How to disable Event Data Recorder.... - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2013, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Back in the day
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 386
How to disable Event Data Recorder....

...on a 2013 JK?

And where is it?

Will an ice pick thru its icy little heart do the trick?
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Fistful of Boomstick
 
usmcdoc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Member # 13344
Location: Norfawk, VA
Posts: 13,806
Send a message via AIM to usmcdoc14 Send a message via Yahoo to usmcdoc14
you watch Terminator? Have fun


But why?
__________________
Doc-14 Tactical Products:
When it absolutely, positively needs to be made from random crap found in the back of my garage.


You cant ban knowledge, learn to make your own guns right Here.
New York, Colorado, Maryland, Conneticut….is your state next? Yes it is. Write, Vote and Fight.
usmcdoc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Back in the day
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by usmcdoc14 View Post
you watch Terminator? Have fun


But why?
Select one that best answers the question:

A. Why not?

B. Provides no value to the driver or owner and could be a liability.

C. Because it is a free f-ing country and that includes the freedom from unwarranted surveillance.

D. Because it is there.

E. Because you don't own it if you can't open it.

F. Other: (250 characters max)
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Member # 189225
Location: Southbridge MA
Posts: 641
Send a message via AIM to kastein Send a message via Skype™ to kastein
Is it a separate module from the ECU, or built in? I thought they were built in.
__________________
Not only can I fuck up a steel ball in a rubber room, I do so often - by accident.
kastein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fistful of Boomstick
 
usmcdoc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Member # 13344
Location: Norfawk, VA
Posts: 13,806
Send a message via AIM to usmcdoc14 Send a message via Yahoo to usmcdoc14
Quote:
Originally Posted by plym49 View Post
Select one that best answers the question:

A. Why not? because when you wrap it into a walmart entrance concete plater it will tell the cops you were doing 55 instead of the 10mph you were supposed to do while crawling at the mall

B. Provides no value to the driver or owner and could be a liability.only if you plan on driving like a retard, it could also be used to protect you in court as well

C. Because it is a free f-ing country and that includes the freedom from unwarranted surveillance. and voiding warrentees

D. Because it is there. not sure its where you want it

E. Because you don't own it if you can't open it. don't think you can open it

F. Other: (250 characters max)
I think its still part of the ECU. have fun with that. I have not dove into the pentastar ECU to see if it was even something you can get at. You want me to ask on JKO for you?
__________________
Doc-14 Tactical Products:
When it absolutely, positively needs to be made from random crap found in the back of my garage.


You cant ban knowledge, learn to make your own guns right Here.
New York, Colorado, Maryland, Conneticut….is your state next? Yes it is. Write, Vote and Fight.
usmcdoc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 104517
Location: MT
Posts: 439
Does just unplugging it not suffice?


If you want to do it and not get the 10th degree if/when it's found later, I would:
1. disconnect it from the vehicle
2. find an appropriate 120v outlet (preferrably one next to your panel since you may trip the breaker several times. Also, a GFCI or Arc Fault breaker/outlet may trip quick enough to protect it.)
3. plug said outlet into random ports on the box until you release the magic smoke, while not electrocuting yourself in the process. 300v rated rubber gloves recommended.
4. put it back and pretend nothing ever happened.


This is assuming it's not needed to run the jeep. I would suggest unplugging it and making sure everything still works before destroying it.
__________________
R.I.P. Jason Payne

Last edited by chevy_man; 05-16-2013 at 06:48 PM.
chevy_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Back in the day
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevy_man View Post
Does just unplugging it not suffice?


If you want to do it and not get the 10th degree if/when it's found later, I would:
1. disconnect it from the vehicle
2. find an appropriate 120v outlet (preferrably one next to your panel since you may trip the breaker several times. Also, a GFCI or Arc Fault breaker/outlet may trip quick enough to protect it.)
3. plug said outlet into random ports on the box until you release the magic smoke
4. put it back and pretend nothing ever happened.


This is assuming it's not needed to run the jeep. I would suggest unplugging it and making sure everything still works before destroying it.
That all makes sense and you know, cables sometimes are bad from the factory.

Where is the unit? Is it a separate black box?

Or is it a feature built into the ECU that is accessed using the OBD connector?
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 81214
Location: Lanna, Jawja
Posts: 3,253
sell JK, buy a CJ8 :shrug:
Never Monday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
F2504x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Member # 85205
Location: Always going somewhere
Posts: 655
Mechanical Forensics: Event Data Recorders & the CDRTool
__________________
[QUOTE=Administrator;15106961]And exactly why its better I work in the backround and not meddle what makes pirate pirate. [/QUOTE]
F2504x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Back in the day
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by usmcdoc14 View Post
I think its still part of the ECU. have fun with that. I have not dove into the pentastar ECU to see if it was even something you can get at. You want me to ask on JKO for you?
Would appreciate any insight you can provide.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 06:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Get stuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Member # 189224
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by plym49 View Post
Would appreciate any insight you can provide.
The one where you called Doc a TROLL is better noob.
Get stuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Back in the day
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Get stuck View Post
The one where you called Doc a TROLL is better noob.
It was, wasn't it?
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 106845
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,877
Send a message via AIM to flatlander757
It's stored in the ORC(occupant restraint controller)... AKA your airbag module.

Been that way since 2005.

Chrysler Airbag Control Module (ACM) Data Reliability


edit: On TJs they are located dead center in the dash on the floor(in front of shifter). Every other Chrysler vehicle I've worked on has it there too(Caravans, Rams, Durangos, etc)... so it's probably there in the JK as well.

It basically records G forces and monitors your seat belts and wheel speeds, steering angle, throttle position, brake switch on or off(some vehicles will actually measure brake PRESSURE applied... forget if JKs are capable of this or not... guessing not), and based on all the inputs calculates the yaw rate and wheel spin and whatnot.
__________________
-Tony

Last edited by flatlander757; 05-16-2013 at 07:04 PM.
flatlander757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 104517
Location: MT
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by plym49 View Post
That all makes sense and you know, cables sometimes are bad from the factory.

Where is the unit? Is it a separate black box?

Or is it a feature built into the ECU that is accessed using the OBD connector?


I'm assuming it's a separate box since he asked if he could icepick it!

I really don't know as the newest jeep I've worked on has been a buddies 98 XJ. I'm just suggesting a convenient way to kill it without making it look too obvious. Even if they crack it open to find it smoked they really wouldn't be able to place the blame on him for tampering with it, just assume a voltage regulator failure or a short that had been fixed without knowledge the box was damaged.
__________________
R.I.P. Jason Payne
chevy_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Back in the day
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by flatlander757 View Post
It's stored in the ORC(occupant restraint controller)... AKA your airbag module.

Been that way since 2005.

Chrysler Airbag Control Module (ACM) Data Reliability
Does that module control airbag deployment or only provide supplemental control (like passenger side deactivation)?

If the former, can it be swapped out with a controller from a pre-EDR model?
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
See You In Tee
 
bigbroncojeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43837
Location: NNW-ish Houston, TX
Posts: 1,319
Do it.
Fold down the middle row of pins in the far right connection.



Or this

[IMG]http://2.bp.blogspot.com/__GakOwcozm8/TK6fziFAHQGIANTPITCHER
__________________
RIP SPRING CREEK OFF ROAD

Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Overbear View Post
I have a IQ

Last edited by bigbroncojeff; 05-16-2013 at 07:06 PM. Reason: stoopid jiant pitcher
bigbroncojeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 106845
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,877
Send a message via AIM to flatlander757
Quote:
Originally Posted by plym49 View Post
Does that module control airbag deployment or only provide supplemental control (like passenger side deactivation)?

If the former, can it be swapped out with a controller from a pre-EDR model?
It controls everything... on top of that it is run on the CAN bus system so disable it and it will fuck with every other module in the car... The PCM, the BCM, WCM, CCN, and other bullshit modules will throw a fit because something is missing from the CAN Bus.


No way to remove it without gutting the entire vehicle and starting with a shell.
__________________
-Tony
flatlander757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Back in the day
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by flatlander757 View Post
It controls everything... on top of that it is run on the CAN bus system so disable it and it will fuck with every other module in the car... The PCM, the BCM, WCM, CCN, and other bullshit modules will throw a fit because something is missing from the CAN Bus.


No way to remove it without gutting the entire vehicle and starting with a shell.
What about the picture in the above post? I presume that is the back of the ECU - do those pins provide an EDR readout, are they dedicated for EDR functionality, or do they also tie into the airbag controller?
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
Fistful of Boomstick
 
usmcdoc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Member # 13344
Location: Norfawk, VA
Posts: 13,806
Send a message via AIM to usmcdoc14 Send a message via Yahoo to usmcdoc14
disable/remove event data recorder on a 2013 jk - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

check there and see if anyone has any input
__________________
Doc-14 Tactical Products:
When it absolutely, positively needs to be made from random crap found in the back of my garage.


You cant ban knowledge, learn to make your own guns right Here.
New York, Colorado, Maryland, Conneticut….is your state next? Yes it is. Write, Vote and Fight.
usmcdoc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Back in the day
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by usmcdoc14 View Post
Thank you. Will report back if anything shows up there.

In the meantime, any MoPar techs that can chime in? Where do the police plug in their EDR readers? A dedicated plug or the OBD connector?
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:30 PM   #21 (permalink)
See You In Tee
 
bigbroncojeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43837
Location: NNW-ish Houston, TX
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by flatlander757 View Post
It controls everything... on top of that it is run on the CAN bus system so disable it and it will fuck with every other module in the car... The PCM, the BCM, WCM, CCN, and other bullshit modules will throw a fit because something is missing from the CAN Bus.


No way to remove it without gutting the entire vehicle and starting with a shell.
Not familiar with the controller network on JKs.... but most can bus setups know when a module is missing.... some times it'll soft code and somtimes it can shut the entire network down. Sometimes controllers are on legs and sometimes it's a daisy chain system... keeping up with all of the different brands of forklift systems is a task and a half.
__________________
RIP SPRING CREEK OFF ROAD

Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Overbear View Post
I have a IQ
bigbroncojeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:44 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 106845
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,877
Send a message via AIM to flatlander757
Quote:
Originally Posted by plym49 View Post
Thank you. Will report back if anything shows up there.

In the meantime, any MoPar techs that can chime in? Where do the police plug in their EDR readers? A dedicated plug or the OBD connector?


Guy... I WAS a Mopar tech. Granted back in 2007-2008... but I have experience with the Star Scan.

The guy that responded it's possible to remove the crash data w/ the Star Scan is full of shit. It might be able to possibly extract or erase the crash data... but it sure as hell has no capability of keeping the module from reading data in the future.

The star scan can basically change a few data parameters, calibrate the passenger seat weight sensors, clear codes, show what modules are communicating with what, and reflash any of the modules with PRE WRITTEN FLASH FILES FROM CHRYSLER THEMSELVES. Unless you are a computer programmer, good luck writing a file for the ORC to NOT store crash data.


You need to sell the damn Jeep if you want to get rid of it.

Or wire in a small explosive to go off right on the ORC when the airbags deploy
__________________
-Tony
flatlander757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:53 PM   #23 (permalink)
Back in the day
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by flatlander757 View Post
Guy... I WAS a Mopar tech. Granted back in 2007-2008... but I have experience with the Star Scan.

The guy that responded it's possible to remove the crash data w/ the Star Scan is full of shit. It might be able to possibly extract or erase the crash data... but it sure as hell has no capability of keeping the module from reading data in the future.

The star scan can basically change a few data parameters, calibrate the passenger seat weight sensors, clear codes, show what modules are communicating with what, and reflash any of the modules with PRE WRITTEN FLASH FILES FROM CHRYSLER THEMSELVES. Unless you are a computer programmer, good luck writing a file for the ORC to NOT store crash data.

You need to sell the damn Jeep if you want to get rid of it.

Or wire in a small explosive to go off right on the ORC when the airbags deploy
OK, so the EDR data is physically housed in the ORC, correct?

And where do the investigators plug in to read the EDR data?

Last edited by plym49; 05-16-2013 at 07:55 PM.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:53 PM   #24 (permalink)
Fistful of Boomstick
 
usmcdoc14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Member # 13344
Location: Norfawk, VA
Posts: 13,806
Send a message via AIM to usmcdoc14 Send a message via Yahoo to usmcdoc14
sounds like a good reason for a LS swap
__________________
Doc-14 Tactical Products:
When it absolutely, positively needs to be made from random crap found in the back of my garage.


You cant ban knowledge, learn to make your own guns right Here.
New York, Colorado, Maryland, Conneticut….is your state next? Yes it is. Write, Vote and Fight.
usmcdoc14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 07:55 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 106845
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,877
Send a message via AIM to flatlander757
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbroncojeff View Post
Not familiar with the controller network on JKs.... but most can bus setups know when a module is missing.... some times it'll soft code and somtimes it can shut the entire network down. Sometimes controllers are on legs and sometimes it's a daisy chain system... keeping up with all of the different brands of forklift systems is a task and a half.
I don't THINK it will take the whole network down, I know it will store hard codes in the BCM and PCM for sure... mostly U---- codes for CAN Bus communications. It will very possibly go into limp mode.

All the OP has to do to test it is disconnect the module and see what happens. See if it lets him drive like normal.

Bottom line is you are not getting rid of the ORC without losing the air bag functionality, traction control, and ABS for sure.
__________________
-Tony
flatlander757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.