turbo400 replace 700r4??? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2010, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Member # 152130
Location: commack ny
Posts: 5
turbo400 replace 700r4???

i can get a turbo 400 and transfercase for a good deal my 90 suburban has a bad trans(700r4) what would i need to make the 400 fit?? drive shafts i know but what crossmember ? or build a custom is it worth doing or just rebuild my 700?
islandcycle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Member # 123514
Location: Middle of hell USA
Posts: 1,258
Send a message via AIM to frikenwoodro Send a message via Yahoo to frikenwoodro
Quote:
Originally Posted by islandcycle View Post
i can get a turbo 400 and transfercase for a good deal my 90 suburban has a bad trans(700r4) what would i need to make the 400 fit?? drive shafts i know but what crossmember ? or build a custom is it worth doing or just rebuild my 700?
Answered your own questions and YES
__________________
I don't build it pretty I build it to function.
frikenwoodro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-24-2010, 07:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Member # 152130
Location: commack ny
Posts: 5
what do i get the crossmember from to make it work does my stock one work??? and how about connecting shifter to tranny my stock 700r stuff bolt right up ?? how about a kickdown?? all the trucks have aways been stick this is my first auto any help would be great
islandcycle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Member # 152130
Location: commack ny
Posts: 5
Question

i searched and found many diffrent answers anyone do this swap and what did they use?
islandcycle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Member # 129329
Location: Grovetown, GA
Posts: 155
I'd like to know this one myself. I think the 700 in my 90 K5 is about to take a crap.
__________________
1990 K5 - Tons and more
1988 Sammi - 16v, Yotas, 36's on H1's
Copasetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Member # 74636
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 82
The shifter linkage should be the same just adjust if necessary. The th400 has a vacum modulator on the pass side that needs full manifold vacum that gives it the proper line pressure at full throttle. And it also has a kick down seloniod on the drivers side that a switch/reastat on the accerator pedal controls. The crossmember may possibly work just depends on what transfer case and adapter is on the 400. All of this can be found on the site if search is used
Bigbad1/2ton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 105334
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigbad1/2ton View Post
The shifter linkage should be the same just adjust if necessary. The th400 has a vacum modulator on the pass side that needs full manifold vacum that gives it the proper line pressure at full throttle. And it also has a kick down seloniod on the drivers side that a switch/reastat on the accerator pedal controls. The crossmember may possibly work just depends on what transfer case and adapter is on the 400. All of this can be found on the site if search is used
x2
__________________
88 ChevyK1500 SAS with D60's,35spl,spool rear,ARB front,5.86 gears,350ci,700r4,NP203/205,42TSL, H1's
Big Red 88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Member # 138801
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,138
really this isnt much of an issue........ look at the transfer case mounting points for your current one and the new one...if they are the same then all u will need to do is relocte the crossmember and drill new holes in the frame and bam ur done........really easy if the mouting designs arnt the same go to the junkyard and find one for that model t case and mount it on your truck....... its a no brainer

Last edited by geo in a K5; 01-24-2010 at 08:33 PM.
geo in a K5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 09:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Member # 123514
Location: Middle of hell USA
Posts: 1,258
Send a message via AIM to frikenwoodro Send a message via Yahoo to frikenwoodro
Quote:
Originally Posted by islandcycle View Post
what do i get the crossmember from to make it work does my stock one work??? and how about connecting shifter to tranny my stock 700r stuff bolt right up ?? how about a kickdown?? all the trucks have aways been stick this is my first auto any help would be great
Get the cross member for the trans and xfer case you got. Get a B&m, Art carr or shifter of your choice. Th400 uses a single wire from the accel pedal for "passing gear" you dont need it, it just wont down shift when you floor it.
__________________
I don't build it pretty I build it to function.
frikenwoodro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Grumpy_old_fart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20147
Location: Oakland Orygun
Posts: 6,573
Send a message via Yahoo to Grumpy_old_fart
search.

use the tools available to you.

oh...... if you dont have a red star, your search will be hampered... its worth it. itll save you from uncomfortable situations like this, where you find your head up your ass and people giving you shit about searching, wasting time, bandwidth, being a retard, etc.

by the way, you should have also posted this in the newby forum. why? cause youre a fawkin newby.

run along now.
__________________
Empathy, apathy, sympathy.
Sympathy is between shit and syphilis in the dictionary.
Grumpy_old_fart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 03:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Mr Mom
 
glenns89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 94897
Location: rancho cucamonga, so cal
Posts: 1,611
it's too bad you live on the other side of the country. I have a 205 crossmember. X1000 on searching. This topic has been covered a ton of times. I know cuz when I did my 700r4-th400 swap, I figured out what I needed by reading on this very site.
__________________
89 jimmy D60/ff14bolt/400/203/205. Detroit rear, open front for now.
glenns89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Member # 138721
Posts: 15
I dont know if youre happy with your transfer case and driveshafts but if you are just tired of 700r4 shit and want a tranny that will last and want it to be a bolt in replacement, advanced adapters has a kit. Get a 2wd core take it to the tranny shop or do it yourself, the kit comes with a new output shaft for the transmission, a adapter to bolt on the turbo 400 than makes it the same length as the 400 uses same tranny mount, comes with dipstick, kickdown switch and dust cover. The only part I did not have was the arm that goes on the shift shaft, I went to gm and got one for a 1988 3/4 ton it had a 400. best move I made getting rid of the 700r4, at the time it was my daily driver and I have put about 150,000 on it and no problems, however I do miss the low first gear and overdrive. probally not clear on tranny shop part but the transmission has to be torn down all the way to replace output shaft. I tried a couple of 700 rebuilds so now all my trannys go to the shop.

My approx cost
$50 used 2wd 400 core
$300 rebuild at tranny shop with reman turbo 350 torgue converter
$400 approx for adavance adapter kit
$30 for shift arm.
$780 total


rebuild 700r4 without hard parts $800
hosspower02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 08:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 8015
Location: virginia
Posts: 189
Send a message via Yahoo to volpster69
I installed a th400/208 combo in my 1984 k5 blazer that had a 700r4/208 combo. since I had a 4" lift , both original driveshafts worked fine even thought the th400 is about 2" shorter. I ran a hose for vacuum from the tranny to the intake manifold. I got a kickdown switch off of ebay bolted to the accel bracket under the dash and hooked it up. my speedo cable hooked right up to the tcase because both were mechanical.
My th400/208 came with the crossmember so that was good to go, and I redrilled the frame to bolt up the crossmember in the right place.
the th400/208 came out of a 1988 suburban if I remember correctly.

So to swap in a 1988 th400/208 into a 1984 k5 was pretty simple swap, started swapping out at about 6am by myself, had everything done except for bolting up the torque converter and the driveshafts by 10am. A friend showed up to help , and was test driving by noon.
__________________
" its the b$tches that getchas "
volpster69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.