Wiring transmission sensor - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Electrical & Wiring
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2012, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
Weasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5639
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 5,921
Blog Entries: 1
Wiring transmission sensor

I have a Stewart Warner transmission temp sensor I'm trying to wire. The sensor is in a AN T-fitting that is inline of the rubber transmission lines, ie it's not grounded against anything.

I had the sensor originally wired with a single wire that ran to the gauge but the needle won't move off the lowest setting, just under 140.

So I figured I need a ground wire so I ran a ground but if I attach it to the sensor stud the needle pegs out a the max of 320.

How do I wire this stupid thing? I have been searching google without much luck.

I tired clamping the ground to the side of the sensor with a vise grips and got the fluid up to ~145 and the needle didn't move.
__________________

Experience is what you get 30 seconds after you need it

Just Add Lightness
Weasel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 06:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
TorqueRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Member # 207169
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weasel View Post
I have a Stewart Warner transmission temp sensor I'm trying to wire. The sensor is in a AN T-fitting that is inline of the rubber transmission lines, ie it's not grounded against anything.

I had the sensor originally wired with a single wire that ran to the gauge but the needle won't move off the lowest setting, just under 140.

So I figured I need a ground wire so I ran a ground but if I attach it to the sensor stud the needle pegs out a the max of 320.

How do I wire this stupid thing? I have been searching google without much luck.

I tired clamping the ground to the side of the sensor with a vise grips and got the fluid up to ~145 and the needle didn't move.
The top post is for the the trans gauge and the the body has to be ground without touching the top post...Try another gauge if you can because you might have burned out the gauge by ground out the sensor wire...
TorqueRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-19-2012, 03:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Rock God
 
pepe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 17870
Location: Richmond, Ca
Posts: 1,430
Is this it?

You are correct in that the body needs to be grounded. It sounds like your gauge is working. I welded a stud to the "T" on mine and connected the ground there. You could always test it in a can of boiling water, boiling would be 212 deg F.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Arguing with a inspector is like wrestling with a pig in the mud.

After a while you realize the PIG is enjoying himself!
pepe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 03:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 56430
Location: Kitsap County, Washington
Posts: 459
You have a ground problem. This is similar to how both mine are done, with a sender in the rubber hose. The sender screws into a fitting. Take your solder gun, and wrap bare wire around the fitting (not the sender), then solder the wire to the fitting. That becomes your ground strap.

And even though the engine is up to operating temps, the trans will take a significantly longer time to come up to temp, and that's typically under load, not idling in your driveway.
__________________
TTC 1994, TTCC 2012, Trail Tours '05-'10, '12-'13
Member Eldorado Dust Devils, a PNW4WDA member

Last edited by Treeclimber; 05-19-2012 at 03:25 PM.
Treeclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 10:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
Weasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5639
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 5,921
Blog Entries: 1
cool, thanks that what I was thinking. And yeah the trans takes along time to warm up sitting in the driveway, lol.
__________________

Experience is what you get 30 seconds after you need it

Just Add Lightness
Weasel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.