timing - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2007, 08:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Member # 67326
Location: uniontown ks.
Posts: 99
timing

does a 305 time at the top of the balancer and a 350 time off to the side
smith92s-10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13786
Location: moved 7 miles to colfax, ca.
Posts: 4,331
They went back and forth depending on the year and application
KWTMECH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-01-2007, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Member # 67326
Location: uniontown ks.
Posts: 99
heres the deal i have a 79 358 and i converted to tbi all stock components all hooked up if i time it to 0 degrees it wont run but if i time it to where the mark on the balancer is at the top it runs great if i pull the #1 plug out and bring it to tdc the mark is on 0 thanks in advance
smith92s-10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 02:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20423
Location: Finally back in the US-Wdby Is, WA
Posts: 1,065
If you put the piston on TDC and the mark is lined up on 0 then that is correct.

If you have the bypass disconnected and start the motor then you set the timing mark on 0 for "most" TBI systems but not all.

First thing is to determine what system you have. What is the ECM number and the BCC code. 1227747 ASDU?
Did all the parts come from the same vehicle?

Once you have that then you can set it properly.

The next thing is if the motor runs(idles) with the timing set at 0 then you turn it off and hook up the bypass....what is the timing at when you restart it.
It should be between 16-20 at idle depending on the BCC code.

If it's not then you have ignition problems.

Did you use a complete system or modify it.
are you using the knock sensor and ESC or did you just leave them off?

I would recommend a little reading of the FAQ's in the FI forum at the link in my sig. If you get it to run then you need to perform the initial set up procedures.
__________________
Bill USN-1
EFI Moderator at http://www.binderplanet.com
Bill usn-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.