Auto CAD Drawings?? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2001, 12:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Member # 768
Location: Fair Oaks, Ca
Posts: 256
Question Auto CAD Drawings??

Does anybody out there have a scale drawing of a flatfender??
__________________
2005 Chevy LIFTED on 20's
2006 CRF250R
Its time for another project
JediJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 12:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
jeepster1220
Guest
 
Member #
Posts: n/a
Post

That would take hundreds of drawings <IMG SRC="smilies/eek.gif" border="0">. Or are you just talking about one with outside dimensions? Either way, I don't <IMG SRC="smilies/thefinger.gif" border="0">
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-21-2001, 12:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
XJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1415
Location: Lévis, Québec, Canada
Posts: 509
Post

the only Jeep I did on autocad are not scaled.
XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 01:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Member # 768
Location: Fair Oaks, Ca
Posts: 256
Post

I am looking for the basic 4 views around the tub ad frame nthng super detailed..but detailed ones could be nice to...
__________________
2005 Chevy LIFTED on 20's
2006 CRF250R
Its time for another project
JediJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 02:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1563
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 47
Post

Ughhh, modeling a Jeep in AutoCAD would be a nightmare!!!

It's all about Pro/E baby! <IMG SRC="smilies/thefinger.gif" border="0">

Sorry, I don't have any models though. I did think about doing something with my TJ, but I really don't have the time being in school and working full time and all.

Brent
98DVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Member # 2228
Location: Latrobe, P A
Posts: 281
Send a message via ICQ to Mudpuppy Send a message via Yahoo to Mudpuppy
Post

This ain't a flat fender and it is my first attemp at drawing my jeep

__________________
:bounce2: Rehab is for Quiters :bounce:
Mudpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 05:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 6151
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 66
Post

Here is 3d model of my tub.

<IMG width=600 height=450 SRC="http://www.pirate4x4.com/ubb/uploads/3d_tub.jpg"> <IMG SRC="smilies/tongue.gif" border="0">
__________________
T3
alancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 05:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Member # 3652
Location: Australia
Posts: 303
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Mudpuppy:
<STRONG>This ain't a flat fender and it is my first attemp at drawing my jeep

</STRONG>
Oh my god! that is exactly what he was looking for. <IMG SRC="smilies/thefinger.gif" border="0">
__________________
<< teampbr.net -- teamfirebug.com -- teamfiretruck.com >>
ausjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 06:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
XJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1415
Location: Lévis, Québec, Canada
Posts: 509
Post

How can i modify my .dwg to do a pic postable, I would like to show you my concept Jeep <IMG SRC="smilies/tongue.gif" border="0">
XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 06:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4915
Location: Reseda,CA
Posts: 218
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by XJ:
<STRONG>How can i modify my .dwg to do a pic postable, I would like to show you my concept Jeep <IMG SRC="smilies/tongue.gif" border="0"></STRONG>
Is it 3D or 2d?...If it's a 3D drawing and you want it rendered then...in the render dialog box, choose "File" in the drop down menu in destination. after that you can click on "more options" and choose the file type. I personally like .TGA...adjust the resolution if you like, then click ok...you'll go back to the render dialog box...If you click ok, it'll ask you where you want it saved...

If you're drawing is 2D then you can use "export" under the FILE drop down menu. I export mine as .eps and then open it in Illustrator...do what I have to do with the image(crop, etc.) then save it as .jpg or .gif

[ 08-21-2001: Message edited by: solid ]
solid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 07:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Member # 3685
Location: WI
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to TmbrRtlr
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by EFICJ-5.0:
<STRONG>Here is 3d model of my tub.

<IMG width=600 height=450 SRC="http://www.pirate4x4.com/ubb/uploads/3d_tub.jpg"> <IMG SRC="smilies/tongue.gif" border="0"></STRONG>
Did you do this in AutoCad or ProE?? I've been going to play around with drawing a tub in Acad but who want's to stay after work when theres wrenching to be done? That and we just to Acad 2002 at work so I haven't had time ot play with the new version and figure out all the new 3d stuff.

TmbrRtlr
TmbrRtlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2001, 09:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3239
Location: Benicia,CA
Posts: 7,615
Send a message via AIM to Brad Send a message via Yahoo to Brad
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by EFICJ-5.0:
<STRONG>Here is 3d model of my tub.

<IMG width=600 height=450 SRC="http://www.pirate4x4.com/ubb/uploads/3d_tub.jpg"> <IMG SRC="smilies/tongue.gif" border="0"></STRONG>
thats fawkin cool! <IMG SRC="smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0"> <IMG SRC="smilies/massey.gif" border="0">
__________________
B-RAD Fabrication
TDO DYSFUNCTIONAL ROCKCRAWLERS
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 05:58 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 5960
Location: Lots of lakes
Posts: 8,483
Send a message via Yahoo to LAME
Post

I have 3D of my Willys frame at home, but that doesn't help much <IMG SRC="smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0">
I might create a Willys drawing for the hell of it.....make it look like the Vette in the sample .dwgs in R14.
__________________
crawl4cure.org
Rock Rash Racing #613, Trail Tampon Spotter
LAME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 08:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 6151
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 66
Post

Here is a snapshot of my project.

<IMG width=600 height=450 SRC="http://www.pirate4x4.com/ubb/uploads/jeep_qe_co.jpg">
__________________
T3
alancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 08:43 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4915
Location: Reseda,CA
Posts: 218
Post

EFICJ5.0,
Looks great!!! <IMG SRC="smilies/eek.gif" border="0">'ey! how'd you do the tire?

[ 08-22-2001: Message edited by: solid ]
solid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 08:51 AM   #16 (permalink)
jeepster1220
Guest
 
Member #
Posts: n/a
Post

Man that's cool. I'm a paid Cad whore, and I can't do that. You're makin' me feel stupid. I had alot of trouble with the 3D in school. I just couldn't get the swing of it <IMG SRC="smilies/frown.gif" border="0">
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 08:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 6151
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 66
Post

I built it using Pro/e's toroidial bend functionality. <IMG SRC="smilies/tongue.gif" border="0">

<IMG width=600 height=450 SRC="http://www.pirate4x4.com/ubb/uploads/tire_wheel_left.jpg">
__________________
T3
alancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 09:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1563
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 47
Post

What version of Pro/E are you runnin? That's pretty sweet.

I s'pose you don't got an extra copy do ya? <IMG SRC="smilies/wink.gif" border="0">

I've been tryin' to get it at home for a while now. Just don't got that $$$$$$ for a license.

Brent
98DVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 09:24 AM   #19 (permalink)
jeepster1220
Guest
 
Member #
Posts: n/a
Post

Cool! But is there a reason why the tire and wheel are floating in front of a window? <IMG SRC="smilies/smokin.gif" border="0">
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 09:27 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 6151
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 66
Post

Quote:
What version of Pro/E are you runnin? That's pretty sweet.
I s'pose you don't got an extra copy do ya?

I've been tryin' to get it at home for a while now. Just don't got that $$$$$$ for a license.

Brent
I am on 2000i2. The computer is a dell 420 gigahertz with 2 gig of ram. I could get you a license for home but it would cost you a set of rebuilt full width dana 60's filled with detroits and disks all around! <IMG SRC="smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0"> <IMG SRC="smilies/biggrin.gif" border="0">

T
__________________
T3
alancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 09:29 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 6151
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 66
Post

Quote:
Cool! But is there a reason why the tire and wheel are floating in front of a window?
--------------------
Did you ever see the Discount tire ad where the old lady threw the tire through the store front.......? <IMG SRC="smilies/laughing.gif" border="0">

T
__________________
T3
alancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 09:48 AM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1563
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 47
Post

We're still using Pro 2000i here at work (they like all the bugs to be worked out of a version before we switch) <IMG SRC="smilies/rolleyes.gif" border="0">.

I whipped up a quick rep of what I wanted my cage to look like one day:



(The spreaders in the front arent't supposed to be angled up. I just whipped it all together one day and never fixed it).

Brent

[ 08-22-2001: Message edited by: 98DVL ]
98DVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 10:26 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 6151
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 66
Post

Looks good so far.

Are using swept features or pipe?

I used points. I designed my over head console in pro and had a machine shop build the parts.

<IMG width=600 height=450 SRC="http://www.pirate4x4.com/ubb/uploads/rollcage2_3d.jpg">
<IMG width=600 height=450 SRC="http://www.pirate4x4.com/ubb/uploads/rollcage3_3d.jpg">


T
__________________
T3
alancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 10:29 AM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Member # 1563
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 47
Post

I just created a bunch of swept features. It's not even to scale.

That 2000i^2 looks pretty smooth. I like the reflections there.

I picked up a kit from Tennessee Offroad and needed a way to show the guy I'm having install the cage what it will look like so he could quote me a price.

Where do you work? If you ever need a Pro/E job, let me know! We're looking for a few good engineers here at Raytheon.

Brent

[ 08-22-2001: Message edited by: 98DVL ]
98DVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 11:12 AM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Member # 6151
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 66
Post

That is too funny that you work for Mother Ray! I worked for Raytheon (RE&C, now Washington group) in Denver. I put a resume in with Tuscon and they never responded. <IMG SRC="smilies/pissed.gif" border="0"> I am doing contract work for thier competitors (Merrick & Co.)

T

[ 08-22-2001: Message edited by: EFICJ-5.0 ]
__________________
T3
alancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.