89 302 efi ? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Ford
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2003, 10:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
3vze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13561
Location: Emerald city
Posts: 644
89 302 efi ?

Ok I dont know if this should be in the newbie forum or not.
I did the unthinkable and swaped a 5.0 into my toyota, but dont hold that against a guy

I searched for info but always come back to the PBB.
89 HO 302 EFi
Question 1) does the EGR need to be hooked up. It runs without it but is the ECU going into limp mode ? is there a way to bypass the EGR ?
2) does the VSS need to be tied into the ECU to operate correctly ?
3) and last does anyone know what the mustang fuel pump flows ? LPH or GPH.

Thanks,

James
3vze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Member # 595
Location: EVERETT WA
Posts: 1,076
I am curious what the motor is out of and is it a mass air, speed density and a HO? I am doing a HO mass swap rite now as well.
I have been told that the VSS is not required but I am not running yet so I don't know for sure.

As for the pump I got this from the same guy as the stuff below
The 83ish Ford Truck low pressure pump most folks use
generates 72GPH @ 5.75PSI
The 88ish Ford Truck high pressure pump most folks use
generates 50GPH @ 90PSI
The Stock 88-93 Mustang Fuel pump for compairson
generates 23GPH @ 50PSI
The most common aftermarket pump the Mustang crowd
usually buys only generates 50GPM @ 50PSI
50 Gallons = 190 Liters

This is an Email I got that explains how to do it. I recieved it from Ryan of the fordfuel injection site mentioned below.
To remove the EGR system from your vehicle:

Leave the EGR valve position sensor in the EGR and
plugged to the harness:
http://fordfuelinjection.com/images/egr01.jpg
This confirms that the EGR is closed so the computer
can calculate fuel and ignition with out warring about
any Exhaust Gas Recirculation.
You could remove the EGR and position sensor if you
can add a resistor to send between 0.24-0.67volts to
computer in place of the sensor to confirm there is no
Exhaust Gas Recirculation.

Unplug and remove the EGR solenoid:
http://fordfuelinjection.com/images/egr03.jpg
Cap any vacuum lines and ports left open to prevent
leaks

Unplug and remove the vacuum line to the EGR:
http://fordfuelinjection.com/images/egr02.jpg
Remove any vacuum lines left open to prevent leaks

Ryan
__________________
[COLOR="Red"]star[/COLOR]
EBSTEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-22-2003, 11:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
3vze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13561
Location: Emerald city
Posts: 644
EB steve, the engine is an 89 5.0 from a mustang GT.
and its mass air. Thats great info. I can confirm that it opperates without these functions hooked up but...since I dont have an idiot light hooked up yet I cant confirm if the ECU is in limp mode or not. I can tell you I dont have any of the vacume solenoids hooked up to the EGR etc...
3vze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Member # 15084
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,436
I have an '89 HO running in my Ranger right now. I left the EGR hooked up because of emmisions issues in the area. I used the stock fuel pump for the Ford Ranger ('88) and it works fine. I also run a low pressure pump as the stock Ranger system did.

I could never find a vacume wiring diagram but have mine hooked up right.

I am running a VSS. I guess you can't. If it is a trail only rig I would not worry about it. If you have idle problems, not running the VSS could be the culprit. Also, not running it will slightly effect your gas mileage.

Let me know if you need pictures or info. I am getting ready to build a new truck around the engine.
SuperRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Member # 595
Location: EVERETT WA
Posts: 1,076
3vze
Not to hijack your thread but your in the greater Seattle area, where about?

SuperRanger
If you could take a picture of the drivers side brackets I would appreciate it, I am trying to find a factory bracket that will allow me to put the A/C pump on. The T-bird setup I have puts the A/C pump way down and it hits the steering gear box. Anything would be great, I am hoping to have it wired by the weekend.
__________________
[COLOR="Red"]star[/COLOR]
EBSTEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
3vze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13561
Location: Emerald city
Posts: 644
SuperRanger, I have emmisions also but Im willing to bet that with a few tweeks it'll get passed, now that we dont have under hood inspection it should be alright ? I'll find out next april.
Since mines the EFI ver. I have the High press pump. but it was originaly a v6 anyway so .... might be fine. If thats true about the VSS then I need to learn more and find out how to convert the signal pulse from the toyota sender to send what the ford ecu is looking for.
It is actually a daily driver...well sort of. I carpool so its more like a "When the wife feels like a change and, or I drive it on the weekend truck"
3vze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 03:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
3vze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13561
Location: Emerald city
Posts: 644
EBsteve Im actually in lynnwood.
3vze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 04:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4176
Location: Minivan Land, UT
Posts: 809
Everyone ive talked to says you dont need the VSS on Mass Air setups, its only used for the electronic Cruise Control.
StoopidMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15939
Location: McChord AFB, WA
Posts: 449
well i dont know about the other stuff, but you can trick a motor into thinking all is well whith a scan tool. Just get in and deleate the trouble code for the egr. If done right the motor will think its still hooked up (even if its not) and you should be good to go.
__________________
1999 Stock poser TJ, DD
1973 Wagoneer, mall crawler project...
mepr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 08:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6733
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,159
There's no way that you can "trick" the motor into anything with a scan tool. Not where OBD-I Fords are concerned.

I would run a VSS. The motor does use it. If you're running a manual transmission, you'll have problems with it stalling on decel.

I'd also run the EGR. I was talking about this same issue with D60 today. I have mine disabled at the moment, and the truck runs like crap. It doesn't know what to do at mid-throttle cruise with no EGR flow, so it jerks the timing around at random and sometimes causes knocking under load.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Team Fat Shit and the Traveling Circus
saf-t scissors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 09:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4176
Location: Minivan Land, UT
Posts: 809
Ive seen a few people that dont run the VSS and dont have any problems. I bet if you dont run it you wont either. Try it and see what happens, if your having problems with it running, trying hooking one up and see if it cures them.
StoopidMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 02:14 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Member # 7376
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Posts: 7
So the computer won't light the check engine light if the EGR solenoid is unplugged from the harness? I don't have the thermactor system any more so the EGR is the only thing that I'm keeping the coffee can around for... and it takes up valuable real estate! I also wouldn't mind getting rid of that dorky egr valve and tube, along with the extra vac lines associated with it and its solenoid
__________________
Won Ton 93 Bronco
MuddyBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 08:40 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
3vze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13561
Location: Emerald city
Posts: 644
The truck runs and drives right now but kinda petters out on power above 3.5k rpm. I am wondering is a VSS the same signal on any vech. ? if not I will need to figure out how to interface the toyota unit to work with the ford ECU(can anyone explain the signal pulses to me ?). The VSS on my toy runs the speedo.
BTW Im not running the thermactor or any of that junk. I also dont have any of the vacume lines hooked up so far except for the one to the Fuel Pressure Reg.
3vze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.