Post your Wiring tricks - Page 9 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2010, 07:01 PM   #201 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Member # 127462
Location: Lucerne valley california
Posts: 510
any one using manuel reset switch styel circut breackers? can thay be used to elimenate toggle switch, relay, and fuse?
__________________
CampRock Fabrication and Mechanical
PSYCHOFAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 08:58 PM   #202 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Member # 135096
Location: Alabama
Posts: 116
For those using Deutsch connectors here is a alternative to the $400 crimpers.


Link (http://shop.willyselectronics.com/br...g-/4,1200.html)
Cat037 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-19-2010, 09:34 PM   #203 (permalink)
I break things
 
89breaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 64213
Location: Around
Posts: 2,050
For those not in the know.

Performance Plus and Wrangler Northwest Power has some great auto electrical products.
89breaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 12:40 AM   #204 (permalink)
Registered User
 
uglytoytruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162602
Location: whitefish
Posts: 3
twist tail zip ties are handy also, they eliminate the need for dykes
uglytoytruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 04:14 PM   #205 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Member # 33991
Posts: 335
One tip I picked up while working on modifying my 5.3 factory harness and should work with most factory harnesses or taped harnesses. Pick up a 2$ seam ripper at wal-mart or steal one from the wife. They slice through the tape quite nicely and are reasonably safe for the wire covering.




Another trick is using an old 4x8 sheet of plywood and some screws to help layout your harnesses.

Grab a section of factory harness with matching colors from the Junkyard to extend your factory harness with the proper color wiring. Same gauge and color helps when searching for problems.

Last edited by lilgreenjeepyj; 07-13-2010 at 04:17 PM.
lilgreenjeepyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 04:40 PM   #206 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Rock Taxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5108
Location: Lakewood, TX
Posts: 1,485
Send a message via AIM to Rock Taxi
I am a big fan of marine switch panels rather than mounting switches individually in a dash.



Ed
__________________
A Black Sheep
[url]http://www.blacksheep4x4.com[/url]
[url]http://www.rocktaxi.com[/url]

81 FJ40, LS2, 4L65E, Atlas 4.3, 4 link, Sunray Sun60 front and 9" rear, 42" IROK's and TWICE THE RICE!!
Rock Taxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 05:03 PM   #207 (permalink)
Rock God
 
rockcrawln's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Member # 30586
Location: Redwood Valley, CA
Posts: 1,258


I bought one of these for rewiring my dash. It works great. I have a few different sizes of label with different background colors depending on what I am doing. The labels are laminated so you can't rub the text off.
rockcrawln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 10:10 PM   #208 (permalink)
I break things
 
89breaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 64213
Location: Around
Posts: 2,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSYCHOFAB View Post
any one using manuel reset switch styel circut breackers? can thay be used to elimenate toggle switch, relay, and fuse?
I have a manual circuit breaker but it is a kill switch for all my auxillaries and it is big (4 in by 4 in +/-).

The big picture is this...

You don't want that on all your various components and that is why you use a relay and toggle as it not only breaks down the juice but also allows an orderly organization.
89breaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 02:24 PM   #209 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 56427
Posts: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSYCHOFAB View Post
any one using manuel reset switch styel circut breackers? can thay be used to elimenate toggle switch, relay, and fuse?
We use solid state relays that also provide overload protection. Just switch off and back on to reset. Don't replace everything but do get rid of the fuses.

Cheaper than good quality pop up circuit breakers and much better vibration resistance.

Tim
__________________
Build thread [url]http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=790383[/url]
tim90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 05:31 PM   #210 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21100
Posts: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim90 View Post
We use solid state relays that also provide overload protection. Just switch off and back on to reset. Don't replace everything but do get rid of the fuses.

Cheaper than good quality pop up circuit breakers and much better vibration resistance.

Tim
link?
__________________
RIP Art Lilley "dulce bellum inexpertis"
RIP Kayla Armstrong "Recordatus valida Speciosa"
Bondage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 07:30 PM   #211 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Bogie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Member # 68086
Location: Queens,NY
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Bogie Send a message via MSN to Bogie Send a message via Yahoo to Bogie
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6869704x4 View Post
Pic of string and zips.
O the memories, As a A&P guy in a former life I do not miss the all white wires

As I now have become the go to guy for electrical needs of all my buddy's I have a few tricks to add.

To get a drag line through any type of tubing tie a section of plastic bag to the end and use a shop vac on the other.

Get quality tools & supplies I know it's been said so far but I use Ancor crimpers in the ratcheting form both Double crimp for insulated terminals and single foe those with built in heat shrink.

A few other sources for electrical components that I use

Wayteck Wire - Everything Electrical

PSC Connectors Packard connectors for Factory Bulkhead # 56

OTRATTW - Custom Switches

Wrangler NW - Dual Battery Stuff (download the catalog) lots of stuff not on web

4x4 Mods - More Custom Rocker Switches

Cole Hersee - About any type of switch, relay one could need
__________________
1984 Dodge W350 Crew Cab 360/435 9" Lift 37" SSR's
1994 Grand Cherokee Dead Stock 4.0
Bogie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 08:16 PM   #212 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Madzooki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member # 13569
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 817
Send a message via AIM to Madzooki Send a message via Yahoo to Madzooki
Quote:
Originally Posted by One Big Zuk View Post
This is the best tool to help with wiring I own a shop and use it 2 to 3 times a week. Makes me not want to punch stuff when working with f-up wiring. The best part is you don't have to use jumpers or a test light that you are never sure has a good ground.
http://www.powerprobe.com/powerprobe/PP3.html

I use my power probe at least 5 times a day. It has by far made me the most money out of all of the tools that I own.

Paul
__________________
"If it doesn't fit, get a bigger hammer"
Madzooki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:07 PM   #213 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18650
Location: Arizona
Posts: 878
Send a message via AIM to chadjans
I know an old post. But for those working with an existing OE wire harness and fuse box, has anyone used the plug and play manual reset circuit breakers that fit in fuse slots?

http://www.delcity.net/store/Low-Pro...s/p_795453.a_1

http://order.waytekwire.com/products...t%20Protection

Last edited by chadjans; 09-20-2010 at 07:08 PM.
chadjans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:50 PM   #214 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5110
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,674
I have never heard much good about them. They are longer and heavier than a normal fuse and vibrate making the contacts loose in the fuse box.
__________________
Link to thread on my calculator http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=204893
Triaged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 09:01 PM   #215 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Member # 16680
Location: Rocklin
Posts: 3,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by R290 View Post
Thats works on ph wire, but when you have some 14 ga wire, I tin both ends and use pliers to make a "c" on each end and then crimp them together and solder. one more tip. I used a bit of super 33 electrical tape first and then the heat shrink wrap. Provides an extra thick insulation.
can you explain this please? whats tinning the ends? I have a hell of a time soldering wires.
__________________
94 Mall Rated Bronco-R.I.P.
1961 Scout 80 stretched and linked
wt4x4.com

PM me for CPR/First Aid Instruction for you club
plug ugly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 09:29 PM   #216 (permalink)
Rock God
 
bigun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member # 29037
Location: Mountainair NM
Posts: 1,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by plug ugly View Post
can you explain this please? whats tinning the ends? I have a hell of a time soldering wires.
Tinning means to heat the wire up to the point that solder will flow in and fill the gaps in the wire
__________________
“I will not be wronged, I will not be insulted and I will not be laid a hand on. John Wayne “The Shootist.”
bigun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 05:59 AM   #217 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Member # 21282
Location: Troy, MO
Posts: 3,451
saw this box in a 95 grand cherokee at a yard yesterday



I'd like to find one for my buggy (one was broke)
__________________
Team RockWild!

Recommended Stuff: InnerAirlock - TrailerGuy

Last edited by 91blaze; 12-24-2010 at 06:00 AM.
91blaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 06:44 PM   #218 (permalink)
0[III]O
 
Redfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member # 132064
Location: Pa
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by NUTTY4X4 View Post
just a quick thought for connections to prevent corrosion is dielectric grease
I cant believe this wasnt brought up ALOT earlier in the thread. I use dielectric on EVERY connection I touch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by plug ugly View Post
can you explain this please? whats tinning the ends? I have a hell of a time soldering wires.
When soldering, it is imparative to use flux. Also heat the conductors 180* from where you touch the solder to the connection. It will then flow through the whole joint.

When im soldering two stranded conductors together I untwist the conductors and slide them into each other. You can then retwist the two conductors and solder. If done correctly the splice will only have minimal diameter increase than rest of wire.
__________________
BUY MY
Toy/Lexus 3.0 clutch...http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...222&highlight=
Bendix Tuflo compressor http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/misc-...ompressor.html

I NEED
Cadillac 425 rear sump pan
Redfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 08:26 PM   #219 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18650
Location: Arizona
Posts: 878
Send a message via AIM to chadjans
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redfin View Post
I cant believe this wasnt brought up ALOT earlier in the thread. I use dielectric on EVERY connection I touch.
Probably because it is non conductive.

Good info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silicone_grease
chadjans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 09:04 AM   #220 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4878
Location: Bremerton, WA
Posts: 7,654
Send a message via ICQ to Travis Waldher Send a message via MSN to Travis Waldher Send a message via Yahoo to Travis Waldher
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadjans View Post
Probably because it is non conductive.

Good info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silicone_grease
Which is why I pack all my electrical connections full of it, including spark plug wires.

Keeps the water out.
Travis Waldher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 12:41 PM   #221 (permalink)
0[III]O
 
Redfin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member # 132064
Location: Pa
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadjans View Post
Probably because it is non conductive.

Good info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silicone_grease
You are correct. On the other hand I use the dielectric as it was intended. To shield the connecton from external contaminants and moisture. Take two butt splices and coat one with dielectric and one without. Drop them in a glass of water. Check your resistance across the connection after a few days.

On a side note. If you would like to maintain or improve the electrical properties of a connection try this stuff:
http://www.crcindustries.com/faxdocs/tchdta/101.pdf
__________________
BUY MY
Toy/Lexus 3.0 clutch...http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...222&highlight=
Bendix Tuflo compressor http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/misc-...ompressor.html

I NEED
Cadillac 425 rear sump pan
Redfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 01:25 PM   #222 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Rock Taxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5108
Location: Lakewood, TX
Posts: 1,485
Send a message via AIM to Rock Taxi
Used these folks this week.

GREAT vendor.

http://www.otrattw.com/index.php - Custom Switches

Ed
__________________
A Black Sheep
[url]http://www.blacksheep4x4.com[/url]
[url]http://www.rocktaxi.com[/url]

81 FJ40, LS2, 4L65E, Atlas 4.3, 4 link, Sunray Sun60 front and 9" rear, 42" IROK's and TWICE THE RICE!!

Last edited by Rock Taxi; 12-27-2010 at 01:26 PM.
Rock Taxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 11:53 AM   #223 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18528
Location: Everywhere, SC
Posts: 467
Send a message via AIM to BenMara
http://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-el...ef-lesson.html
__________________
Function before Fashion
BenMara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 03:57 PM   #224 (permalink)
Registered User
 
michigander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 8402
Location: Meeechigan
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSYCHOFAB View Post
any one using manuel reset switch styel circut breackers? can thay be used to elimenate toggle switch, relay, and fuse?
bump, anyone know where to buy these? I know they are pricy, but I'm having a tough time finding them.

Here is the ONLY place I can currently find them

http://www.dansperformanceparts.com/...buggyelec6.htm

Toggle Switch/Circuit Breaker Combo

These toggle switch with built-in circuit breaker utilizes the hydraulic magnetic principle which provides precise operation & performance even when exposed to extreme hot or cold environments (-40F to +185F) and endurance up to 10,000 cycles. 10-32 screw terminals & bus bar compatible. Available up to 50 amps.

Great product, not sure that I want to swing $43 a switch though.
michigander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 05:45 PM   #225 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 87146
Posts: 27
Not sure on a good source for the breaker switch you posted, you might want to try the manufacturer directly though to see if you can order direct or if they could reccommend another possibly cheaper vender.

http://www.k-four.net/Product.aspx?pid=251

Another option would be the W31 series Tyco toggle breaker. They can be found for around $25 a pop; used in a lot of small aircraft and frequently used in budget friendly offroad race vehicle applications. It's sister breaker, the W23, is the non switched push/pull version of the same piece.



If you're feeling spendy, the 7270-1 Klixon toggle breakers are the top shelf MIL spec trophy truck money is no object answer to what you're looking for... only downfall is their $80ish a pop price tag.

copieddemise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.