What to get? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Expedition Vehicles
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2012, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 218539
What to get?

If this is in the wrong section just put it in the right forum, but I thought I put it here. So the expedition bug has hit me and I want an affordable expedition rig. I probably won't be getting it for a good while, but it would be nice to start planing for what to set my goals for. My budget goal for now would be around 4k depending on factors.

For now I think I want to explore the Americas(all the way up to Alaska and down to Amazon), and I want something that is affordable to build and maintain. Decent mpg would be nice(20 highway would be a nice goal). I am new to overlanding and off-roading, but have a passion for all cars. There are a few models that interest me, and I not sure which would be the best for my needs. I want something that isn't too big. My parents had a first gen Pathfinder that I really liked a lot(sadly it was 2wd only), and thought the size was near perfect. I also did enjoy the handling, and performance of it. With that said it seems like the Xterra would be similar to what I am looking for, but not sure if it would really meet my needs off-roading as it has IFS.
There is also Jeep Cherokee(I feel like if I look at Jeep I should be looking at the Wrangler, but I want full roof for overlanding trips). I like it, and it seems like it could be affordable platform to start with, but there is something I just don't like about it, but I can't put my hands on it.