Breakout Traveler Build-up - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > International Harvester
Notices

Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2006, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 66787
Send a message via Yahoo to Tahcustomscout
Breakout Traveler Build-up

Well I think its about time I Start a Thread on this. I’ve been putting it off for some time. I have been working on this project off and on since May of 2005. First off, I am not new to autos or fabrication, but I am new to off road. My goal here was to start off with a truck I could use as a daily driver, and work on my skills as applied to the off road world. I will build a trail rig as a second project. I choose a 1979 Traveler for this first project. It had a 345, 727 auto, Dana 20, and Dana 44’s. Everything was pretty much stock with the exception of the eight inch vampire fangs.

Well the engine was blown, had a spun main, and two rod caps were off. The rear diff was tore all to crap, the front left wheel bearing had not been assembled right and the nut worked itself off, one bad tie rod end, and the entire brake system was dry rotted and need replacing. The body was solid, not exactly strait, but mostly just surface rust on the exterior. Now the floors were another story. All the door seals had dry rotted and let water leak in for almost five years before I bought it. I am sure there was more problems, but that’s all the problems I can think of right now.

Last edited by Tahcustomscout; 08-19-2006 at 10:28 PM.
Tahcustomscout is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2006, 10:29 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 66787