99 F250 No 4x4 Electrical problem - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Ford
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2011, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BdB5180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 109917
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 19
99 F250 No 4x4 Electrical problem

99 Super duty. When I turn the switch to engage the 4x4 no light no noise nothing happens. one wire has 4.5 volts on it at 2wd. 4 high has 2.2 volts on the same wire and 4 low has 1.1 volts on that wire. there is no other power at the switch. is this correct? Also is Fuse #15 the fuse for the 4x4 switch? There is no power on fuse 15 with the key on.
__________________
Junkyard Junkie
BdB5180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 07:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BdB5180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 109917
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 19
help!
__________________
Junkyard Junkie
BdB5180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-24-2011, 11:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46175
Location: Darien Center, NY
Posts: 3,432
Are you able to scan it?

Where in "upstate"?

I have never had the switch be the problem on a Ford.
__________________
USED and NEW 4x4 PARTS - (716) 984-8715 8-5pm EST
Specializing in Axles and Transfercases
Mh4Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 05:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BdB5180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 109917
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 19
the best I can do is have autozone read the codes. I'm near Elmira, NY. I don't think it's the switch. I think it's not getting power to the switch for some reason. I need a schematic or something to know which wires should have power on them and when.
__________________
Junkyard Junkie
BdB5180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Member # 46175
Location: Darien Center, NY
Posts: 3,432
You really do need to have it scanned with a good scanner. I am doubtful that Vatozone has the ability to read that module.

Alldatadiy.com is a great resource when you need documentation, and for 16.95 a year is well worth it.

I wouldn't waste any time until you scan it. When you turn the key to the run position, does the 4x4 light illuminate temporarily? This is referred to as "prove out" in diagnostic procedures. If it doesn't prove out, it is usually a sign that the module is missing a power or ground input.

The most common problems I see with the Superdutys in NY is corrosion at the high/low and low/high relays under the hood. They do the job of switching polarity to control the shift motor in each direction.

Too bad I am a few hours away, I fix this stuff all of the time.
__________________
USED and NEW 4x4 PARTS - (716) 984-8715 8-5pm EST
Specializing in Axles and Transfercases
Mh4Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.