Pirate 4x4 banner

78 F250 Build

4K views 17 replies 13 participants last post by  N_Rod 
#1 ·
Well i'm new here, but I guess i'll start a build thread for my new toy. I've always been a mini truck and muscle car guy so i'm new to the whole 4x4 scene. I've been in the passenger seat for a few years, but I finally bought my own.

This is what I have to start with. It's a 78 250, built 460, .40 over, 520 lift cam, high rise, 4 barrel (the usual stuff...) C6 tranny, 6" lift from a 89 truck, dana 60/70, 36" swampers. It used to be a long bed truck and was shortened. Overall it's a good truck to start with.

So far all i've donr is the usual maintenence stuff. Not completely sure of where im going with this exactly yet. First things are electric fans and a new front drive shaft. Broke it on the first test run. Eventually i'll four link it i'm sure. Power steering is on the list for sure. Roll cage and exo cage aswell.

Here's a few pictures. Also any advice is welcome and appreciated.

Playing in 2 wheel drive is no fun

See less See more
#3 ·
Dude....We all love the 70's F trucks in these parts, however: lose the rear lift blocks, front end looks to me like a D44HD:mad3: low pinion NOT A D60, BBF's can be the shiznit:D. Pull a rear shaft & count the splines, you'll be extremely fortunate if indeed it's a 35 spline. Carry on.

#6 ·
X 2 on losing the blocks in the rear & the front bumper. It looks like it would be level w/o them. Almost looks like the bed is longer behind the wheel than in front so I'd say they took it out of the middle. Too bad if you lose it off the back it really helps aproach angle and you don't have to mess with the frame & driveline other than cutting a little frame off the back.
Cool looking old beater any way!

#8 ·