Pirate 4x4 banner

Rock Lights...what and where?

3K views 40 replies 28 participants last post by  hip 
#1 ·
My first trip to the con in the new rig will be a night run, hope to get to Spider by midnight. I wanted to put on some basic rock lights. What type of lights work best? Where are yours mounted? Where are they aimed? Pics!!! Thanks.

#3 ·
I've got two in front pointing right in front of the tires, two right in the middle pointing down and out (between the frame and the nerfs) and two pointing a couple of feet behind and out side the rear tires. I work as a dinner cook so most of my playing is at night and this set-up kicks ass. It's nice to see EVERY THING!

#4 ·
I use the standard tractor lights that can be found at napa for about 9.99 each and they work well for me. I currently have a set mounted directly under the cab and and one on the back, this set up works ok.

#5 ·
I also use the tractor floods in the rubber housing...cheap and easy to install. I've got four total, two are above the rear solid mount spring hangers and two are just ahead of the front axle.

Also great for night-time repair needs...heh heh

#7 ·
Scout Dude said:

Yeah, I buy small driving lights from Walmart. they are about 1/4 of the size of the tractor lights and put out probably twice as much light. They are ~$14/set (2). Look for an orange or clear box in the auto section.
Scout are those water tight? The cheapo ones I had were filling with water and getting fawked.

Chevy Girl what Napa has the tractor lights for $9.99? Cheapest I've seen is $18.

#8 ·
Scout Dude said:

Ummm, probably not...But I haven't tried yet. I'm not a big fan of water crossings.

I know that the Napa/ Reibes on Auburn blvd here in Citrus Heights has the tractor ones for $10/ea.

Ummmm ok, thanks. I guess I sould have said "kinda" watertight ,it's not like I'm building a submarine.