climate control not workin stock 99 150 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Ford
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2008, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
molson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member # 44912
Location: the other detroit
Posts: 36
climate control not workin stock 99 150

anyone ever have problems with their selecter switch not working (99 F150)..it seems as though all i have working is the defroster position.. or should i say that is the only place that has air blowing out..i have heat and cooling but cannot get the dash vents-floor vents-dash/floor etc..to work or "switch over"
anyone have this same thing come up before?
is their some sort of solinoid that has gone bad or possibly the switch it self?
hate to start throwing cash to the wrong parts...
any help is greatly appriciated
molson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 56006
Posts: 2,109
: laughing:
JoshTurner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-06-2008, 02:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
mj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 1919
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 7,691
not really what this forum is for
mj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
molson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member # 44912
Location: the other detroit
Posts: 36
i know......just lookin for a little help.. thats all...thanks
molson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Que_Honda!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 104219
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 133
i would consider opening up the dash and taking out the stereo and such and make sure the connections are all good.
Que_Honda! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 04:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Damn you chuckie...
 
svt150j49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 85316
Location: Redding
Posts: 2,936
Send a message via AIM to svt150j49
Vac. leak. Or blend door motor, but its most likely a vacuum leak. Usually the lines by the battery crack and fail. Check there, follow them into the cab.

If you still cant get it, bring it to someone who knows what they are doing.
__________________
1996 F150 - Supercharged 5.8L, E4OD, Vortech S-trim, PSD Intercooler, 15 psi , 1356, Dana 60, 10.25, 5.13 gears, welded rear diff, 14" Air/Coilovers. Check it out:

Build thread:
Here

The un-named buggy - 2.3L, lotsa tube, and FJ80s.
svt150j49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Damn you chuckie...
 
svt150j49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 85316
Location: Redding
Posts: 2,936
Send a message via AIM to svt150j49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Que_Honda! View Post
i would consider opening up the dash and taking out the stereo and such and make sure the connections are all good.
Most connections do not just "fail". Especially on newer vehicles. The worst thing he can do is tear into something over his head.
__________________
1996 F150 - Supercharged 5.8L, E4OD, Vortech S-trim, PSD Intercooler, 15 psi , 1356, Dana 60, 10.25, 5.13 gears, welded rear diff, 14" Air/Coilovers. Check it out:

Build thread:
Here

The un-named buggy - 2.3L, lotsa tube, and FJ80s.
svt150j49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 04:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
mj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 1919
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 7,691
auto temp controls bypass the engine temp switch in defrost position
my 94 crownvic has similar issues with auto temp control
so I would be looking at the vac/elec coolant temp switch you can bypass it so that the fan runs at any engine temp, basically it doeant allow the fan to run til the coolant is warm except for defrost, defrost gets fan at any engine temp

Last edited by mj; 09-06-2008 at 04:32 PM.
mj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 05:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Danger Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Member # 1234
Location: Lower Lake, Ca
Posts: 5,452
Blog Entries: 1
my climate controls havn't been working right either...

























do yall think it would help if I installed a roof and a windshield?
__________________
If not today nor yet tomorrow then some other day
Danger Ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 07:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Member # 77718
Location: Preskitt
Posts: 1,083
Well fawk, may as well cut it up and turn it into a REAL wheeler...
__________________
'89 B2 with slight modifications
[QUOTE=AZFord4x4;8084876] I really shouldn't download so much porn while I'm trying to ban people.[/QUOTE]
IROK Cherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 07:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Rock God
 
1sicbronconut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member # 37866
Location: Rapid City South Dakota
Posts: 1,512
X2 on the vacuum leak by the battery, I seen to fix a few for that problem every month.There is also a vacuujm check valve by the battery that can go bad. The F150 system is wa diffrent than a Crown Vic when the vancuum control heaqd loses vacuum it defaults to defrost for saftey reasons. We must be getting soft in the Ford section I didn't see any mention of blenders or razors blades you are a lucky guy And yes I'm getting tired of questions like this, didn't someone mention a "hardcore" Ford section once?
1sicbronconut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 07:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 104850
Location: Lodi, CA
Posts: 785
http://fordtruckworld.tenmagazines.com
__________________
[B][COLOR="Yellow"]1987 YJ 60/14 on 40" ltb's [/COLOR][/B] :flipoff2:
SIKJEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 07:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
mj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Member # 1919
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 7,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIKJEEP View Post
ok that is the cruelest comment ever seen on p4x4
way to far there, Sir.
evil, just evil
mj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 01:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
molson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member # 44912
Location: the other detroit
Posts: 36
thanks for the info on the vacuum lines by the battery....i have afeeling that i have a chipmunk that has gotten into the engine compartment..when i turned on the blower this morning i could hear a bunch of shit inside of the ductwork..more than likely the little bastard has done something...
thanks again...
and since no one has mentioned it, i'll go drink a shot of bleach
molson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 02:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Damn you chuckie...
 
svt150j49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 85316
Location: Redding
Posts: 2,936
Send a message via AIM to svt150j49
Quote:
Originally Posted by molson View Post
thanks for the info on the vacuum lines by the battery....i have afeeling that i have a chipmunk that has gotten into the engine compartment..when i turned on the blower this morning i could hear a bunch of shit inside of the ductwork..more than likely the little bastard has done something...
thanks again...
and since no one has mentioned it, i'll go drink a shot of bleach
battery acid makes the lines weak (along with heat) and they turn into play-doh.
__________________
1996 F150 - Supercharged 5.8L, E4OD, Vortech S-trim, PSD Intercooler, 15 psi , 1356, Dana 60, 10.25, 5.13 gears, welded rear diff, 14" Air/Coilovers. Check it out:

Build thread:
Here

The un-named buggy - 2.3L, lotsa tube, and FJ80s.
svt150j49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.