Pros/Cons of Vortec w/ drive by wire - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2008, 07:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 278
Location: Hanging in hangtown
Posts: 4,626
Pros/Cons of Vortec w/ drive by wire

Title mostly states it.

I'm looking at purchasing a 6.0L in the next week or two. Both styles are available. Either way purchased will include all the parts needed (aka pedal assembly for the drive by wire) Installing the pedal isn't an issue.

I'm suspecting that the newer(aka drive by wire) engines will have lower mileage.

What I'm trying to figure out is there any reason to go with one way or the other.

Is the pedal assembly known for going bad?

What about the drive by wire throttle body?
Lil'John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
chevyfiedRAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Member # 70926
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 117
Send a message via MSN to chevyfiedRAT
the pedal assembly sometimes screws up, most of the time it will just idle, and the fix is to clean it, and if that doesn't work the potientimeter inside is burnt so you replace the assembly
__________________
94 zj
03 dodge 3500
chevyfiedRAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-16-2008, 11:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 278
Location: Hanging in hangtown
Posts: 4,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevyfiedRAT View Post
the pedal assembly sometimes screws up, most of the time it will just idle, and the fix is to clean it, and if that doesn't work the potientimeter inside is burnt so you replace the assembly
How much of a concern is this? Anything that can be done to prevent it from being an issue?
Lil'John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Rock God
 
MadRam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20833
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Posts: 1,981
I had a 8.1 in my last jeep that was Drive By wire. I never had any problems with it, but it did have a slight hesitation in it. It was really only noticeable if I matted it from a dead stand still.

With that said I got an 06 6.0 that is drive by wire that I am converting to Manual throttle Body for my new buggy.
__________________
Check out some of the best Off-Road Videos on YouTube.http://www.youtube.com/user/MadRam11

MadRam11 Face Book Page https://www.facebook.com/MadRam11

CHECK OUT http://madram11productions.com
MadRam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 03:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 278
Location: Hanging in hangtown
Posts: 4,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadRam View Post
I had a 8.1 in my last jeep that was Drive By wire. I never had any problems with it, but it did have a slight hesitation in it. It was really only noticeable if I matted it from a dead stand still.

With that said I got an 06 6.0 that is drive by wire that I am converting to Manual throttle Body for my new buggy.
Do you think the hesitation was just in your setup? Or is it something all drive by wire have?

The only reason I'm really leaning toward drive by wire is for less mileage on the donor engine. Although the rumored " just add a switch cruise control" sounds nice too
Lil'John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 04:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Rock God
 
J Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3235
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 1,123
It's easy to convert the drive by wire motors to a standard throttle cable control if you want to go that route. All you need to do is swap throttle bodies.

FWIW - I'm in the process of swapping an 8.1L into my Jeep. I'm staying with the drive by wire. I haven't had a problem with the setup on my Duramax.
__________________
Jon B.
'82 CJ7 some mods.

There is no replacement for displacement!
J Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 04:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 278
Location: Hanging in hangtown
Posts: 4,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Bruce View Post
It's easy to convert the drive by wire motors to a standard throttle cable control if you want to go that route. All you need to do is swap throttle bodies.
That was my understanding... but I'd rather save the $100 and get the right motor the first shot
Lil'John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 05:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Rock God
 
J Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3235
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadRam View Post
I had a 8.1 in my last jeep that was Drive By wire. I never had any problems with it, but it did have a slight hesitation in it. It was really only noticeable if I matted it from a dead stand still.
Did you ever try recalibrating it? The factory manuals have a step by step process you're supposed to follow when components are changed etc. Kinda like setting up a new TPS sensor on a TBI motor.
__________________
Jon B.
'82 CJ7 some mods.

There is no replacement for displacement!
J Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 05:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 107593
Location: Six Mile, SC
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Bruce View Post
It's easy to convert the drive by wire motors to a standard throttle cable control if you want to go that route. All you need to do is swap throttle bodies.
Have you seen this work in someone's rig? I am wondering how the VCM understands the fueling requirement that are related to 'TPS' when the DbW are not set up for a throttle cable.
I do believe it can be done but it is not a simple TB swap.....but if people know different, I would like to see it b/c I may be going this route in the future...
__________________
[url]www.herronperformance.com[/url]
HerronPerformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 07:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Vortec Scout II
 
Bo185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48545
Location: Arkansas / "The Stan"
Posts: 3,873
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronPerformance View Post
Have you seen this work in someone's rig? I am wondering how the VCM understands the fueling requirement that are related to 'TPS' when the DbW are not set up for a throttle cable.
I do believe it can be done but it is not a simple TB swap.....but if people know different, I would like to see it b/c I may be going this route in the future...
Depending on the year of the DBW the early ones 03-04 had a control box. The later 05 ups I believe it was just wired in. You just need to swap the TB, add wires or box and Tune the PCM to see the DBW. Plus you have alot of choices for a pedal assy if one won't fit your vehicle.

I think with HP tuners you can tune it to remove some of the hesitation from it. Some of it might be Torque management as well. Personally I like the cable, because its simple and one less thing to fail. Plus it seems more real LOL... THe DBW just feels different to me. But it is easy to add Curise Control with the DBW.
__________________
'73 Scout II Vortec 6.0L 4L65e np241
'73 1210 Travelette SV392, T-34, 60/14bff 4.56's 35's
'01 VW Beetle TDI-50mpg or better!

GM Gen III/IV V8 swap info

TECH: Gen III/IV "LS motor" to Early GM Auto Trans
Bo185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 07:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 107593
Location: Six Mile, SC
Posts: 65
TQ management is a bitch.
__________________
[url]www.herronperformance.com[/url]
HerronPerformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 11:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Rock God
 
J Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3235
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronPerformance View Post
Have you seen this work in someone's rig? I am wondering how the VCM understands the fueling requirement that are related to 'TPS' when the DbW are not set up for a throttle cable.
I do believe it can be done but it is not a simple TB swap.....but if people know different, I would like to see it b/c I may be going this route in the future...
You're right - I oversimplified and skipped a step or two.

The easiest way I know of is to run a MEFI-4 setup. Then it's a simple throttle body swap.

On a 6.0 it's also fairly straight forward (they came with and without DBW). The 8.1L would be tricky using stock components.


Quote:
TQ management is a bitch.
Why?
__________________
Jon B.
'82 CJ7 some mods.

There is no replacement for displacement!

Last edited by J Bruce; 06-16-2008 at 11:42 PM.
J Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 04:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 107593
Location: Six Mile, SC
Posts: 65
TQ Management is not really a bitch for everyday use but for getting the most HP/TQ out of a VCM it is one of those things we delete.
based on many factors (TPS being one of them) it will cut back the timing and it really cuts timing during the shifts.
We can take TQ Mgmt out and with no other changes run 1-2 tenths quicker that at the drag strip (same day, same track).
For you offroad guys I can see it being unuseful b/c you guys want the most HP/TQ in your RPM range and not to mention the abuse mode settings which does the same thing, cuts timing and a few other things, the computer thinks you guys are going 'slow' and just hammering the throttle, perfect recipe for abuse mode and TQ mgmt. And even though many of you are not running the electronic transmission it affects the engine side.
__________________
[url]www.herronperformance.com[/url]
HerronPerformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 08:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Rock God
 
J Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3235
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 1,123
Ah OK. I know what it is and the impact it has. I also know how easy it is to remove so I wasn't sure what you meant by "it's a bitch"
__________________
Jon B.
'82 CJ7 some mods.

There is no replacement for displacement!
J Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 08:50 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 107593
Location: Six Mile, SC
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Bruce View Post
Ah OK. I know what it is and the impact it has. I also know how easy it is to remove so I wasn't sure what you meant by "it's a bitch"
More less a bitch in a stock VCM and most people will not even know it is there until it is gone.
__________________
[url]www.herronperformance.com[/url]
HerronPerformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Vortec Scout II
 
Bo185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48545
Location: Arkansas / "The Stan"
Posts: 3,873
Blog Entries: 1
TQ mant. was meant to help save the 4l60! GM was spending billions on watt. the 4l60! Lol...

Yet it still blows up!
__________________
'73 Scout II Vortec 6.0L 4L65e np241
'73 1210 Travelette SV392, T-34, 60/14bff 4.56's 35's
'01 VW Beetle TDI-50mpg or better!

GM Gen III/IV V8 swap info

TECH: Gen III/IV "LS motor" to Early GM Auto Trans
Bo185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 06:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 107593
Location: Six Mile, SC
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo185 View Post
TQ mant. was meant to help save the 4l60! GM was spending billions on watt. the 4l60! Lol...

Yet it still blows up!
TRUE, but they have it in everything, even my 99 LeSabre has it...
With or without the TQ mgmt, the A4s are glass.
__________________
[url]www.herronperformance.com[/url]
HerronPerformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 11:25 AM   #18 (permalink)
Vortec Scout II
 
Bo185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48545
Location: Arkansas / "The Stan"
Posts: 3,873
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerronPerformance View Post
TRUE, but they have it in everything, even my 99 LeSabre has it...
With or without the TQ mgmt, the A4s are glass.
Thats why I am looking for a 6l80 right now!
__________________
'73 Scout II Vortec 6.0L 4L65e np241
'73 1210 Travelette SV392, T-34, 60/14bff 4.56's 35's
'01 VW Beetle TDI-50mpg or better!

GM Gen III/IV V8 swap info

TECH: Gen III/IV "LS motor" to Early GM Auto Trans
Bo185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 01:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
Rock God
 
J Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3235
Location: Langley, B.C.
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil'John View Post
Although the rumored " just add a switch cruise control" sounds nice too
I've been researching that and it sounds promising (and simple to do).

http://ls1tech.com/forums/showthread...e+cruise+drive
__________________
Jon B.
'82 CJ7 some mods.

There is no replacement for displacement!
J Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 08:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 278
Location: Hanging in hangtown
Posts: 4,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo185 View Post
Depending on the year of the DBW the early ones 03-04 had a control box. The later 05 ups I believe it was just wired in.
Thought I'd bring this up again now that I've got an engine on the way and wanted to see if I could get a little more info on the two versions of the DBW. Hopefully I will pick it up next week sometime.

My engine is 2004 from 2500 and is coming "beyond" complete. They are including the DBW pedal and related stuff.

A quick "part lookup" showed the DBW box being the same from 2001 to 2005.

What I'm a bit curious about is whether the newer ones (2006ish) don't have a control box and if not, how difficult is it to change over to them?

I'd rather not spend money converting over to cable since I'm getting the DBW stuff for free.
Lil'John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 07:23 PM   #21 (permalink)
Vortec Scout II
 
Bo185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48545
Location: Arkansas / "The Stan"
Posts: 3,873
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil'John View Post
Thought I'd bring this up again now that I've got an engine on the way and wanted to see if I could get a little more info on the two versions of the DBW. Hopefully I will pick it up next week sometime.

My engine is 2004 from 2500 and is coming "beyond" complete. They are including the DBW pedal and related stuff.

A quick "part lookup" showed the DBW box being the same from 2001 to 2005.

What I'm a bit curious about is whether the newer ones (2006ish) don't have a control box and if not, how difficult is it to change over to them?

I'd rather not spend money converting over to cable since I'm getting the DBW stuff for free.
The 06 and up (i think) don't have the TAC module control box.

TAC module has two connections, one for the pedal harness..other hooks into main engine harness this is all you need it should have the 9-pin connector the later ones are 6-pin.

AC modules have to match up to the year range of the PCM AND the throttle body.

03-05 TAC module works with 03-05 truck TB and 03-05 PCM (BLUE/GREEN connectors)

01-02 TAC module works with 01-02 truck TB, 97-04 Vette TB, and 01-02 PCM (BLUE/RED connectors).

03-05 TAC modules have an aluminum mounting base, 01-02 TAC modules are all black plastic including the mounting base.

It would be a pain to not use the TAC.
__________________
'73 Scout II Vortec 6.0L 4L65e np241
'73 1210 Travelette SV392, T-34, 60/14bff 4.56's 35's
'01 VW Beetle TDI-50mpg or better!

GM Gen III/IV V8 swap info

TECH: Gen III/IV "LS motor" to Early GM Auto Trans
Bo185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.