Pirate 4x4 banner

what to look for when buying psd?

792 views 7 replies 8 participants last post by  SHARPMACHINE 
#1 ·
I have some questions about what to look for when buying a used psd. im new to diesels but have always loved the look of the old body style.
I currently drive an older tacoma works great around town. I run a kayak business so I often pull a 1500lbs trailer and the tacoma handles that no problem. I also have a 21foot pontoon boat that my tacoma cant pull. so now im in the market for a new truck that can do both.
I was completely set on buying a 2005 tacoma v6 crew cab it will pull both but then I found this around the corner from me
1997 f250 crew cab psd auto 2wd 162k miles and the guy was originally asking 5300 but needs cash fast so i talked him down to 4500.00
he has only owned it for 2 years and says oil changes and fuel filters are every 5k but other than that hasn't done anything to the truck no idea of tranny rebuild or any previous work.
i checked for blow by and turbo color/play
so good deal? and what else should I look for? or should I just stay toyota and let you guys have all the diesel fun?
thanks for your help

#2 ·
Pull the air intake tube off of the turbo inlet and look at the turbo fins. The outside edges should be nearly square. If the edges of the fins are rounded off or look like they have been sand blasted, walk away. One of the biggest problems was injesting dirt. The dirt will cause the above conditions mentioned. It will also take out the middle cylinders. If this looks good and you believe him on the lof and fuel filters the engine should be ok. Good luck with the rest of the truck.

#3 · (Edited)