Pirate 4x4 banner

1974 international 1ton 4wd diesel conversion

4K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  Diesel Smoke 
#1 ·
Hi everybody i'm a newbie when it comes to internationals and have a few questions about there frame and 52'' spring swap.

I have a 1974 international 1ton 2wd pick up that i'm gonna convert to 4wd using a 1979 Chevy Dana 60 front and plan on using 52inch Chevy springs.

How similar are Chevy vs international frame? i plan on getting a Diy4x4 b52 spring conversion for the front.Will this conversion kit give me a good start with mounting these spring up front?

the motor i plan on swapping into the International is a 1986 6.9 diesel with a Ats turbo kit will the 52 springs handle the weight or will i sack them out quickly?

#2 ·
So you have an IFS A-arm 2wd truck and want to make it 4x4 with leaf springs?

You need to fabricate a shackle hanger that installs in either the strut rod mounting holes, or in the stock 4x4 shackle mounting holes just in front of them. If you use the forward holes, you'll probably find your springs are too long.

Up front, it's easy. A chunk of angle bolted to the frame for the inner side, and flattened Z looking mount for the outbooard side.

You will need to remove the whole IFS crossmember/subframe thing.

The steering box is ready for cross-over at least.

#3 ·
You need to fabricate a shackle hanger that installs in either the strut rod mounting holes, or in the stock 4x4 shackle mounting holes just in front of them. If you use the forward holes, you'll probably find your springs are too long.

Up front, it's easy. A chunk of angle bolted to the frame for the inner side, and flattened Z looking mount for the outbooard side.
Okay that's what i thought the hole ahead of the strut rod was.

Can you elaborate the up front part Z looking mount.

#5 · (Edited)