5.0 & 351 efi - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Electrical & Wiring
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 10:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 141909
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 69
5.0 & 351 efi

Just wondering what a guy with a 88 to 93 5.0 or 5.8w needs to hook up to run it in a buggy

Sent from my SCH-R760 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
hillbilly
muddyhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
wheelin!
 
z1u2k3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 142927
Location: okinawa jp
Posts: 160
you'll need a whole engine wiring harness, assuming you are wiring savvy you can find a wrecked vehicle that originally had the 5.0 in it and pull the wiring out of the front and seperate what you need and dont need,such as the efi wiring .
z1u2k3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-07-2012, 03:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 141909
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 69
Ok thanks reason i asked was guy i work with said someone he knows goes it in rails and only used 3 or 5 wires and i was also wondering about the o2 sensor

hillbilly
__________________
hillbilly
muddyhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Rock God
 
TN-D90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 85510
Location: Nashville,TN
Posts: 1,375
My jeep has a 5.0 out of a mustang in it. I didn't do the swap but it had definitely more than 5 wires
__________________
Jeep YJ- "Black Label" getting a full rebuild


www.Dixiecrawlers.com
TN-D90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Rock God
 
KyleQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member # 83837
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,777
I just did a swap in my EB and there really isn't a whole lot to hook up. Beyond the sensors that plug into the motor there is a few 12v wires, a 12v rank wire and a few grounds. Beyond that there is nothing - I hooked 3 power wires up, two grounds and that was it.
__________________
74' Bronco - Mustang Injected 5.8 - 105:1- Locked D60, Powr-Lok 70U - NP435 -Atlas2 3.8 - PSC Full Hydro - 5.5" lift - Cage Arms - 43" TSL SX on H1 Beadlocks
Bronco Build Thread
KyleQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 141909
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 69
What yr motor did u use

hillbilly
__________________
hillbilly
muddyhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
I make websites!
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Member # 12429
Location: Rubicon Trail - CA
Posts: 10,519
Blog Entries: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddyhillbilly View Post
Just wondering what a guy with a 88 to 93 5.0 or 5.8w needs to hook up to run it in a buggy

Sent from my SCH-R760 using Tapatalk 2
This is what I used


You can see my old mess here, and I`ll have to get some new pics of how it's setup now, all nice and clean

I actually purchased all new electronics minus injectors and had IHO Jeff re-do the entire harness, mounts, and EVERYTHING on the engine. It's AMAZING how much better it runs
__________________
4x4 Product Reviews
Todd W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 08:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Member # 210335
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddyhillbilly View Post
Just wondering what a guy with a 88 to 93 5.0 or 5.8w needs to hook up to run it in a buggy

Sent from my SCH-R760 using Tapatalk 2
He needs to ditch the EFI/TFI setup (or at least go with the firewall mounted TFI), go carb, and then duraspark it. Then you will have this

>only used 3 or 5 wires and i was also wondering about the o2 sensor

If you keep the TFI setup, you can buy generic bungs from Summit and use the replacement Bosch, it should be a simple non-heated 1 wire type (ECC-IV) vs. 4 wire OBDII. Just keep the connectors clean of grease and such as it breathes through the wiring harness.

Personally, I would go with the blue box duraspark and convert it to carb, but, that is me. Some people like the EFI alot.
4x4prepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 08:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Rock God
 
KyleQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member # 83837
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,777
Here is a thread on my EFI swap - I had everything hooked up correctly on my first try, I didn't realize they previous owner used a switch to turn on the fuel pump, as the wiring was no longer hooked up to the relay.

http://classicbroncos.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=198768
__________________
74' Bronco - Mustang Injected 5.8 - 105:1- Locked D60, Powr-Lok 70U - NP435 -Atlas2 3.8 - PSC Full Hydro - 5.5" lift - Cage Arms - 43" TSL SX on H1 Beadlocks
Bronco Build Thread
KyleQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 08:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 141909
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 69
I have carb intake if the fuel injection don't work out right for me and thanks kyleQ big help

hillbilly
__________________
hillbilly
muddyhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.