Busted a 12 bolt axleshaft...A few ?'s - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2007, 11:17 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 39464
Busted a 12 bolt axleshaft...A few ?'s

This is the truck in my sig line...Narrowed Corp. 12bolt...I busted my drivers side rear shaft today...At least, thats what I think it is. It still drives, but it pulls to the left, and clunks like a washing machine. I wasnt even doing anything hardcore...I was coming out of the fawking 7-Eleven parking lot after getting gas Whats next? Im new to Chevys, (Im a Toyota guy, at heart...) How do I pull the axleshaft? Its a narrowed 12 bolt, but the lug pattern is 5 lug...Im not certain on what to do next. How do I go about shortening it? Can any machine shop do it? Any info in the right direction is certainly helpful.

Thanks,
Old 01-12-2007, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 46404
12 bolt is C-clip, you'll have to drop the carrier center pin & push the shafts in to pop the C-clips out

If you really broke a 12 bolt shaft your tire should have walked out very quickly since there was nothing to retain it anymore

What size tires you running on it?

If its actually broke I'd imagine you broke it before & just now finished it off
Sponsored Links
Old 01-12-2007, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 39464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonecheenin View Post
12 bolt is C-clip, you'll have to drop the carrier center pin & push the shafts in to pop the C-clips out

If you really broke a 12 bolt shaft your tire should have walked out very quickly since there was nothing to retain it anymore

What size tires you running on it?

If its actually broke I'd imagine you broke it before & just now finished it off