 1,082
Send a message via AIM to Blazer707
a paperclip? sry im new to all this electronic stuff im use to just basic wireing and carbs. i called autozone, and they sell the obd 1 for only 40 bucks, so i just need to know if the obd 1 is the exact one to use cuz the guy said he did not know.

-Thomas
__________________
2012 Mustang 5.0
AED Tuned
Blazer707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 12:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member # 34058
Posts: 552
on the paper clip you gound a serton terminal and it will cause a serton light to blink on the dash a set number of times and also for differant lengths you then take that look in a manual and it will tell you what it means. i believe thats how it works.
black4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 03:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 55884
Location: seven zero seven
Posts: 1,082
Send a message via AIM to Blazer707
on the 1995 s10 blazer there is only 1 thing that works its some 3,500 thing that the chevy dealership uses and of course 1995 is the only year that u need it.

-Thomas
__________________
2012 Mustang 5.0
AED Tuned
Blazer707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 04:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Member # 9991
Location: Cold Springs, NV
Posts: 2,450
How close to livermore are you? I have scanners for all GM!
__________________
[url]www.scotthansen.net[/url]
MrWillys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 04:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
bremen242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member # 28687
Location: GANS
Posts: 890
if it is like my '94 pontiac, you need a OBD I scanner.. the paperclip thing doesn't work. I have an autoxray scanner that scans it.. I paid like $200 for it...

Last edited by bremen242; 04-01-2006 at 04:42 PM.
bremen242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 04:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Member # 9991
Location: Cold Springs, NV
Posts: 2,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_454
get a paperclip
A paperclip will only read stored codes and not let you see the function of the device. You probably already knew this though!
__________________
[url]www.scotthansen.net[/url]
MrWillys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 05:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5110
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,677
Get WinALDL ( http://winaldl.joby.se/ ) and make a cable
http://techedge.com.au/vehicle/aldl160/160serial.htm

...then just use your laptop.
__________________
Link to thread on my calculator http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=204893
Triaged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 05:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Member # 9991
Location: Cold Springs, NV
Posts: 2,450
You can buy the cable from www.akmcables.com . I use datamaster instaed of winaldl. I'm sure they're both good, it's just the one I started with.
__________________
[url]www.scotthansen.net[/url]
MrWillys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 08:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Jamus2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 12943
Location: Southern West Virginia
Posts: 680
Send a message via AIM to Jamus2 Send a message via Yahoo to Jamus2
You must have what some call the OBD 1.5. I've heard of people having trouble with them. not OBDII but different from OBDI. I have used a paperclip and WinALDL both on my 94 Blazer no problem.
__________________
[QUOTE=papee]This game IS real life for us web wheelers.:flipoff2: [/QUOTE]
Jamus2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.