Pirate 4x4 banner

Cheap Lifting Q's

1K views 9 replies 3 participants last post by  Obiwankanewbie 
#1 ·
Ok i have an 04 Ranger Edge 3.0 complete stock and it's my DD. I am looking to lift it to fit some bigger tires on it until i can come up with enough for upgrading my suspension.

I found some ideas for lifting on a budget here:
http://www.therangerstation.com/Magazine/Summer2003/LiftingOnABudget.htm

I was looking at a 1" from the front torsion, Lifting Shackles, 2" 4x4 blocks, and adding a leafspring. I'm a super newb so any advice would help. This is my first project and hopefully something i can one day call a prerunner.

#2 · (Edited)
...advice...
1. Keep searching and reading. Ranger Station and the Ford Truck Enthusiast forums are good places to start, so you're on the right track.
2. Don't upgrade a vehicle you still owe money on. It's not really yours until the title is in your name, and you never know what set of circumstances will take it from you.
3. Use whatever money you thought about putting into that Ranger into a different, older Ranger, or other Ford truck built as an off road only vehicle.
If you are just looking to put on a tire slightly larger than stock, this really isn't the place for you, because all the guys on here are into building hardcore offroad rigs, not Rangers with leveling kits and such. I know the budget and skill level isn't there for you yet, but my advice is figure out where you want to be SPECIFICALLY, not just "a pre-runner some day". Know what you want it to be, to do, and how you want it to be built, before you ever start. That means lots of research into parts, drivetrain and suspension setups, and most importantly, metal fabrication.
The best thing this forum has to offer is years of experience in building rigs, and you can RESEARCH what other people have done. Go through General 4x4 Tech and Ford Tech, and do your homework.