Anybody have Dry-Loop DSL? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2010, 07:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member # 41250
Location: back to cali, to cali, to cali.
Posts: 1,311
Anybody have Dry-Loop DSL?

Any problems? I'm thinking about dropping my home phone and going VOIP. Did you get charged more for the DSL service?

I know some people had problems with skype, what else is out there for reliable VOIP.
__________________
[Roxywheels]My head hurts and my dog is exhausted.....that is all for now! :flipoff2: :roxy:
makya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 07:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
salt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member # 29728
Location: i'm here now...
Posts: 31
Dry loop here, not a problem in the world...

$29.95 gets me 1.1/512 and no solicitation calls at home :-)

We use our cell so no VoIP. I have never had a problem with my Skype though so I don't know where you heard that
__________________
'48 cj2a SN#208638
salt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 07:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Who stole my title?
 
void_of_light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Member # 70825
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
Posts: 942
When the FCC said they had to provide dry loop they didn't dictate the price. Most of the time dry loop is at best a few $ less than dsl with phone.
void_of_light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member # 41250
Location: back to cali, to cali, to cali.
Posts: 1,311
it's $39.99 for dsl, or $65 with a phone line tacked on.
__________________
[Roxywheels]My head hurts and my dog is exhausted.....that is all for now! :flipoff2: :roxy:
makya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Who stole my title?
 
void_of_light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Member # 70825
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by makya View Post
it's $39.99 for dsl, or $65 with a phone line tacked on.
That's a lot better than I had heard. I would jump on it. If VOIP doesn't work for some reason, you can always add a line to it later.
void_of_light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member # 41250
Location: back to cali, to cali, to cali.
Posts: 1,311
plus, with what I'm reading, the taxes and surcharges don't apply, so we save another $15 on top of that.
__________________
[Roxywheels]My head hurts and my dog is exhausted.....that is all for now! :flipoff2: :roxy:
makya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 09:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
lsloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 6152
Location: Beggs, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,024
Send a message via AIM to lsloth
I hate our local phone company, dsl with no analog voice is alot more than just dsl with analog voice.

Last edited by lsloth; 07-27-2010 at 09:07 AM.
lsloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 09:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Dieselmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6417
Posts: 4,103
Send a message via Yahoo to Dieselmh
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsloth View Post
I hate our local phone company, dsl with no analog voice is alot more than just dsl with analog voice.
That's because when you buy "dry" or "naked" dsl, the Telco loses the subsidy that they normally get because it's not considered a "phone" line anymore. In order to turn a profit, they have to charge more.
Dieselmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 09:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 18283
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,335
I was wondering what dry loop dsl was but from the responses I'm gathering DSL w/ no voice service

Count me in there 37.95/month for me for 1.5mpbs costs me $5/month more than w/ voice AT&T is my provider. My choices are commiecast, and clearwire for cell based high speed. Clearwire is roughly the same price & speed with less reliable service. comcast is higher even if I bundle it with other services, Currently I'm using over the air broadcast for TV and cell for voice calls.
__________________
There are no rules. You have to think!
demonranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 09:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
I'm the boss
 
Renee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3220
Location: Georgetown, CA
Posts: 3,167
Send a message via Yahoo to Renee
Dry DSL is fine. VOIP however sucks balls.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lance View Post
No, I'm not banning anyone (unless you be mean to PG )
Renee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 09:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
lsloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 6152
Location: Beggs, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,024
Send a message via AIM to lsloth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dieselmh View Post
That's because when you buy "dry" or "naked" dsl, the Telco loses the subsidy that they normally get because it's not considered a "phone" line anymore. In order to turn a profit, they have to charge more.
I can understand that to a certain extent. But being rural I suspect she gets some subsidies for providing rural internet. Also even if you don't make as much money on them, some profit is better than none. So far every customer has turned down the offer so that customer that will never come back. Any small telco that thinks POTS will keep them running are fooling themselves.
lsloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 09:55 AM   #12 (permalink)
Poseur SUV
 
Paul Gagnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Member # 610
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta eh?
Posts: 10,075
Blog Entries: 7
Send a message via ICQ to Paul Gagnon
From what I've seen at work VoIP is mega bandwidth-intensive. Are you sure it's going to work over a DSL line?
__________________
Paul Gagnon
Sherwood Park, Alberta eh?
"No Brain, No Pain"
Paul Gagnon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 10:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Dieselmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Member # 6417
Posts: 4,103
Send a message via Yahoo to Dieselmh
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsloth View Post
I can understand that to a certain extent. But being rural I suspect she gets some subsidies for providing rural internet. Also even if you don't make as much money on them, some profit is better than none. So far every customer has turned down the offer so that customer that will never come back. Any small telco that thinks POTS will keep them running are fooling themselves.
Nope, no subsidies are given to the Telcos for internet. At least not yet. They're lobbying for it now. Telcos are often forced to provide services to areas that they normally wouldn't service because it's not profitable. Because the gov't makes them provide this service, they get money. For right now, it's only on POTS lines though, not internet. No one is going to offer service at a price that loses them money. There's no point. People don't understand that the initial cost of turning up dsl is thousands of dollars per port. If the Telco can't make that money back in a few years, there's no point in even providing the service.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Gagnon View Post
From what I've seen at work VoIP is mega bandwidth-intensive. Are you sure it's going to work over a DSL line?
It's not really that bandwidth intensive, but it relies heavily on your provider having a good network and a good uplink. If they have much latency, your VOIP will suck and there's nothing you can do about it.
Dieselmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 10:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
www.SBWinVPS.com
 
98blacktj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member # 28540
Location: Sandy, UT
Posts: 1,686
VOIP need about 80 kbps dedicated to function correctly. If you start compressing it you can use less.
__________________
Check out our new Team Ape Eater Racing Like us on FaceBook We are building a new car Sniperfab Ape Eater Racing 223-ultra4 build

Email, Website and Blog hosting


SBWinVPS We can support your Land Use organization!
98blacktj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 11:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
Screwzer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member # 38193
Location: Nevada City, CA under a bridge
Posts: 705
Oop, nevermind. I thought you said "Dry Loop LSD"
__________________
“Preach the gospel, and if necessary, use words.”
St. Francis
Screwzer2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Co Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10700
Location: 45 minutes from the lakebed.
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to Co Pilot Send a message via Yahoo to Co Pilot
I went searching for this thread because we are thinking of dropping our home phone service... so pardon my dumb questions, but how exactly is this accomplished?

I have Verizon phone service and Verizon DSL for my computer.

anyone know if Verizon will allow me to have the DSL line without a normal home phone connection???

if not, what are my options?
__________________
you know what they say, if you don't have anything nice to say about anybody.... come sit by me!
Co Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ChevyGal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4033
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 3,349
I have it for my service. It's $30 a month for the middle speed service though AT&T. If I wanted I could drop down to the $24.99 service. I like it a lot since I just use my cell as my phone. The only issue I had was Dish Network told me they were going to charge me $5 more a month because I didn't have a phone line. I told them to yank my service then, I wasn't paying more for that reason. Suddenly the fee was waived. Oh and when I need a home phone, I have a Magic Jack for that reason.
__________________
Needs more cowbell!

Last edited by ChevyGal; 08-29-2010 at 08:54 PM.
ChevyGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Member # 29527
Location: WA
Posts: 2,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renee View Post
Dry DSL is fine. VOIP however sucks balls.
I prefer sloppy wet DSL.

But anyhow

We have VOIP on our cable service and it's great. What kinds of problems do you have with it?
__________________
[QUOTE=JK3078;17652386]To fucking ignorant[/QUOTE]:rasta:
CrustyJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 09:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
www.SBWinVPS.com
 
98blacktj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Member # 28540
Location: Sandy, UT
Posts: 1,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Co Pilot View Post
I went searching for this thread because we are thinking of dropping our home phone service... so pardon my dumb questions, but how exactly is this accomplished?

I have Verizon phone service and Verizon DSL for my computer.

anyone know if Verizon will allow me to have the DSL line without a normal home phone connection???

if not, what are my options?
You need to see if your phone and internet are bundled in a package. If they are call VZ and see what it will be for just DSL. Some places like speak easy call it "onelink" their might be other local names also just FYI.
__________________
Check out our new Team Ape Eater Racing Like us on FaceBook We are building a new car Sniperfab Ape Eater Racing 223-ultra4 build

Email, Website and Blog hosting


SBWinVPS We can support your Land Use organization!
98blacktj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 12:03 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4878
Location: Bremerton, WA
Posts: 7,667
Send a message via ICQ to Travis Waldher Send a message via MSN to Travis Waldher Send a message via Yahoo to Travis Waldher
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98blacktj View Post
VOIP need about 80 kbps dedicated to function correctly. If you start compressing it you can use less.
I think the biggest issue home users have with VoIP, and the least understood is simple latency.
Travis Waldher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 05:10 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Member # 140312
Location: Southern Maine - AKA The Rust Belt
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Co Pilot View Post
I went searching for this thread because we are thinking of dropping our home phone service... so pardon my dumb questions, but how exactly is this accomplished?

I have Verizon phone service and Verizon DSL for my computer.

anyone know if Verizon will allow me to have the DSL line without a normal home phone connection???

if not, what are my options?
I have/had dry DSL with Verizon. It's not Fairpoint, but the same deal.

Basically, it's just DSL with no phone. You pay a little more, but I have a cell, and wouldn't use the land line much anyway.
sometoyotaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 05:36 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Bluetick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Member # 48146
Posts: 14
When the hospital, I work at, signed the contract for att dsl internet service. There was a clause, no voip service allowed. They throw that shit into the contract even if it goes against FCC rules.
Bluetick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 06:19 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Member # 13012
Location: birmingham, al
Posts: 1,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renee View Post
Dry DSL is fine. VOIP however sucks balls.
A proper installation of voip kicks ass.

Skype sucks balls, I use it from time to time when I have to be on long conference bridges for work, that way I can use a good comfortable usb headset. Im about to say fuck skype and just run my Cisco Ip Communicator soft phone which I have zero problems with.
lincontaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:13 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Co Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Member # 10700
Location: 45 minutes from the lakebed.
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to Co Pilot Send a message via Yahoo to Co Pilot
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98blacktj View Post
You need to see if your phone and internet are bundled in a package. If they are call VZ and see what it will be for just DSL. Some places like speak easy call it "onelink" their might be other local names also just FYI.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sometoyotaguy View Post
I have/had dry DSL with Verizon. It's not Fairpoint, but the same deal.

Basically, it's just DSL with no phone. You pay a little more, but I have a cell, and wouldn't use the land line much anyway.


just got off the phone with Verizon.

I am currently paying $24.98 a month for DSL on my regular home bill, Dryloop DSL will cost me $10 bucks more a month at $34.99

But... the only people that seem to ever call on the house line are telemarketers anyways. Everyone we know calls us on our cells, so whats the point of keeping the home phone .... its going!
__________________
you know what they say, if you don't have anything nice to say about anybody.... come sit by me!
Co Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 10:38 AM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 5,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dieselmh View Post
That's because when you buy "dry" or "naked" dsl, the Telco loses the subsidy that they normally get because it's not considered a "phone" line anymore. In order to turn a profit, they have to charge more.
usually the cost for fixed expenses is included in te POTs service as well, like paying for the line maintenance and the electricity bill at the building that houses the equipment. Drop the phone service and the internet service costs more because now they're charging you for the maintenance and other such.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis Waldher View Post
I think the biggest issue home users have with VoIP, and the least understood is simple latency.
yes, and running a bit torrent client 24/7 without any kind of QOS and wondering why their phone calls are all choppy

If you want to do VOIP, and want it to be bulletproof you need QOS. Cheapest way to get it is one of these:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-026-_-Product

flashed with this:
www.dd-wrt.com
__________________
ko derf

Last edited by 87manche; 08-30-2010 at 12:23 PM.
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.