amc th400 to a d300 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2001, 01:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Member # 3109
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 55
Post amc th400 to a d300

How hard is it or what is all involved in mating a d300 to a amc th400 with the 304. Its a 79 with the quadratrac. I know about the axles,
yjfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2001, 01:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
oldjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Member # 3511
Location: MN
Posts: 4,965
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by yjfish:
<STRONG>How hard is it or what is all involved in mating a d300 to a amc th400 with the 304. Its a 79 with the quadratrac. I know about the axles,</STRONG>

You send $375 to www.novak-adapt.com
<IMG SRC="smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0">
__________________
Chuck P
The clowns'? Oh, yeah, the clowns. We fight them too entire armies, spilling out of Volkswagons. We do our best to fight them off, but they keep sending 'em in!
www.oldjeep.com
oldjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-28-2001, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Member # 3935
Location: *******************EAT ME
Posts: 3,014
Post

I used a Novak adapter behind my Turbo 400. Keep in mind you WILL lose a good bit of driveshaft lenght(you'll need a new shaft, or have yours cut down) with the Turbo 400 and the adapter.
If you need a measurement let me know, I'll put a tape between the rear of the block and the T-case(for the lenght of the Turbo 400 with the adapter).
You will also need to fab a spacer to go between the adapter and the cross member, I think mine was about 2 1/4" tall.

[ 08-28-2001: Message edited by: southernfriedcj8 ]
__________________
[QUOTE=camo;17280058]All of you are fawking idiots :shaking:[/QUOTE]
southernfriedcj8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2001, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5982
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,826
Post

Why not swap a 727 from a 80's full size to back the 304, then the 300 is a bolt in. The 727 is a better tranny IMHO. Maybe because I have a Scout and if the 727 can stand up to my Pig, ~5,000lbs loaded it should hold pushing a jeep around.

Joe <IMG SRC="smilies/smokin.gif" border="0">
__________________
Was that a comment meant to hurt?
RU Dysfuncational http://thisdysfunctional.org/forum
jdjanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2001, 10:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
High5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Member # 1700
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 3,895
Post

i agree with the 727. you can get them from an 80's wagoneer and a d300 will bolt right up. no adapters.
__________________
High5
IT'S 1TON O' FUN!
High5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2001, 11:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Member # 3109
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 55
Post

The overall length has been a concern of mine. Ive been also thinking the possiblilty of the 727. Just weighing out my options. Will the 304 need a different flexplate/converter for the 727??
__________________
91 YJ, 4 banger, 4.88, Lockrite F/R, SOA, 35's, TJ flares

2002 HD1500 Crew Cab Jeep Hauler
yjfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2001, 01:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5982
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,826
Post

I would just grab the convertor and plate off the donor. <IMG SRC="smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0">

Joe <IMG SRC="smilies/smokin.gif" border="0">
__________________
Was that a comment meant to hurt?
RU Dysfuncational http://thisdysfunctional.org/forum
jdjanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2001, 02:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5384
Location: Turdville, NC
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to jeepgod
Post

if you do go the 727 route..dont forget to get the kickdown linkage.. we can pick up 727's around here for $200 all day long..
overall it will be shorter than the th400... so you still might need driveshaft shortening and lengthening..
__________________
Survival is instinct, but living takes guts!
[url="http://www.jeepgod.net"]www.jeepgod.net[/url]
jeepgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.