Turn signal wiring????? HELP! - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2006, 10:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27768
Location: Colorado
Posts: 114
Turn signal wiring????? HELP!

Iam trying to figure out how to hard wire some turn/stop/run lights on my buggy and its kickin my ass. I bought a turn flasher. Its a two prong. I dunno what is going on. If someone has a wiring diagram on how to make all of this work. I dont have the stock wiring from the vehicle. So i need to know how to make the stop, turn, and runnin lights work. I will go buy different flashers or whatever i have to. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Yota_Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2006, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21362
Location: ElDorado Hills
Posts: 416
And you need turn signals on your buggy,why?
__________________
[B]RIP Dave Halabuk[/B]


[QUOTE=Geargoyle]...As far as being flamed on the pirate board, it's kind of like having a homeless person call you a loser... [/QUOTE]
ryanxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-25-2006, 11:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27768
Location: Colorado
Posts: 114
i am planning on driving it on the street. So i am trying to make it street legal.(or close to)
Yota_Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 06:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
mtbrjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 36007
Location: TN
Posts: 3,571
Are you planning to use 1 bulb for the turn/brake or 2? It's much easier if you have seperate bulbs for the turn and brake but doable either way.
__________________
RuffstuffRaceline wheels
FSR fab & radiators
BFG tiresBattlement Fab
FT#48 build
"I wanna get me a truck and soop it up with some metal!" -Wingo
mtbrjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 06:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27768
Location: Colorado
Posts: 114
for the rear i have led combination stop/turn/run 3 wires coming out of the light.
Yota_Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 06:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
GREENEJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Member # 47248
Posts: 189
this is how I wired mine. Easy, no need for diodes.

double throw toggle switch
power to switch
one wire to each of (Two) blinker relays
one wire to each of (two) blinker lights
ground each blinker light

Just get a simple toggle mount it so it switches sideways, get two 2wire blinker falshers, get two seperate blinker amber lights.
__________________
No rig right now
GREENEJEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 07:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27768
Location: Colorado
Posts: 114
well i bought two flashers, they are two prong. I was going to use one on each side. But when i put the flasher inline with the power nothing happens. The turn signal just stays on. I just need a wiring diagram of what someone else has done and i will do that. so long as it works. thanks
Yota_Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 07:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Member # 2463
Location: Phoenix,az
Posts: 2,654
I know one of the poison spider bruisers up in moab a couple years ago had a simple 3 way momentary switch mounted by the driver that he used to flash the turn signals manually. Push the switch one way, one signal came on, the other way, it lit up the other one. When let go it returned to center-the off position. Simple and basic. If I ever needed to make a buggy street legal here in AZ, that's how I would do it. You need to remember to turn a switch off anyway to keep from looking like grandpa with his flasher always on, might as well make it automatic unless you really need it to flash.
pmurf1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 08:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Urban Wheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26369
Location: Luyben's Shop Of Horrors
Posts: 4,629
Blog Entries: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to Urban Wheeler
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota_Junkie
well i bought two flashers, they are two prong. I was going to use one on each side. But when i put the flasher inline with the power nothing happens. The turn signal just stays on. I just need a wiring diagram of what someone else has done and i will do that. so long as it works. thanks
Two prong falshers work with the separate stop and turn signals. You need a 3 prong flasher.

You will have to figure out which wires are what on your column, but here is a diagram I used on my truck.


http://www.film.queensu.ca/cj3b/phot...lstat/figa.gif

A PO installed a signal stat sigflare900, this is the diagram I used to hook it up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Proeliator View Post
Also, instead of mounting the nitrous bottle between the seats, I'd install a cheese toaster.
Urban Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 12:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27768
Location: Colorado
Posts: 114
hey thanks....thats all fine and dandy....but i dont have stock wiring. I am starting from scratch.
Yota_Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 01:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
bjb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 56602
Location: Sacramento/Elk Grove/Sloughouse
Posts: 987
you need a motorized flasher to flash only one blub. One bulb doesn't draw enough power to make a normal flasher work. You will also need a couple dtdp switches to make the brake lights work on the same curcit/filiment. I'd draw a diaagram but I don't know how to put it on the screen to you (yes I'm a computer idiot) Easyist (and cheapest) way is just get an aftermaket turn switch they are all over swap meets used.
bjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 03:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14455
Location: TOO DAMN COLD LAKE
Posts: 2,218


This is what I am using.

Grote part # 48272 - Turn Signal Switch

http://www.grote.com/cgi-bin/product...t_number=48272
__________________
[URL="http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=805235"]My new chassis build. 406SBC, 416 Mog axles, and 46's.[/URL]
Sapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 04:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
GREENEJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Member # 47248
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yota_Junkie
well i bought two flashers, they are two prong. I was going to use one on each side. But when i put the flasher inline with the power nothing happens. The turn signal just stays on. I just need a wiring diagram of what someone else has done and i will do that. so long as it works. thanks
The flasher you got is heavy duty, you dont want heavy duty. I will get you some part numbers tommoroow it's to dark out now. I will also take a pic for you if you havent got it done yet already.
__________________
No rig right now
GREENEJEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 06:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27768
Location: Colorado
Posts: 114
nope i havent gotten it done yet. I do appreciate any help. thanks again.
Yota_Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 06:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Urban Wheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26369
Location: Luyben's Shop Of Horrors
Posts: 4,629
Blog Entries: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to Urban Wheeler
Quote:
Originally Posted by GREENEJEEP
The flasher you got is heavy duty, you dont want heavy duty. I will get you some part numbers tommoroow it's to dark out now. I will also take a pic for you if you havent got it done yet already.
He needs the three prong flashers to use the combo stop/turn/tail lights he has.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Proeliator View Post
Also, instead of mounting the nitrous bottle between the seats, I'd install a cheese toaster.
Urban Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2006, 06:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Rock God
 
bronco75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Member # 8512
Location: Brookville Ohio
Posts: 1,116
Send a message via AIM to bronco75
a 2 wire flasher will work but it has to be of proper load rating and if your running LEDs lights it best to get one designed for LEDs
also are you planning to combine the turn signals and brake lamps on rear if so a aftermarket control as listed above is easiest also go to grotes site and search for flashers and you will find many different ones listed according to load and if its for LEDs
__________________
keep up or get left behind
75 bronco trail buggy
60-9 frt build up thread

OutBack Auto 4WD and Fab
MV4W.com
bronco75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 05:25 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27768
Location: Colorado
Posts: 114
what about the electronic flashers? Will they do the job?
Yota_Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.