d70 + 14 bolt hub question. - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2009, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 111241
Location: land of the port
Posts: 485
d70 + 14 bolt hub question.

I got a d70 hd rear I'm stuffing in the k10 and had a question on swapping hubs. I read that the bearings are all interchangeable and spindles are the same so you can swap 14 bolt hubs on to a d70. Is this right? The whole reason I even ask this question is because I want to run discs on the 70 but dont want to have to have the rotors milled everytime I replace them. With dually 14 bolt hubs on the back I could run the 75+ rotors and not have to have them clearanced. It would basically save me time/effort/money to swap hubs.

Does this sound right or am I just high? Ill have them clearanced if I have too but whats the point if I can just swap my dually hubs onto it.

BTW I plan on using ruffstuff brackets if that matters.
__________________
74 Chevy k10 on tons
88 4runner
Kali-K10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
trkklr77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member # 29016
Location: galt ca, because i wanted my own backyard
Posts: 6,086
yes, the bearing and spindle are the same. yes you can install 14b hubs on the d70.
trkklr77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-26-2009, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Rock God
 
nvrenuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10903
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,669
I thought drw 14 bolt hubs and the D70HD dually hubs were the same therefore what wont fit one will not fit the other.
__________________
John

'91 K5 454, 4spd, Doubler, J76/70HD, 5.86's & 43's
Build Pics & Build Thread


happy..happy..happy....
nvrenuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 01:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
trkklr77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member # 29016
Location: galt ca, because i wanted my own backyard
Posts: 6,086
afaik the drums are the same for a drw and a srw 14bff. if they are the rotor will fit the drw hub, cant say 100% because i have never tried to install a rotor on a drw hub.
trkklr77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Member # 93989
Location: Black Diamond, Washington
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvrenuf View Post
I thought drw 14 bolt hubs and the D70HD dually hubs were the same therefore what wont fit one will not fit the other.

nope
Lucky_Thirteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Rock God
 
nvrenuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10903
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,669
Nope the hubs are different or...?
__________________
John

'91 K5 454, 4spd, Doubler, J76/70HD, 5.86's & 43's
Build Pics & Build Thread


happy..happy..happy....
nvrenuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 02:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 111241
Location: land of the port
Posts: 485
from what i understand the bearings and spindle are the compatable but the actual hub on a d70 is around 3/16"s larger in diameter. meaning the rotor itself would have to milled out to fit over it. Ill bust out the tape and see if they have the same offset in order to make the ruff stuff brackets work with the 14 b hub.
__________________
74 Chevy k10 on tons
88 4runner
Kali-K10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 04:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Member # 93989
Location: Black Diamond, Washington
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvrenuf View Post
Nope the hubs are different or...?



Correct. No machining of the rotor required for any 14 bolt hubs
Lucky_Thirteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 04:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Member # 93989
Location: Black Diamond, Washington
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kali-K10 View Post
Ill bust out the tape and see if they have the same offset in order to make the ruff stuff brackets work with the 14 b hub.


Worse comes to worse just order the weld on brackets and stick them where you need them
Lucky_Thirteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 04:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 111241
Location: land of the port
Posts: 485
yeah, I might just upen up the rotors cause my welder isnt top notch. Skills are there, just dont have the cash to buy a new machine cause I bought the bender and the 1 tons.
__________________
74 Chevy k10 on tons
88 4runner
Kali-K10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 05:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Member # 12455
Location: az
Posts: 476
Fyi

Not all D70's share the same bolt circle at the axle flange. Chevy D70 and 14 bolt are on a 3.562 circle. Other D70's are on a 3.97 circle. 14 bolt hubs may not have the same offset at the flange. If your only option is a bolt on caliper bracket you will need to do your homework. I put my 75 Chevy rotors to the inside of the flange on the hub. I used a weld on caliper mount as they do not make a bolt on caliper mount for a dually 14 bolt with single wheel hubs. I'm also running unmodified H1's.
__________________
The devil doesn't live here. He's nextdoor.
dogbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 11:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 111241
Location: land of the port
Posts: 485
I have a 70hd. I know that ruffstuff makes the brackets specific for this axle setup (d70hd GM dually). My concern was having to go get the rotors milled every time I replace them. I know they last a while but most of the machine shops around here are full of dicks who would charge good money to open them up 3/16".

I think I'm going to contact kurt at diy since he has the opened rotors on the shelf already. That way it just goes on. Simple enough and If need be I can always remove the brackets. I like kurts kit but I already have everything but the brackets. I do have the rotors off my other swap, but I figure I'll start fresh with milled ones from him.

Thanks for all the help though guys.
__________________
74 Chevy k10 on tons
88 4runner
Kali-K10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 10:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Big91RustyBucket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 87635
Location: Demotte , IN
Posts: 3,581
Send a message via AIM to Big91RustyBucket
I have a 70HD I had Rear Disk's on the 70Hubs , and Currently Have Rear Disk's on the 14 Bolt Hubs.

Mine was a Dually 70HD. I am currently Running 14Bolt SRW Hubs , and GLO Weld on Disk Brackets.

Also I never Used any special rotors , just normal D44/10 Bolt 8 Lug Rotors.
__________________
~Philip
Midwestern 4x4 Parts

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAUX X 4 View Post
You've inspired me to start a build thread of my own.......... all the pictures will be upside down to reflect my driving style!
http://www.midwestern4x4.com
89 S10 Truggy
Big91RustyBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 10:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 111241
Location: land of the port
Posts: 485
I have the rotors layin around so after I clear out some junk Ill get around to test fitting the rotors on the hubs. The worst that could happen is I have to order new rotors from kurt, BFD. However, from what I can tell so far the hubs/drums/backing plates look identical.

This is probably similar to the differences that everyone runs into with the studs on a 14b swap. I have heard of people having trouble but my studs went in without grinding or modding them in anyway.
__________________
74 Chevy k10 on tons
88 4runner

Last edited by Kali-K10; 06-27-2009 at 11:05 AM.
Kali-K10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 11:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
REDDMANIAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5733
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 2,191
just grind the back of the hubs, I used a cutoff disc to basically cut slots(diceing) of metal out and ground the rest.
REDDMANIAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.