someone help me out: VPN, trillian, and frustrations... - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2003, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
DRM
Super Moderator
 
DRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 8
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 35,577
Blog Entries: 1
someone help me out: VPN, trillian, and frustrations...

Here's the deal.

I am trying to set up a VPN connection on a laptop for my wife to connect to work from home. I have set these up about a million times, but I have hit a snag.

It seems that any conputer running - or have run - the trillian chat client somehow screws with the settings. The VPN connection is still made, but the terminal emulator just can't see the IP of the server.

Now I had trillian on a PC here at home, and went through deleting Trillian, the terminal emulator, and the VPN connections, then reinstalled the emulator and VPN and somehow I got it to work again. I have tried the same thing on this laptop but I must be missing a file somewhere from trillian that is still causing problems.

I tried trillian's message boards and got ZERO help there.

FYI: once the VPN connection is made on the laptop, you can't even ping the server IP - it times out (whereas it should see it).


If ANYONE out there can help me out here, you have no clue how much I would appreciate it. Or, if you could direct me somewhere or to someone specifically who could help me solve this - I would thank you SOOOOOOOO much!

Anyone?
__________________
>David
> 4x4Spot.com
>It only hurts the first time you agree with me...
>"A little nonsense now and then is cherished by the wisest men."
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
DRM
Super Moderator
 
DRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 8
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 35,577
Blog Entries: 1
come on.... anyone?
__________________
>David
> 4x4Spot.com
>It only hurts the first time you agree with me...
>"A little nonsense now and then is cherished by the wisest men."
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Member # 8940
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 421
Send a message via AIM to reorx
You're saying that you cannot ping ANY address once the connection is up? Did trillian mess with your DNS settings (ie added their own servers, etc)

What OS are you running? You may have to delete and re-add the TCPIP stack to start with a fresh config.
__________________
Dave Perry
84 FJ60 SOA, TBI 2F, SM465+split-case, 36 IROKs, locked F/R (For Sale)
reorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 07:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
DRM
Super Moderator
 
DRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 8
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 35,577
Blog Entries: 1
Good question...

Operating system is XP Pro.

Looks like when connecting to VPN, I can't get on web sites either. So maybe I am just missing a setting in the VPN connection on XP.

Even so, I know for a fact it is Trillian related, as it hapened to this laptop here (the one I am on now, not the one I am working on as described above) and I still haven't fixed this one yet since I want to keep Trillian.
__________________
>David
> 4x4Spot.com
>It only hurts the first time you agree with me...
>"A little nonsense now and then is cherished by the wisest men."
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mo
Everyday is Tuesday.
 
Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 47
Location: Lizzy, CO
Posts: 15,754
[reaching for straw]

did you check your hosts file?
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
DRM
Super Moderator
 
DRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 8
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 35,577
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by Mo
[reaching for straw]

did you check your hosts file?
explain...
__________________
>David
> 4x4Spot.com
>It only hurts the first time you agree with me...
>"A little nonsense now and then is cherished by the wisest men."
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mo
Everyday is Tuesday.
 
Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 47
Location: Lizzy, CO
Posts: 15,754
this file tells your computer where to look for specific addresses.

Just wondering if it's possible that something in the trillian setup added a host file or entry that misdirected stuff.




like I said, I was reaching for straws...
Mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 08:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hophead
 
Joe_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4829
Location: Leander, Tx
Posts: 8,427
Send a message via AIM to Joe_W
I'm experiencing deja vu.....didn't you have this problem months ago????
__________________
Sure, there are 49 other states in the Union, but they are smaller, wussier, and the people talk funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddin
The vagina doubles as a neat little fanny pack.
Joe_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 08:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
DRM
Super Moderator
 
DRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 8
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 35,577
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by Joe_W
I'm experiencing deja vu.....didn't you have this problem months ago????
Yes, but I don;t recall someone "fixing" it then... do you recall someone knew how to fix the problem?


I fixed one PC - running Win98, and bascialy I was able to delete the VPN connection, trillian, AIM, and the terminal emulator and start over fresh.

Seems that XP is not as easy to "clean up" as 98 was.


Obviously I am missing some setting or file that is blocking IP address access...

Note that the problem only shows up while the VPN is connected. Disconnect the VPN and you can access IP addresses just fine.
__________________
>David
> 4x4Spot.com
>It only hurts the first time you agree with me...
>"A little nonsense now and then is cherished by the wisest men."
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 08:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hophead
 
Joe_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4829
Location: Leander, Tx
Posts: 8,427
Send a message via AIM to Joe_W
Quote:
Originally posted by DRM


Yes, but I don;t recall someone "fixing" it then... do you recall someone knew how to fix the problem?

Unfortunately I don't...sorry.

You just flipped me out..I read the post and thought wtf, is this an old thread? (even checked date )


FWIW I have trillian running on a home network through a corporate VPN just fine...just sucks to be you
__________________
Sure, there are 49 other states in the Union, but they are smaller, wussier, and the people talk funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddin
The vagina doubles as a neat little fanny pack.
Joe_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 08:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 8435
Location: East TN
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via AIM to rkcrawl
David -

By "see" I assume you mean you can ping a particular IP address?

Have you looked at the route table when the VPN is connected VS disconnected? Or the IP config when your VPN is connected vs disconnected?

Open a dos command box, and run route print connected/disconnected and the same with ipconfig. Lets see what we get data wise and go from there. Trillian blocking access to IPs when using VPNs doesn't make any sense.

Jim
__________________
.
rkcrawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 08:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Member # 8940
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 421
Send a message via AIM to reorx
Hmm, I don't have much experience with XP myself... I've been running win2k on my home machines and just got my XP box at work (upgraded from NT 4.0 ).

I do run VPN into my work from my home machine, but the setup was rather iffy. Make sure there is not a service running which is listening on the return ports you need to be communicating on. This is where its great to have a linux box which can act as a diagnostic to see where the packets are going. Maybe XP has some network monitors which can show you whats happening?

Sorry I can't help more...
__________________
Dave Perry
84 FJ60 SOA, TBI 2F, SM465+split-case, 36 IROKs, locked F/R (For Sale)

Last edited by reorx; 01-15-2003 at 08:51 PM.
reorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2003, 09:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
DRM
Super Moderator
 
DRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 8
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 35,577
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by rkcrawl
David -

By "see" I assume you mean you can ping a particular IP address?

Have you looked at the route table when the VPN is connected VS disconnected? Or the IP config when your VPN is connected vs disconnected?

Open a dos command box, and run route print connected/disconnected and the same with ipconfig. Lets see what we get data wise and go from there. Trillian blocking access to IPs when using VPNs doesn't make any sense.

Jim
see = ping

route table? I don;t have a clue.

connected/disconnected? lost me there too...
__________________
>David
> 4x4Spot.com
>It only hurts the first time you agree with me...
>"A little nonsense now and then is cherished by the wisest men."
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 12:19 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5869
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 4,490
Send a message via AIM to Rerard Send a message via Yahoo to Rerard
Dude... here is my three step plan that fixes any computer problem GUARENTEED!!



1. reinstall software (if this doesnt work go to step 2)
2. format (if this doesnt work go to step 3)
3. buy new computer


works every time
Rerard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 06:06 AM   #15 (permalink)
DRM
Super Moderator
 
DRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 8
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 35,577
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by Rerard
Dude... here is my three step plan that fixes any computer problem GUARENTEED!!



1. reinstall software (if this doesnt work go to step 2)
2. format (if this doesnt work go to step 3)
3. buy new computer


works every time
Thanks, but no-thanks
__________________
>David
> 4x4Spot.com
>It only hurts the first time you agree with me...
>"A little nonsense now and then is cherished by the wisest men."
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 07:12 AM   #16 (permalink)
OFFLINE
 
MattS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 386
Location: Omaha, NE USA
Posts: 14,768
Send a message via ICQ to MattS
Quote:
Originally posted by DRM


see = ping

route table? I don;t have a clue.

connected/disconnected? lost me there too...
He means open a command prompt (DOS) window and type: route print

This will show you the active routes. I know next to nothing about VPN's. They are a total pain in the ass.
MattS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 07:56 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 8435
Location: East TN
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via AIM to rkcrawl
David -

Open (as Matt S said) a DOS command box. If you don't know how:

Click Start, Run. Type cmd <enter>.

In the DOS window type:

route print <enter>

Do this when the VPN is "connected" and "disconnected".. get it now?

Also type:

ipconfig <enter>

When the VPN is "connected" and disconnected....

Lets see the output from those commands. All else fails follows Rerards suggestions
__________________
.
rkcrawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 08:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Dieselmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6417
Posts: 4,103
Send a message via Yahoo to Dieselmh
Have you tried to run a traceroute to see where the ping dies? Also, take a look and see if it changes your default gateway setting when you connect or disconnect. It may be trying to send all of your traffic through a gateway that is down or non-existant anymore. I don't know much about vpn, but traceroute is a very helpful tool. It will show you exactly where the problem is. You can see if it's dying at your PC or if it's making it to another router, then dying.
Dieselmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 08:22 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Dieselmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6417
Posts: 4,103
Send a message via Yahoo to Dieselmh
Quote:
Originally posted by mudmaid
i dont know squat about your issue david, but my coworker read your post. he suggested that you do a regedit and delete anything that has to do with trillion. reboot, and try again.
Hey, what are you doing in here? Aren't you supposed to be playing outside?
Dieselmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 08:29 AM   #20 (permalink)
Riffed By The Man
 
Bill Plein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 2
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 869
Each VPN client is different, but here is how the Cisco client I use works:

Set up the connection
Go into the connection properties
Hit Advanced
Choose the appropriate protocol to tunnel (these days, ususally "IP" unless you are doing an old Netware IPX network)
Choose "Exclude Local LAN from tunnel"
Choose "Exclude DHCP from tunnel"

This will make sure that your local DNS still works and your local connection to the Internet still works. It sounds as if your VPN connection is "replacing" the local connection, masking out all normal IP traffic, and isn't getting forwarded appropriately as it tunnels through to work.

The setting that fixes that is "Exclude Local LAN from tunnel".

HTH
__________________
Bill
BBQ stuff, and Tech Stuff
Bill Plein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 08:37 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Dieselmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6417
Posts: 4,103
Send a message via Yahoo to Dieselmh
Quote:
Originally posted by mudmaid


i wish i was...

the woman that i'm replacing is being demoted to my position (we're doing a little job swap ). they finally told her yesterday. needless to say she isnt too happy about this so after i got so excited that i was going to be moving, they told me that i might have to work out the week at my current position.

my lead came in this morning and said "start packing, you're *for sure* moving today, but we'll see. i offered to train her but there will be a lot of tension. even though i didnt have anything to do with this she's going to see me as the person that took her job.
You should walk up to her, kick her in the 'gina, and tell her "Suck it up, you fawkin' puss! If you would've done your damned job, this wouldn't happen." At least she can't pull the old "You're just getting rid of me because I'm a woman" routine. Congrats! Sometimes I hate being stuck behind my desk, but it's great when it's all cold and raining outside, plus I pretty much get to decide what I'll be doing on a day to day basis, so if I really want to go do some outside work, I can. Have fun working outside, it's a whole new world!
Dieselmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 09:22 AM   #22 (permalink)
DRM
Super Moderator
 
DRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 8
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 35,577
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally posted by Bill Plein
Each VPN client is different, but here is how the Cisco client I use works:

Set up the connection
Go into the connection properties
Hit Advanced
Choose the appropriate protocol to tunnel (these days, ususally "IP" unless you are doing an old Netware IPX network)
Choose "Exclude Local LAN from tunnel"
Choose "Exclude DHCP from tunnel"

This will make sure that your local DNS still works and your local connection to the Internet still works. It sounds as if your VPN connection is "replacing" the local connection, masking out all normal IP traffic, and isn't getting forwarded appropriately as it tunnels through to work.

The setting that fixes that is "Exclude Local LAN from tunnel".

HTH
Thanks Bill! I understand what you are saying, and with Win98 there were similar settings in VPN to do the same things. However, so far with WinXP I have been unable to find those same settings in the VPN connection

I am looking now though!
__________________
>David
> 4x4Spot.com
>It only hurts the first time you agree with me...
>"A little nonsense now and then is cherished by the wisest men."
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 09:23 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 8435
Location: East TN
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via AIM to rkcrawl
David - Who's VPN client are you using? Microsoft's that is included in XP?

Jim
__________________
.
rkcrawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 09:25 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Member # 8435
Location: East TN
Posts: 1,685
Send a message via AIM to rkcrawl
Quote:
Originally posted by Bill Plein

It sounds as if your VPN connection is "replacing" the local connection, masking out all normal IP traffic, and isn't getting forwarded appropriately as it tunnels through to work.
Hence the request for his routing table....
__________________
.
rkcrawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2003, 09:32 AM   #25 (permalink)
DRM
Super Moderator
 
DRM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 8
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 35,577
Blog Entries: 1
Fixed


Burried in WinXP's VPN client settings - and I do mean burried - is a box that automatically checks to "use the default gateway on remote network". I knew about this setting on previous windows versions, but until just now I couldn't find it in XP.

Thanks everyone, especially Bill whose post triggered me to remember about that setting and look even harder for it
__________________
>David
> 4x4Spot.com
>It only hurts the first time you agree with me...
>"A little nonsense now and then is cherished by the wisest men."
DRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.