headers out the hood? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2008, 07:52 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 110795
headers out the hood?

which headers would you go with and why, zoomies or the truck pull headers?

im askin cuz right now i just have open manifolds on my truck, its a 85 chevy long box and strickly for mud, had ideas of semi truck stacks behind the cab but would be easier to just take em out the hood, its a stock 454 and i figured by goin thru the hood would keep heat off the starter,

whats the pros and cons on zoomies, prolly have them stick out the hood bout 6 to 8 inches.

i have a set of headers already and top stacks off semi that are 5 inch if i could make my own what size pipe would you go with on the stock motor, im new to the bbc always been a sbc person but i ponied up and am loving it so far. the headers are cut up at the collectors so i could use them for the flanges.
93_bigbadxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Rock God

Member # 343
Simple and cheap....just swap sides the headers you have now and connect collector tube to headers and run straight up. Instant Zoomies. Minor tube bending may be required for your particular chassis.

Last edited by cj8scrambld; 09-15-2008 at 05:29 PM. Reason: Spelling.
cj8scrambld is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-15-2008, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 106427
http://www.decheaders.com/shop/index...th=64_66_79_98

follow link. I have a set of these for my small block.

later
jenks
jenks21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 05:38 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 20147
Send a message via Yahoo to Grumpy_old_fart
Quote:
Originally Posted by cj8scrambld View Post