Help...Philips Plasma TV error code - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 05:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Rock God
 
zukitough's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Member # 90874
Location: Fort Irwin, CA
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to zukitough
Help...Philips Plasma TV error code

I have a flat panel tv made by Philips. It is a plasma. On the power LED, I have 1 long red flash and two short red flashes. This means an error code of 12 I think. with the following chart the code is a "Histogram (YUV) (IC 7770) error". What hell does that mean and how do I fix it?

chart:Here is a list of the Phillips blink codes. THese may be different for your model but will likely be in the service manual.

0 = No error
1 = X-ray protection, E/W protection, and/or Vertical protection active
2 = High beam current protection active
3 = Reserved
4 = +5V protection active
5 = Signal Processor (IC 7150) register corrupted
6 = Signal Processor (IC 7150) error
7 = Total failure
8 = Internal RAM error (Microprocessor IC 7000)
10 = NV memory (IC7088) addressing error
11 = NV memory (IC7088) size error
12 = Histogram (YUV) (IC 7770) error
14 = Sound processor IC error (TDA9855)
16 = Main Tuner IC error (IC 1125)
17 = PIP Processor IC error (IC 7350)
18 = PIP Tuner IC error (IC 1127)


I am in Iraq so I cant just take it back to Bestbuy or whatever. If any of ya'll know a TV repair man that can tell me what this code means as far as fixxing the TV, please post up. Google has taken me in circles for hours.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddytall View Post
That shit is as dumb as driving over rocks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiller22207 View Post
I likes my ribs unfermented.
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...151&highlight=
zukitough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 05:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48871
Location: SoCal High Desert
Posts: 704
What model is your tv?
desertkrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 05:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48871
Location: SoCal High Desert
Posts: 704
And do you have all firmware upgrades?
You can also email Philips direct, it seems they don't want their trouble codes out there
But the exact model is by far the best place to start.
desertkrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 05:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Rock God
 
zukitough's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Member # 90874
Location: Fort Irwin, CA
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to zukitough
42" Plasma
model # 42PF7520G-98
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddytall View Post
That shit is as dumb as driving over rocks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiller22207 View Post
I likes my ribs unfermented.
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...151&highlight=
zukitough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 05:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48871
Location: SoCal High Desert
Posts: 704
I found more than a few responses that said firmware would fix it and it was a common update issue.
Try that in the meantime and I'll look some more.
desertkrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48871
Location: SoCal High Desert
Posts: 704
I searched some more and found out your fawked
Apparently philips tv's aren't very good or user serviceable in the least.
Believe it or not I found this reccommendation to try more than a few times I suppose it's a testament to their build quality

HARD RESET: Unplug the power cord for 4 hours; then power back up again.

WHACK CHECK: This is to determine if the cause of the problem is a loose connection or cold solder joint (which is about 50% of causes across all sets.) Just whack or smack the set with your hand or fist all around the cabinet top, back, sides, etc. This will sometimes restore the connection that is acting up.


Sorry I couldn't help more, hopefully in a bit a philips tech will wake up and log on.

Thank you for your service.

Edit- Just in case your wondering the light only indicates a fault inline voltage and to diagnose further you need to pull the back cover off and manually change circuits while hooked into a puter.
From what I understood anyway

Last edited by desertkrawler; 04-01-2010 at 06:14 AM.
desertkrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Rock God
 
zukitough's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Member # 90874
Location: Fort Irwin, CA
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to zukitough
Thanks. Those were all my next troubleshooting steps. I work with "special" and "unique" electronics everyday over here, it's why I am deployed. I may try and scare it with a BFH next. Plasma's aren't my specialty, more like audio stuff, NVGs, duplicators and radios
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddytall View Post
That shit is as dumb as driving over rocks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiller22207 View Post
I likes my ribs unfermented.
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...151&highlight=
zukitough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48871
Location: SoCal High Desert
Posts: 704
I hope a good whack fixes it for you, it would seem there's a good chance of it as nothing in the military is used lightly and something probably got shook loose.

Last edited by desertkrawler; 04-01-2010 at 06:33 AM.
desertkrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Overbear is a coward
 
Roc Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20631
Location: Las Vegas, Hell
Posts: 8,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by zukitough View Post
I
I am in Iraq so I cant just take it back to Bestbuy or whatever. If any of ya'll know a TV repair man that can tell me what this code means as far as fixxing the TV, please post up. Google has taken me in circles for hours.
A quick search in the AVS forums shows a lot of problems with Philips plasmas, which is in line with what I've seen in hotel installations.
__________________
Originally Posted by 45acp
He came to this country with nothing more than a dream, a couple of frozen cat burritos, and a well worn Night Ranger cassette. Hard to pick on someone who's been through some shit like that.
Roc Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Rock God
 
zukitough's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Member # 90874
Location: Fort Irwin, CA
Posts: 1,528
Send a message via Yahoo to zukitough
Quote:
Originally Posted by desertkrawler View Post
I hope a good whack fixes it for you, it would seem there's a good chance of it as nothing in the military is used lightly and something probably got shook loose.
I unplugged it for the night to re-set the memory. I also sat a BFH next to it and told the TV if it didnt fix itself by morning then I was gonna fix it with the BFH. I know it doesnt make any sense but believe it or not, I had a CW4 show this trick to me on a SINCGARS radio and by God it worked the next day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc Doc View Post
A quick search in the AVS forums shows a lot of problems with Philips plasmas, which is in line with what I've seen in hotel installations.
This wasnt bought because of durability and besides it isnt like the army can get its money back. The officer in charge is in a position that comes across alot of good free shit that people dont want and I am pretty sure if we can fix it for him then my team will get put on the "notify 1st if cool shit is found" list. People are always asking that unit for free shit, but no one but my team has asked how can we help them. Plus it is always good to make friends and my guys need some on the job training on some regular electronics. .
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by daddytall View Post
That shit is as dumb as driving over rocks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by emiller22207 View Post
I likes my ribs unfermented.
http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showt...151&highlight=
zukitough is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.