HP Pavililion g7-1222nr computer(Any Good) - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2011, 10:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37519
Location: here
Posts: 1,266
HP Pavililion g7-1222nr computer(Any Good)

The Specs are
17.3" HD+BrightView LED Display
320GB Hard Drive
2048MB DDR3RAM
WLAN
DVD Optical Drive
AMD Dual-CoreProcessor E-450
1.65 GHz
Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)

SRS Premium Sound
Radeon Graphics
E2 Vision AMD
Dual Core and AMD Radeon Graphics

So is this a decent CPU or what ?
Opinions ?
__________________
[COLOR="Black"]..............[/COLOR]//)
[COLOR="Black"]............[/COLOR],/../
[COLOR="Black"]...........[/COLOR]/..../
[COLOR="Black"].....[/COLOR]//'...'/`
[COLOR="Black"]..[/COLOR]/'/.../..../......./\
[COLOR="Black"].[/COLOR]('(.......... ~/'...')
[COLOR="Black"]....[/COLOR]\.................'...../
[COLOR="Black"]......[/COLOR]''...\.......... _.
[COLOR="Black"].......[/COLOR]\..............(
[COLOR="Black"].........[/COLOR]\.............\
mudslinger99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 12:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1515
Location: Lake Arrowhead, Ca
Posts: 7,982
Send a message via AIM to Po' riggity Send a message via Yahoo to Po' riggity
It's decent, but the 1.65 ghz is lagging a bit.. price??
__________________
Black Star Status!
Po' riggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 12:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
salt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member # 29728
Location: i'm here now...
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Po' riggity View Post
It's decent, but the 1.65 ghz is lagging a bit.. price??
^^^ This. And you will want to double the RAM. If the price is under $400 go for it and don't look back
__________________
'48 cj2a SN#208638
salt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 12:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37519
Location: here
Posts: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Po' riggity View Post
It's decent, but the 1.65 ghz is lagging a bit.. price??
Quote:
Originally Posted by salt View Post
^^^ This. And you will want to double the RAM. If the price is under $400 go for it and don't look back
I think it was just over $400 last friday at a Black Friday sale.. I neded a new cpu cause mine is an antique (Windows Millenium) My XP unit broke so I had to have something

But I did some trading and got less than that that in it and it actually plays videos unlike Millenium haha.. I was just curious if it was a decent unit or not..It will be mainly used for internet, listening to music and burning cd's and such..

I don't really know a whole lot about cpu's except how to browse forums and find porn So, the "1.65 GHz that's lagging" what will that do ? Make it run slower or what ? How would I go about fixing it if possable ?

Thanks
__________________
[COLOR="Black"]..............[/COLOR]//)
[COLOR="Black"]............[/COLOR],/../
[COLOR="Black"]...........[/COLOR]/..../
[COLOR="Black"].....[/COLOR]//'...'/`
[COLOR="Black"]..[/COLOR]/'/.../..../......./\
[COLOR="Black"].[/COLOR]('(.......... ~/'...')
[COLOR="Black"]....[/COLOR]\.................'...../
[COLOR="Black"]......[/COLOR]''...\.......... _.
[COLOR="Black"].......[/COLOR]\..............(
[COLOR="Black"].........[/COLOR]\.............\
mudslinger99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 5,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudslinger99 View Post
I think it was just over $400 last friday at a Black Friday sale.. I neded a new cpu cause mine is an antique (Windows Millenium) My XP unit broke so I had to have something

But I did some trading and got less than that that in it and it actually plays videos unlike Millenium haha.. I was just curious if it was a decent unit or not..It will be mainly used for internet, listening to music and burning cd's and such..

I don't really know a whole lot about cpu's except how to browse forums and find porn So, the "1.65 GHz that's lagging" what will that do ? Make it run slower or what ? How would I go about fixing it if possable ?

Thanks
that's the CPU speed. Unles you're doing a ton of video editing or something with tons of maths don't wory about it.
Besides, most of that stuff is now offloading onto the vidoe section, same with video and flash playback. If it's an AMD vision machine it's got some form of ATI Radeon HD in it.

Definitely stuff some more ram into it. That's the single biggest thing you can do on the cheap and easy.

Win 7 likes 4 GB of ram. If it's 32bit it will only see 3.5.
__________________
ko derf

Last edited by 87manche; 12-02-2011 at 01:00 PM.
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 01:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
85f150dsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43079
Location: The Mitten...bible thumping heartland
Posts: 1,061
Screw that, I would want at least 2Ghz. We have a few laptops at work under 2Ghz and they are dogs.
__________________
smileysarmory.com
85f150dsel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 01:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 5,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by 85f150dsel View Post
Screw that, I would want at least 2Ghz. We have a few laptops at work under 2Ghz and they are dogs.
sigh.

clock speed does not always mean it sucks.

The E-series was designed to be low wattage. The E-450 has a max TDW of 18W. That's the amount of heat a night light puts out.

The pros:
long battery life and reliability
the cons, it's a touch slower.

It was a $400 laptop, what do you expect, i5 performance?

and no, you won't be changing the CPU, because the E-series is the FT1 BGA socket, and is currently the fastest offering AMD has.

The plus is that it does have a full UVD3 decoding section on the HD 6xxx whatever built in, so video decoding and flash and HTML5 will be just fine. So if you're using it to surf the web and the lie it will be ust fine.

Unless you're doing massive video/photo editing or CAD work it will do the job.

FWIW the e450/radeon combo scores higher than the Intel HD graphics with a dual core Pentium that uses twice as much electricity and is 300 MHz faster.

http://laptoping.com/amd-e-450-amd-r...enchmarks.html
__________________
ko derf
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 05:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37519
Location: here
Posts: 1,266
So, I guess all said and done it's a decent laptop that will work fine for what I use it for ?

I have only been on it a couple times so far and it seems to do ok..Hell it's got to be light years ahead of this old boat anchor that is so outdated it won't play videos or Frostwire

Thanks for the info.
__________________
[COLOR="Black"]..............[/COLOR]//)
[COLOR="Black"]............[/COLOR],/../
[COLOR="Black"]...........[/COLOR]/..../
[COLOR="Black"].....[/COLOR]//'...'/`
[COLOR="Black"]..[/COLOR]/'/.../..../......./\
[COLOR="Black"].[/COLOR]('(.......... ~/'...')
[COLOR="Black"]....[/COLOR]\.................'...../
[COLOR="Black"]......[/COLOR]''...\.......... _.
[COLOR="Black"].......[/COLOR]\..............(
[COLOR="Black"].........[/COLOR]\.............\
mudslinger99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 09:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3455
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 933
Send a message via ICQ to MoonDog
In my (I'll admit limited) experiance, HP is a brand you buy for the price, not the quality.

*edit* is this a laptop? I'd buy something of a decent brand name 1-2yrs old off craigslist for the same price before I'd buy a new HP laptop.
__________________
'84 Toyota HooptieRunner

Last edited by MoonDog; 12-02-2011 at 09:48 PM.
MoonDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
85f150dsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43079
Location: The Mitten...bible thumping heartland
Posts: 1,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87manche View Post
It was a $400 laptop, what do you expect, i5 performance?
Yes, right now you can find C2D's, i3, i5's, and some low i7s in that range if you look.

I'll invest in a CPU since it is the backbone so that I can keep the laptop for a longer period. I can upgrade the rest. The laptops we have at that speed do not browse heavy picture sites, it brings them to a crawl.


At this time of the year, you can find a better machine for that price.
__________________
smileysarmory.com
85f150dsel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 06:31 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10808
Location: Layton, UT
Posts: 1,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoonDog View Post
In my (I'll admit limited) experiance, HP is a brand you buy for the price, not the quality.

.
That's ALL of them these days unless you shell out the $$$ for a Mac.
__________________
Blah blah blah
1RUSTYRIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 06:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 5,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by 85f150dsel View Post
Yes, right now you can find C2D's, i3, i5's, and some low i7s in that range if you look.

I'll invest in a CPU since it is the backbone so that I can keep the laptop for a longer period. I can upgrade the rest. The laptops we have at that speed do not browse heavy picture sites, it brings them to a crawl.


At this time of the year, you can find a better machine for that price.
is the CPU really the backbone anymore?

most video encoding is offloaded to the video section now adays.
flash and 90% of the web content that streams is handled by the video.

anyway, none of those processors you listed are low wattage, maybe he'd rather have 4-6 hours of battery life.

anyway, if it does what he wants, it was a good deal. Stuff another 2GB of ram in it to appease windows 7 and be happy.
__________________
ko derf
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 08:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
85f150dsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43079
Location: The Mitten...bible thumping heartland
Posts: 1,061
There are processors in that lineup that were marketed for low wattage






Quote:
Originally Posted by 1RUSTYRIG View Post
That's ALL of them these days unless you shell out the $$$ for a Mac.
Or a business laptop. The ones we repair most though are consumer laptops with nvidia graphics.
__________________
smileysarmory.com
85f150dsel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 05:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3455
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 933
Send a message via ICQ to MoonDog
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1RUSTYRIG View Post
That's ALL of them these days unless you shell out the $$$ for a Mac.
I dunno, I think the internals of some are better than others. When I fix Dell/Lenovo/Asus it's usually physical damage caused by the user. HP/Compaq/Acer/Gateway seems to have a higher incidence of bad motherboards and failed cheap hard drives.

And for the record I do like mac.
__________________
'84 Toyota HooptieRunner

Last edited by MoonDog; 12-04-2011 at 05:50 PM.
MoonDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.