questions about a 68 ford bronco? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Ford
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2003, 10:21 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 15545
questions about a 68 ford bronco?

What axles came with it and tranny and tcase? It has a 302 i know that for sure.

Looking at maybe getting one found one that has never been touched!

What does it take to fit 33s?

Where is the best place to get parts?

thanks for any help!

r4x4bus
Old 12-28-2003, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 22955
Get yourself a set of flexible fender flares and trim and you will be able to get your 33s under there. the rear fenders will need a lot of cutting as i'm sure you know. i'm not sure of the best place for parts but try broncograveyard.com. i'm no EB expert at all but wasn't the 289 the V8 available from 66-68? i don't think the 302 came in till 69. for axles it will have dana 30 front/9" rear. stick or auto, 1 or 2 spd case?
FordCarnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-28-2003, 11:15 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 17950
It'll likely have a 289, 3 spd manual, dana 30 front, 28 spline 9" rear and a dana 20 x-case. I believe the case has 2.48 :1 low range. The 3 spd is something like 3 : 1, and the axle gears are likely 3:50 to 1.

Of course, a 68 has probably been subjected to years of bastardiation, so double check everything.

I've had good luck with Wild Horses, James Duff, and BC Bronco's for parts. Always check to see if there's an easier conversion out there though (i.e. it's much cheaper to do a power steering conversion than to find a factory bronco power steering box).
Old 12-28-2003, 11:16 AM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 17950
oh yeah,
I'd suggest about 3.5" lift for the 33's
Old 12-28-2003, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)

Member # 15545