Swapped in a manual in place of auto transmission in a 91' V6 trooper - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Isuzu
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2009, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member # 112221
Posts: 45
Swapped in a manual in place of auto transmission in a 91' V6 trooper

Well, just finished putting in a new long block and swapping in a manual transmission in place of the automatic in a 91' trooper w/ the 2.8L V6...

What do I need to do to rick the ECU to start? What wires need to be connected to where to get the trooper running?

The TCM in the auto used to tell the ECU that the vehicle was in park or neutral and it was ok for the engine to turn over. Now, with the TCM disconnected and the auto trans MIA there's no signal being sent to the ECU, allowing starter motor to turn over and the the truck to start.
onewaysoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 10:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Andre75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 49302
Location: Hurricaneville, FL
Posts: 426
When I swapped in a different auto trans, I disconnected the TCU, but left the range sensor connected. I made sure that I was set to park, and tucked it behind the air box. I'm sure I could have found a way to remove it completely and still send the necessary signal to the ECU, but I've still got it this way.

I originally removed the whole trans wiring harness, but ran into the same problem you did.
__________________
I am the pater familias!
Andre75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-25-2009, 11:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member # 112221
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre75 View Post
When I swapped in a different auto trans, I disconnected the TCU, but left the range sensor connected. I made sure that I was set to park, and tucked it behind the air box. I'm sure I could have found a way to remove it completely and still send the necessary signal to the ECU, but I've still got it this way.

I originally removed the whole trans wiring harness, but ran into the same problem you did.
I've still got the trans wiring harness in place, it's just disconnected.

Is the range sensor the sensor in the shifting lever for the auto? Or is it one of the sensors in the auto trans?
onewaysoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 01:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Andre75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 49302
Location: Hurricaneville, FL
Posts: 426
On my '95 it is an external sensor that fits over the selector shaft of the trans. It's about 2"x2" shaped like a quarter of a circle.
__________________
I am the pater familias!
Andre75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 01:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member # 112221
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre75 View Post
On my '95 it is an external sensor that fits over the selector shaft of the trans. It's about 2"x2" shaped like a quarter of a circle.
Gotcha, I think I know which sensor you're talking about now.

So, did you leave the TCM in the truck along with with sensor? Or did you pull the TCM and just leave the sensor plugged in?
onewaysoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 07:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Andre75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 49302
Location: Hurricaneville, FL
Posts: 426
I think I took out the TCM. That particular sensor goes to the ECM I believe.

I see JLEMOND responded to your post on PlanetIsuzoo. Take what he says as gospel. He is the guru!
__________________
I am the pater familias!
Andre75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.