Need help with an 88 TBI 350. IAC Problem - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Chevy
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2011, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 95938
Posts: 243
Question Need help with an 88 TBI 350. IAC Problem

for some reason, the IAC on it keeps going in and out. sometimes it'll work, sometimes it won't. tried a new IAC, another computer, and the wiring checks out good. even with the new IAC and computer it does the same thing. works for a while, stops working, then it starts working again. anyone have any ideas why?
dt5150 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2011, 06:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Member # 139990
Location: Central IN
Posts: 286
possible vacuum leak or fuel pressure issue if your wiring checks out and you put on a new IAC valve and computer
__________________
trucks are built, maintained, repaired by humans, you are a human you can do anything
adam765 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 02-18-2011, 08:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 95938
Posts: 243
smoke tested the motor for vac leaks, none found. fuel pressure is consistant at 15 psi.

i have a feeling it may be something loose in the connector, in the wiring harness. it's a new harness though, from howell, so it "should" be good. but that's really the only thing that makes any sense since it does it with a new iac and new ecm. i'm thinking it's some type of intermittent connection maybe?
dt5150 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2011, 10:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Member # 139990
Location: Central IN
Posts: 286
time to bust out the volt meter reader and do some probing
__________________
trucks are built, maintained, repaired by humans, you are a human you can do anything
adam765 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 08:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 95938
Posts: 243
yup, did a little this weekend. couldn't find anything intermittent. this is weird...
dt5150 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 08:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
383K5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Member # 87934
Location: Rocinsaw
Posts: 164
Check to see if a pin is pushed back on the harness.
__________________
Crew Cab Build : [url]http://arkansasoff-road.com/RockCrawlers4x4/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=1234[/url]
383K5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 08:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 95938
Posts: 243
good idea.. i'll check.
dt5150 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 08:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Member # 9991
Location: Cold Springs, NV
Posts: 2,481
Grounds, or lack there of, can cause gremlins. Is there a complete ground path between the body, frame, and engine?
__________________
[url]www.scotthansen.net[/url]

Last edited by MrWillys; 02-21-2011 at 08:57 AM.
MrWillys is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 09:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 95938
Posts: 243
grounding should be adequate. grounding straps from the motor to the frame, body mounted/grounded to the frame. any others i might be missing?
dt5150 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 11:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37184
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 1,327
Engine grounds to ECM? There are a couple of common ground points at front of the engine that have 2-3 ground wires each, that go back to the ECM. Also, just because the wires "look" good, doesn't mean they are electrically good. If I were chasing the problem you describe, I'd remove each ground, and properly clean and reinstall it. Your problem sounds like wiring.
__________________
88XJ, Chevy 5.7L, Edelbrock MPFI, NV4500, Atlas, D44's, high steer, ARB's, 7" custom semi long-arm 3 or 4-link lift, BFG 33x12.5-15's.
Bubba_Jeep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 11:22 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 95938
Posts: 243
i will certainly do that. thanks for the suggestion.
dt5150 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2011, 04:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
needs a sponsor
 
rokcrawlr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Member # 156242
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 655
Although there are ground straps as mentioned, you should check your grounds at the t stat housing. Mine were corroded underneath but seemed to be fine visually and cost me a lot of time doing pin outs, and trying known good parts.
__________________
rokcrawlr1 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2011, 07:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Member # 95938
Posts: 243
i'll check em, thanks for the tip.

i appreciate all the tips guys, thank you.
dt5150 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.