Ford Tauras Speed Odometer problem - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Ford
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2004, 07:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member # 33839
Posts: 2
Ford Tauras Speed Odometer problem

I got a 95 Ford Tauras and its having a speed
odometer problem, mine is the same way, it gets to about 50 and it jumps
all over the place, its not as bad though with the jumping but it surly
doesnt stay in one spot.
I took it to one mechanic and he said that I would have to take to a
ford place or whatever since it was in the dash board.

I take to another mechanic and he says its the speed odometer motor,
replaces that, still does the same thing but not as bad, said it was the
speed odometer cable, replaces that and it still does the same thing,
and now he wants $700 to put in a piece in the Transmission because he
says thats the reason it jumps alot, I dont think hes much of an
mechanic although it seems he can do everything, worse part is he says
he needs to take out the entire motor and out it on the side just to get
to the transmission.

just wondering what could be the problem with the speed odometer? I think
mine is what the 1st mechanic said about it being in the Dash board,
because the needle rattles as if it wasnt tight or something. and I think this 2nd mechanic is crooked for how much he wants just to do a simple job.

any suggestions about this?
Real_Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2004, 08:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
Backncardr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Member # 24747
Location: Woodland, CA. & Mokelumne Hill, CA.
Posts: 561
Before you git boned again-have yer VSS (vehicle speed sensor) checked out/replaced. It's located on top on the trans and the speed cable attaches to it. However, if the speedometer gear INSIDE the trans on the output shaft is munged up-then yeah that would require the trans to git pulled and ripped down-not worth it. If the speedometer gear on the speed sensor looks peachy then the gear inside should be just fine, but the sensor itself does crap out. Have you had the trouble codes pulled yet? A bum sensor should throw a code. But may not.
Backncardr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-31-2004, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Member # 33839
Posts: 2
I just know the machanic said it was a small gear he showed me something similiar to it and it was a small gear with teeth on it that turns, he said when the teeth break off or whatever it skips around causing the speed odometer to jump.

but thing is the needle itself and the little round part it attaches to in the dashboard rattles, it just seems the only problem is that its loose and its not fit tight or something, but I could be wrong, I dont know much about these things.
Real_Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2004, 09:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Dave C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21297
Location: idaho
Posts: 451
Send a message via MSN to Dave C Send a message via Yahoo to Dave C
first off, you do know this is a four wheeling website, right?

That being said if the speedometer is jumping but if the transmission is still shifting right then I believe it will be the speedometer gear. You can get a new one for a few bucks and swap it out yourself.

Get a manual, but not a chilton. That will help you a lot
__________________
1978 Bronco buggy. Propane powered 351m, c-6, 4.56 gears.
Dave C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 01:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
winch operator
 
bobbywalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Member # 15473
Location: prudenville mi
Posts: 795
Send a message via AIM to bobbywalter
if you have an elec motor on the speedo it dont have a cable. the vss..or turbine speed depending on book/application may have a problem...i have this same problem with my powerstroke and it drives me nuts cause the cruise jerks with it...the sender it uses is the one in the rear end, and at 500+k i am thinking the r&p is gone or the tone ring is loose and i am getting a floppy signal...i am going to switch a different dash anyway with a tach in it cause i dont have a tach and see if that helps... most likely this will be after i watch the frequency comming from the rear diff on my meter to see if it is as erratic as the speedo and cruise control. i dont know if your application has the signal comming from a geared source or a tone ring type like on the abs. the tauras most likely has both. the vss should be visible on one of the outputs on the tranny. one lil bolt with a two wire connector.



now post a problem with your 4x4. preferably an 88 ranger with a v8 swap and dana 60's.
__________________
if only




88 ranger ext cab pos hackjob powered by a 6.5 diesel clattering against a 4l80 thats punishing a f208 that is turning ford 60's rolling on 33-44 in tires depending on the mission at hand

how ya like me now??
bobbywalter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.