First aid on the trail, how much training? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > General 4x4 Discussion
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2010, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 166763
First aid on the trail, how much training?

hey all, I've been wheeling for a few years and have seen a fair amount of roll overs. Luckily no one was majorly hurt but seeing a roll over this past weekend got me thinking, how much first aid knowledge should one have?
I want to take a basic first aid class, but should I stop there? I want to be as best prepared for what ever happens on the trail and I know I don't need to be a full on doctor but it seems like the basics might not be enough. Besides a well stocked medical supply bag, what do you all think or do?
SurfnSnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2010, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
No comment

Member # 4
Send a message via Yahoo to camo
A basic first aid course and CPR is a great start. Being a former EMT has come in handy more times then I care to admit, both on the trail and just out and about. Knowing how to keep your buddies alive out in a remora area is a handy skill to have.
camo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-19-2010, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 27712
If you know what you're doing, a well stocked bag might help. It doesn't matter if you're a nobody or a doctor...if you don't have access to the equipment it's not going to matter.

Most of the time on the trail, you'll only run into minor injuries. Small-medium cuts, abrasions, and maybe a sprained ankle or two. That's really the jist of what most can handle. As far as big cuts or broken bones, learn how to slow the bleeding, stabilize, and have a way to get some advanced help. In the case of a head/neck injury, spinal immobiliation is great, but it's difficult with limited equipment (no back board/collar).