under hood wiring (ecu also) in buggy pics needed please - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2009, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 62903
Location: Mich
Posts: 578
Send a message via AIM to prostock3
under hood wiring (ecu also) in buggy pics needed please

im wiring up my buggy and i need some pics for ideas of where to put my ECU, and how you guys did your wiring to make it look not so hacked up. I want to keep it realyl clean and simply but cant figure out a nice way to mount my ecu. Its a chevy LS1 ecu. Thanks for the help
__________________
2009 Twisted Customs buggy (sold :C) -----2001 Donzi 38zx -----2004 Duramax 2500 CC
prostock3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 04:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
carter3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 63680
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 237
Put the ECU under the dash. As for as the wiring hook everything up at the engine. Strip all the wire loom off and work your way back to the ECU. Cut all the wires to length and solder back together and heat shrink(one at the time).

It takes a long time but it comes out very clean.
carter3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-19-2009, 05:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
BigWoodyWag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26468
Location: Houston, Tejas
Posts: 4,635
Send a message via AIM to BigWoodyWag
Sorry no pics, but my chassis is very similiar to the TC's (Rich Schmaus SP? built). The ECU on mine was bolted on a plate on the top of the truck intake all the way to the back by the dash bar. I flipped it over, and drilled the fins on either side and bolted it through the fins on the back of the truck intake.

The ECU upsidedown seems like it was made to fit on the back of the intake like that, I dunno, but it works so far for me.

It dropped the height at the back of the hood by 3". I would have liked to have mounted over above the footwells (eitherside) but there just isnt enough harness to stretch that far.
__________________
Triple Nickel Racing, & TGTW Lemons Racing
Betty the Unicorn Build Thread
BigWoodyWag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 06:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Member # 14455
Location: TOO DAMN COLD LAKE
Posts: 2,230
I did the wiring for this truggy. I relocated the ECU to the top plate. I had to lenghted the wiring harness.

http://www.evolutionmachine.com/inde...8&hl=dash+help

It was a holley projection ECU. I also mounted the MSD ignition modual, and Nitrous window switch all on the roof panel.
__________________
[URL="http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=805235"]My new chassis build. 406SBC, 416 Mog axles, and 46's.[/URL]
Sapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 08:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 62903
Location: Mich
Posts: 578
Send a message via AIM to prostock3
thanks, i would like to do something like under the intake in the middle but i put my oil filter there
__________________
2009 Twisted Customs buggy (sold :C) -----2001 Donzi 38zx -----2004 Duramax 2500 CC
prostock3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 07:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 62903
Location: Mich
Posts: 578
Send a message via AIM to prostock3
Anyone else?
__________________
2009 Twisted Customs buggy (sold :C) -----2001 Donzi 38zx -----2004 Duramax 2500 CC
prostock3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 09:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Member # 101932
Location: Harrison, AR
Posts: 318
Here is mine,
Street legal LS1 Bluetorch Buggy
12 volt guy switch panel, self canceling turn signals on timers, hazard flashers, running lights, brake lights, horn, high low beams, computer is mounted in a modified factory plastic bracket from a Vette.

Most everything is on relays one fuse block for the engine another for everything else.

Gauges and Switches


Headlights with LED turnsignals

Fan Wiring

Last edited by harrison; 02-20-2009 at 10:04 AM.
harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 10:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Rhyming & Stealing
 
bigdaddylee82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54666
Location: The Natural State
Posts: 617
Headlights with LED turnsignals



That's pretty slick. Are those moded stocker TJ lights, or did you do that your self? Links/info please.

- Lee
bigdaddylee82 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 10:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
harrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Member # 101932
Location: Harrison, AR
Posts: 318
The lights are made by a company called Autonik that sells to the streetrod crowd you can find knockoffs on ebay for a lot less money but most of them are not LED. You also have to do a little cutting on the TJ buckets to make them fit.
harrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.