Pirate 4x4 banner

Has something changed with Trailready wheels?

7K views 52 replies 18 participants last post by  busyfixin 
#1 ·
I've been running TR wheels since the early 2000s. I recently got a new set of the HD17s about a year ago and have been blowing inner beads like it is going out of style. Not exactly blowing the bead but burping air pretty regular until they are completely flat. Until now I can't even remember the last time I've burped or blown an inner bead. 43 SX tires. Others I ride with have older HD17s and 43 SXs and never burp. I'm about fed up.

I know there's plenty of tricks to do to prevent this, the thread is not about that. My point is I've never had the issue until recently. Anyone else experienced this?

#7 ·
you said this thread isnt about it but fwiw i run inner air locks to keep my 43s from burping on regular 17" steelies, the two times ive lost a inner tube ive encountered the same issue with mine constantly burping the inner bead. my 17s go on my 43s so easy i can literally mount the first half of the rim without using my hands, just stand on it using my feet. i tired running just the inner air locks and my first trip out spun the tire on the rim, had to add weld on outer bead lock to stop that. the interference on 17" 43s seems to be pretty loose ime

#8 ·
Interco, Pitbulls, and Maxxis will do this on most 17" single beadlocks at extremely low pressures unless you use the "duct tape trick". I run 3 layers of gorilla tape on my HD17s, and have not burped air on any tires since I started using it. I don't think TR changed anything; this has always been the case, just some folks never run 5# of air to find out (or they have a crappy gauge and "believe" the are running 5#).

Duct tape trick = Its cheap, easy, and works great.

#10 ·
The tire is known to be a nightmare with blowing beads a Low pressures