454 throttle body on a chevy 355 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member # 41969
Location: Mt. Sterling, IL
Posts: 3,478
454 throttle body on a chevy 355

I have a few questions for you guys.
Let me start with some motor specs.
Chevy 355 10.5-1 compression. .30 over 1.5 roller rockers COMP 270H cam

I had this motor in a 72 blazer and it ran great. Dyno'd at 375 HP.
I then put it in my jeep with a factory 350 tbi. The chip was burnt for the camshaft. I ran it for about a month without any problems at all, but it didnt seem to run near as good as it did before with the carb on it. So I assumed it wasnt getting near enough fuel due to the stock throttle body.
Now I have a factory chevy 454 throttle body that I am getting ready to put on. Is there anything I will have to change besides the wiring adapter for the iac?
Thanks for all the help
__________________
08 LTZ Duramax
Top Shop Champion Spring 2006-Team Toumbs Repair
Top Shop Champion Fall 2006---Team Toumbs Repair

Originally Posted by Dan Dibble
"In my opinion this is a motor sport so I like to have one. Any more questions "
Dan
botiejeep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2008, 05:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oilfield Trash
 
Red Chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Member # 64526
Location: Many, Louisiana
Posts: 1,538
The 350 intake has a smaller bore than the 454 so u may have trouble getting a good air/fuel ratio. Also, u may also want to look into an adjustable fuel regulater to go into that throttle body to up the fuel pressure to feed that beast.
__________________
'94 k1500, 1-ton SAS 44" boggers
'97 tj, 2.5/auto, rubi 44/5.13/spartan, 8.8/5.13/spool,
38.5/11/16 boggers, awaiting 5.3 swap.
Red Chevy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 07-09-2008, 06:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member # 41969
Location: Mt. Sterling, IL
Posts: 3,478
I forgot to mention that I used a factory 454 adapter in case I needed to use the 454 tbi
__________________
08 LTZ Duramax
Top Shop Champion Spring 2006-Team Toumbs Repair
Top Shop Champion Fall 2006---Team Toumbs Repair

Originally Posted by Dan Dibble
"In my opinion this is a motor sport so I like to have one. Any more questions "
Dan
botiejeep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2008, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Member # 64687
Location: Eville IN
Posts: 96
are you putting it on a aftermarket intake ?
COMP is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2008, 07:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member # 41969
Location: Mt. Sterling, IL
Posts: 3,478
Yes the motor is out of a 72 camaro. It has an edelbrock performer intake that used to have a q-jet on it. When I put the 350 tbi on the engine I used the factory carb-454 tbi adapter.
__________________
08 LTZ Duramax
Top Shop Champion Spring 2006-Team Toumbs Repair
Top Shop Champion Fall 2006---Team Toumbs Repair

Originally Posted by Dan Dibble
"In my opinion this is a motor sport so I like to have one. Any more questions "
Dan
botiejeep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2008, 11:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20423
Location: Finally back in the US-Wdby Is, WA
Posts: 1,071
There are 2 pins that will need to swap when converting the IAC. Or find someone selling an adapter.

The regualtor can be made adjustable, no reason to buy one.
There are a couple different inj's for BBC so you will need to know which. Read the numbers on top of them.

physically it will bolt on but tuning is something different.
A lot will change but sometimes you get lucky.
I assume you don't yet log data with a laptop and you don't/can't program a chip.
The AE-accel enrichment normally will be weak. You will have a slight dead spot off idle.

as you log data...which you need to do...you may find it lean on the bottom and then rich on top, or vice-versa.

You can make a compromise by adjusting the fuel pressure.

There is also the option of bolting the injectors your running now on the BBC TB. If you think you have an air problem and not a fuel problem.

Bottom line...put it together and log data.
Get a fuel pressure gauge so you can make adjustments.
If you can't get it right...then you will need to go to moates.net and get a flash and burn and make some mods to the chip.

For specifics on the mods hit the FAQ's at the link in my sig.
__________________
Bill USN-1
EFI Moderator at http://www.binderplanet.com
Bill usn-1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2008, 08:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27377
Location: Shingle Springs, CA
Posts: 253
I put a 454 throttle body on my smallblock 400. I was able to get it tuned to near perfect my making the stock regulator adjustable and lowering the fuel pressure a couple pounds. Stock cam, and stock chip(454) on mine. Hope this helps.
__________________
78 Blazer, Dana 60/14bolt, crossover steer, front and rear ARB's, beadlocked 39.5 Irok's, 465/205, smallblock 400, TBI.

"...........and that was without a single drop of rum!"- Captain Jack Sparrow
Badburn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2008, 08:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member # 41969
Location: Mt. Sterling, IL
Posts: 3,478
Thanks for the ideas. I am considering having howell burn me a new chip as well. I will check on how to adjust the fuel pressure.
__________________
08 LTZ Duramax
Top Shop Champion Spring 2006-Team Toumbs Repair
Top Shop Champion Fall 2006---Team Toumbs Repair

Originally Posted by Dan Dibble
"In my opinion this is a motor sport so I like to have one. Any more questions "
Dan
botiejeep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2008, 04:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 107005
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
Contact Brian at www.tbichips.com. He has a lot of experience with tbi related swaps and has pointed me in the right direction a few times. Plus on his sight there is a lot of info to read on tbi setups in general.
dangofast is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.