Pirate 4x4 banner

This European Life: An Open Travelogue

23K views 62 replies 13 participants last post by  FirstRam 
#1 ·
Hello everyone,
My name is Miguel, I am 23 years old, a citizen of Spain and within 20 days I shall be starting a solo expedition from the United States to the southernmost tip of Argentina. Being a Mercedes gear-head and striving with a tight budget, I bought a 1981 Mercedes 300TD wagon that I am currently modifying to make expedition-worthy.

Since I graduated college, I started writing a blog called "This European Life", where I narrate my travels and my thoughts on where life takes me. I call it an open travelogue because I do not plan on it NEVER ending, I am always looking to meet fellow travelers wherever I go! So, don't be shy and shoot me a line if you want to meet and talk about rigs and overlanding!

It is an honor to be part of this –VERY SERIOUS- community of offroaders and adventurers, and I hope to meet many of you wherever my wheels take me! I shall also keep my eyes open for the last supplies I need!

Thank you!
-Miguel Llorente

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Sounds like quite a trip. If I interpret your drawing correctly it looks like you are planning on carrying a bulk supply of liquid either fuel or water on the roof? I think this would make your rig to top heavy plus having that much liquid moving around on the roof would cause the vehicle to become unbalanced possible causing you at best to slide off the road or worst roll over. I am also curious as to why you chose a 2 wheel drive low slung car as opposed to a 4 wheel drive with better ground clearance and greater weight capacity?

#3 ·
I have definitely changed the design since that first drawing... the storage compartment at the top will now carry my "just-in-case" spare parts and automotive consumables. The fresh water tank will be installed in the former space of the second row seating backrest. Will soon update the blueprints!