Pirate 4x4 banner

999 gears into 727?

4K views 16 replies 7 participants last post by  txs 
#1 ·
yes i jsut tried searching for about 2 hours but im not good with what magical phrase you need to use

--

i read somwhere i think on this board not bb.org

about switching to a 999 gearset for a lower first gear in the 727 tranny instead of going with a RV gearset--

anyone capable and willing to point me in teh right direction?

#6 ·
The ratio has nothing to do with it being a 999, all 904 derivitives had the lower (2.74 first) after 1982 MY. 999 started with the cordoba 360 production in 75 I think. The lower gear set for 904-999 started in 1980.

#7 ·
i was bidding on a 999/d300 jeep combo here on the east coast on ebay -- it got out of my range while i was sleeping yesterday morning so i didn't get a chance to get sucked in to teh bids good/bad thing it went for less then it was worth but more then i "wanted" to spend right now on something i wont use for 6-8 months anyway

it was a 1986 999 tranny which would have featured the lower gear set and planned on 4:1 the jeep 300 for this winter when i get to that part of the project --

in PM mode i was told the 999 gears for teh most part will owrk some have different pitch and will not work --i dont know if that is the 999's in general or a first gear ratio specifically for that glitch

there is a lot of drag and muscle cars in this area as i live very close to MAPLE GROVE RACEWAY<1/4" dragstrip> -- so i am sure there is soem people in this area who have heard of or performed the gear swap when i gather enough information for it to be useful i'll pass it along

#8 ·