how to swap a manual to an automatic? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Cherokee
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2007, 09:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
lexx077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member # 83576
Posts: 2
how to swap a manual to an automatic?

I have an '88 XJ lorado w/4.0 that originaly came with the Peugot 5 speed, but know has no tranny or transfer case in it (the XJ was free). I was wanting to switch it over to an automatic and was wondering what I would need and how to do it.
lexx077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Member # 19323
Location: Milton WV 304 521-4496
Posts: 4,130
where are you located, I have an 88 I am getting rid of and the engine and trans is already out, all the wiring and computer stuff is still in the jeep free for the taking, I am keeping the engine but will part with the AW4 for a small fee
__________________
Mud River Motorsports
RCrocs Class 3 Team #304
Fullsizexj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-31-2007, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
lexx077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member # 83576
Posts: 2
thanx for the reply, I have a friend that has an auto tranny, T-case, and I think he has the Tranny control module. I can also get the shifter linkage and stuff from a wrecked XJ that he also has.
lexx077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 12:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
oldjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Member # 3511
Location: MN
Posts: 5,431
Makes sure you get the harness that goes from the TCU to the 2 plugs that the AW4 hooks in to. Then there will be about 7 wires from the TCU harness that needs to be hooked up. You will also need the throttle body from the auto jeep, there is no hookup for the TV cable on the 5 speed ones and the TPS has 2 outputs on Renix era jeeps. Also you need a tranny cooler unless your radiator has one. Shifter and shift cables.

I've done an AW4 swap on my YJ and just finishing up one on my sons 90 comanche.
__________________
Chuck P
The clowns'? Oh, yeah, the clowns. We fight them too entire armies, spilling out of Volkswagons. We do our best to fight them off, but they keep sending 'em in!
www.oldjeep.com

Last edited by oldjeep; 09-03-2007 at 12:34 PM.
oldjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 05:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Member # 22393
Location: OlyWa
Posts: 283
You can also use BrettM's kit...you wont need a TCU.I use one in my trail rig and it works well.

http://awshifting.com

OlyWa
OlyWaXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 06:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
oldjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Member # 3511
Location: MN
Posts: 5,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyWaXJ View Post
You can also use BrettM's kit...you wont need a TCU.I use one in my trail rig and it works well.

http://awshifting.com

OlyWa

That's what I have in my YJ too.
__________________
Chuck P
The clowns'? Oh, yeah, the clowns. We fight them too entire armies, spilling out of Volkswagons. We do our best to fight them off, but they keep sending 'em in!
www.oldjeep.com
oldjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.