th400 and np205 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2001, 01:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6351
Location: Eagle Point
Posts: 4
Post th400 and np205

I have a short shaft th400 out of a 2wd Chevy and a np205 with adapter that was with a th350. I havn't had a chance to tinker with them because I am working 4 hours away from home and dont get back much. I want to put them togather. I have heard that they will bolt right up and I heard that I had to buy a special adapter. Does anyone know?
MitchReed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2001, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4243
Location: Salt Spring Island, BC
Posts: 3,212
Post

A TH400 has a 32-spline output. A TH350 has a 27-spline output. If your NP205 is from a TH350 (therefore 27-spline) it will NOT FIT a TH400 without a special adapter or a collection of factory parts.

Here's a few pics of what you're dealing with trannywise ...


This is good article on the different types of GM NP205's...
NP205 Tech
__________________
90-93 CTD jalopies
u2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-07-2001, 06:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4140
Location: is everything
Posts: 746
Post

As can be seen it the pictures above, the bolt pattern on the back of the tranny for the adapter is also different. TH350 and 700R4 use a 4 bolt pattern, TH400 and 4L80E use a 6 bolt pattern.
__________________
Tim

There is no accounting for taste

1936, 1937, 1943, 1950, 1952, 1954, 1955, 1997, 1998, 2002, [B][COLOR="Red"]2008[/COLOR][/B].
Black Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2001, 07:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6351
Location: Eagle Point
Posts: 4
Post

Thanks for the replies. Are the 700r4s as tough as the th400? I like the idea of having an overdrive and if it will bolt up to the np205 even better.
MitchReed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2001, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4243
Location: Salt Spring Island, BC
Posts: 3,212
Post

A TH700 is on par strength-wise with a TH350. It will bolt up to a TH350-type NP205 with a special "short" output shaft or small (1") spacer. I've also heard you can cut the shaft down, but I don't know if there's enough spline length for that.
__________________
90-93 CTD jalopies
u2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2001, 01:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4937
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 4
Post

you already have the right tranny but this is what you will need. first you need the turbo400-205 adapter. they are hard as hell to find. then take all the guts out of your 205 and machine the case out to accept the bigger bearing for the 400 shaft. Install the bearing put the guts back in and your done.
__________________
"ANYONE CAN BE A HO, BUT A MUDSLUT IS ONE IN A MILLION"
mudslut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2001, 01:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4243
Location: Salt Spring Island, BC
Posts: 3,212
Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by mudslut:
<STRONG>take all the guts out of your 205 and machine the case out to accept the bigger bearing for the 400 shaft. Install the bearing put the guts back in and your done.</STRONG>
Not quite! <IMG SRC="smilies/thefinger.gif" border="0"> <IMG SRC="smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0">

The reason you need to machine out the case is to make room for the 32-spline input gear (and bearing) that you need to swap in. Odds are you won't find that input gear without an entire NP205 attached to it. <IMG SRC="smilies/frown.gif" border="0">
__________________
90-93 CTD jalopies
u2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2001, 06:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 2092
Location: Carbondale, CO
Posts: 882
Post

The inputs are still available new, we sell a lot of them for use with our Doubler kits. The factory adapter is also available new, but at about $300, so it starts looking less attractive. If you have an urge to try the 700, do some research on it, it's easy to adapt to your 205, just like outlined above.
__________________
Stephen Watson
www.offroaddesign.com
#4488
KOH '13 1st ever DNF But we were hauling ass before and after it broke.
KOH '12 12th overall
KOH11 28th. It's a finish!
KOH11 Sportsmanship Award.

Friends & partners who helped: Offroad Design, Pacific Fab, King, Baja Designs, TrailReady, Amsoil, PSC, Tom Woods Driveshafts, Bighorn Graphics, Optima
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2001, 07:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6351
Location: Eagle Point
Posts: 4
Post

Stephen,
When you say "we sell" do you mean you have a 4x4 shop. Tell me about your doubler. I would like to get better than 1.9/1 low range. I heard you can take the 4x4 part off of a np203 and there is an adapter available to bolt a np205 to it. This would allow 2/1 low in 2x and 3.9/1 low in 4x and the adapters for the th400 to np203 are easier to find. Has anyone heard of this?
MitchReed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2001, 03:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Member # 2344
Location: HOT ASS Arizona
Posts: 25
Post

http://www.offroaddesign.com/
__________________
Narrowing my blazer one rock at a time.
SMP K5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2001, 04:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 382
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 194
Post

like stephen said the adapter are still available and the input gear and bearing($150 + $50) that and just skip the adapter and buy the genII doubler from stephen,i ended up with extra cause i purchased the doubler
__________________
72 SUBURBAN, 72 blazer, straight axled 02 duramax crewcab and 90 shortwide
bigblaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2001, 04:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4243
Location: Salt Spring Island, BC
Posts: 3,212
Post

ABout a year ago, one of the techs at my work went to order a TH400/NP205 adapter for a project. The GM dealer said the adapter was discontinued. It had to come in from Edmonton - they said it was the last one in captivity.


32-spline NP203 inputs sound like they're even tougher to find <IMG SRC="smilies/rolleyes.gif" border="0">
__________________
90-93 CTD jalopies
u2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2001, 04:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6351
Location: Eagle Point
Posts: 4
Post

BigBlaze,
What do you have in your truck? What does np203-205 mean? I am confused do you have what I was asking about with a th400/np203 gear part only/adapter/np205. Or do you have a doubler and if so how strong are they and do they make them that will bolt between a th400 and a 27 spline np205? What can I expect cost wise?
MitchReed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2001, 10:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 6043
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 903
Post

Coast Machine and Supply in Ventura can get the 32 spline inout gear for $110.
Instead of the 250/203 doubler you might consider a Klune-V crawler box. They have a box that will bolt to a TH400, TH350, or TH700 to the 205 with little or no adapters.
This would give you a ratio of 1.9:1, 2.72:1, or 5.1:1 low range options. <IMG SRC="smilies/smile.gif" border="0">
Just my two cents worth. <IMG SRC="smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0">
I'm currently working on this setup for my Willys wagon. <IMG SRC="smilies/tongue.gif" border="0"> Slowly, but surely. <IMG SRC="smilies/frown.gif" border="0">
__________________
53 Willys truck restored mostly original
RocnWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2001, 10:39 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 179
Location: 4506 Missouri Flat Rd
Posts: 186
Post

Stephen I didn't know you were on this board. I got another case and a highangle driveline 1 ton cv with 12" travel for the front so lets hope I don't break another one <IMG SRC="smilies/pissed.gif" border="0"> .
Can't wait to run the doubler on the Con!
Jacent

[ 08-15-2001: Message edited by: jeepruler ]
jeepruler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 06:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 335
Location: Meadow Vista
Posts: 749
Post

they are full of sh!t I have a brand new nevwe used factory adapterTH400 to 205 sitting on my tool box..I bought it from a dealer. I had bought it for my doubler set up but ended up going with the Generation II and did not need it.
__________________
2012 & 2013 4WOR Ultimate Adventure invited Reader in my 1959ish willy's,TJ,YJ,CJ thangy
Jimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 12:39 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4243
Location: Salt Spring Island, BC
Posts: 3,212
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Jimmy:
<STRONG>I have a brand new nevwe used factory adapterTH400 to 205 sitting on my tool box.</STRONG>
What year is yours for? This one was ordered for a 90 crewcab TH400/NP205 combo. I've heard there's two lengths of 32-spline input for the NP205. Maybe you have another version? A pic of you adapter would be much appreciated.
__________________
90-93 CTD jalopies
u2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 01:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DynamicCrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member # 15101
Location: Durant, OK
Posts: 136
Factory Adapter

Quote:
Originally posted by Jimmy
they are full of sh!t I have a brand new nevwe used factory adapterTH400 to 205 sitting on my tool box..I bought it from a dealer. I had bought it for my doubler set up but ended up going with the Generation II and did not need it.
How much would you let it go for? Im in the need of one or I can get one from my dealer, how much did cost from the dealer where your at. Our dealership has a tendacy to rape people on parts cost.
__________________
97' Tacoma
60s 39.5 IROKs Trailready beadlocks, coilovers, dual t-cases, twin sticked .....Work in Progress
DynamicCrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 07:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 17675
Location: Mass.
Posts: 19
I have a little different problem.I now have an SM465 /205.If I was to swap out the SM465 for a TH400 what would I need?
__________________
Please enough with the West Coast Choppers Shirts
cheech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2003, 06:21 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DynamicCrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member # 15101
Location: Durant, OK
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally posted by cheech
I have a little different problem.I now have an SM465 /205.If I was to swap out the SM465 for a TH400 what would I need?
The same thing Im needing a 32 spline short female input shaft,

Offroad design sells them for $200, A little rediculous if you ask me considering you have to have you housing machined also to fit the bigger bearing.
__________________
97' Tacoma
60s 39.5 IROKs Trailready beadlocks, coilovers, dual t-cases, twin sticked .....Work in Progress
DynamicCrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.